6/6 punkin amps 312 +6/286 +9/317 pmps 230 +3/247 +5/202

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

punkin is his usual purry self this morning. yes, tail waving in the air, snarfing down the pill pockets and now his face is buried in his bowl. no one ever enjoyed food more than him! :lol: anya is posted on the ottoman at the window on the look-out for birds at the feeders and squirrels.

heehee i told my husband everyone's commented on his purr and his tail - we enjoyed that. Thank you! as charming and beautiful as he is, i still am amazed that he sat at the shelter for months before i got him. but i'm glad that he picked us. the funny thing is that pre-diabetes, i didn't know he did the purr while he eats thing because we always had crunchies just sitting out.

the veterinary dentist has him scheduled for the 15th - wish it weren't so far out . . . but i guess the good thing is the clindamycin will run out in another day or two, so she'll be able to see what it looks like without AB.

do we continue to follow the same # of days in between dose increases to let him settle? this is dose 5 at this amount - i'll make sure and get mid-cycle tests today.
 
Re: 6/6 punkin amps 312 Q on dose increase interval

no one picked out that cutey for 6 MONTHS? wow. well we can just be glad he was still there when you arrived!

ps. fax will give him a run for 'who likes food more'!!
 
Re: 6/6 punkin amps 312 Q on dose increase interval

Hi Julie, I'm so glad Punkin picked you and DH, as he sure has a good Bean and home. I'm sure someone will be along soon for dose advice. I like the way you described giving Punkin his poke with the Lancet pen in my condo :lol: . Have a nice day.
 
Re: 6/6 punkin amps 312 Q on dose increase interval

The Tilly version of the protocol allows you to increase more quickly when numbers are higher/doses bigger.

Tilly Protocol said:
Do it (increase) in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose).

We typically use a modified version of Tilly. I would probably wait out the full 6 cycles unless Punkin's numbers jump much higher. You're seeing yellows at nadir on this dose.
 
Re: 6/6 punkin amps 312 Q on dose increase interval

I can't believe ANY animal sits in the shelter for that long. I can't go to shelters cuz it makes me so sad. I seriously want to take them all home; dogs, cats, everything. I got Champ at Petsmart when they had a rescue organization there adopting out some kitties. It was so hard just taking Champ. I wanted to take all of them!!! They just break my heart. Punkin was very lucky to get you!!!

I hope your week starts swimmingly for you!!!! Have a great day! :-D
 
Re: 6/6 punkin amps 312 Q on dose increase interval

Morning guys! How great to read about another kitty that purrs while he eats. Mannie does too, when it's one of his fav foods. It always makes me smile. my guy loves to eat too.... charter member of hoovers anonymous!

Wow on being at the shelter for so long before he found you. Mannie was a shelter cat too, though I don't know how long he had been there. It was instant attraction for us when we went that day. He took one look at my son, and it was all he could do to get out of his cage and meet us. We knew then he had found his home.

Good luck with the veterinary dentist - Sorry it is a ways off, but maybe that is good for the reasons you said. I hope he can help punkin.
 
Re: 6/6 punkin amps 312 Q on dose increase interval

i think he was there for 3 months, not 6. but still! although he was somewhere around a year old and people always are looking for kittens, so maybe that was why.

when i held him i was sitting down and he just melted into my lap. didn't look much at me, but purred and purred in a little heap on me. my heart-kitty, TC, had died 5 years before and i'd waited a year to get felix. knew i needed some time to heal from TC . . . but as much as i loved felix, he wasn't a lap kitty, and i really wanted one.

the ironic thing is that when i got punkin home he spent the next 6 months, literally - i'm not exaggerating - behind either the refrigerator or washing machine. he bonded first with felix - it was even longer before he took to us. but when he did, it was 100%.

good to know punkin has friends in the I Love My Foods Club! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/6 punkin amps 312 thanks sienne!

It was just meant to be that Punkin came to your home. My civvie was at the shelter almost 1 year, poor thing, before we found each other. Everyone at the shelter was so happy he found a forever home they were giving him all kinds of goodbye kisses. Some souls are meant to intertwine I guess.

Sienne is wonderful, I'm glad she answered your question. Hope the #s come down.
 
Re: 6/6 punkin amps 312 thanks sienne!

What a great story on how Punkin picked you! I can't believe it was there that long, but there must have been a good reason, like he knew you would come eventually.

Hope you have a great great Monday!
 
Re: 6/6 punkin amps 312 thanks sienne!

Julie, first, I'm glad you aren't going anywhere.. You can't leave and besides that i have to have my punkin fix regularly.. I watched the vid from yesterday and I think he keeps getting more handsome everytime. It's going to take me a while to catch up on everything. Never seems to fail that all sorts of stuff happens when i'm not around much for even a couple of days. Thank you for always taking the time to see how we're doing. That means a great deal to me. I'm sorry I've not been around the past few days.
I'm glad you got to see most of your DD play piano yesterday. Dosing can be a bit sketchy some times, but you already know we have great support and lots of expert advice hear and we can lean on each other.. I hope that Punkin comes down to a more respectable floor for you today. I'll talk with you soon I hope!
Lauren
 
Re: 6/6 punkin amps 312 thanks sienne!

Awwww that just breaks my heart that your Punkin sat in a shelter for 3 months, he was waiting for you and your family. It was meant to be.....awwwww.

So he was swishing his big fluffy tail this morning? I love his tail!

Have a great day Julie & Punkin
 
Re: 6/6 punkin amps 312 +6/286

the benefit of being high, to look on the bright side, is that i don't have to test him every few minutes.

he's had a lovely morning. i got sideswiped by his begging and put out his second breakfast, then ohmygod_smile because i forgot to test him first. but i caught the +6 - good to know for dosing.

the sun is just about gone. there's a wall of dark clouds rolling in from the coast but before it covered us i ate lunch outside and managed to fall asleep for a few minutes. is there anything better than sleeping in the sun?!? whether you're a cat or a bean!

off to quilt with my girl!
 
Re: 6/6 punkin amps 312 +6/286

OMG what a purr and a meow on Punkin!!! The video of him that you posted yesterday made my day!!! Thank you so much for sharing and posting that it was there. I'm so behind on condo's.
 
Re: 6/6 punkin amps 312 +6/286

Awwwww How could anyone not fall for that pretty orange face!!! And Purrrrrrrrrrrrrrr :lol:
Nice story about that punkin--Yes some souls are meant to intertwine as yours were---The idea is to keep a dose for 6 cycles-3 days, to let it settle into the kitty, & check the results..Moonie usually waits tille the last 6th cycle to show any change, she loves to make me wait! :lol: :lol:
Hugs & Have a good evening! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/6 punkin amps 312 +6/286

Punkin knew what he was doing...he was waiting for you to show up at that shelter!

I'm with Patty...actually going to a shelter would absolutely break my heart and render me completely useless. I truly appreciate the folks who do rescue work...the ones who are able to go into the shelters and pull the animals.

All my kitties are rescues, but I know the president of the group quite well; I literally picked them from pictures that she sent me...I knew if I saw them all in person, I'd be in trouble. Trixie is a rescue of a different sort...she was abandoned by my nasty former next door neighbors, showed up on my back porch, and to make a long story short, the rest is history...
 
Re: 6/6 punkin amps 312 +6/286 +9/317

when i was working (in youth ministry) i took my youth groups regularly. the kids absolutely loved to go and i always had a great turn-out for that. they cleaned boxes, cages, played with the dogs, "socialized" the cats (ie, handled them), did laundry, washed dishes, mop, whatever was helpful. individually kids don't get that much done but when you get 20 in there and you do it multiple times a year it does help. probably the greatest benefit is that kids get introduced to the shelter, learn about issues if you don't spay/neuter, and hopefully will adopt a homeless animal and be responsible pet owners in the future.

punkin is still high . . . i'll hold for the dose this evening and increase in the morning if he doesn't drop down some before then.
 
Re: 6/6 punkin amps 312 +6/286 +9/317

Julie: I also cannot believe that Punkin did not get adopted for three months until you gave him a forever home. He is so wonderful even if he did hide for a while.

You're being so wonderfully patient. Shall I send my very very sexy pink patience pants? They used to be my favorite pants before FD because hot pink looks so fine on women don't you think? Now I have rid my closet of all things PINK!!!! Except these.....I can't bear to part with them but I will for you....what do you think??? :lol: :lol: :lol: love you!!!

pinkpants.jpg
 
Re: 6/6 punkin amps 312 +6/286 +9/317

bwahahahaha.

ohmygosh you're killing me.

*clearing throat* "on behalf of impatient women everywhere, i humbly accept these pink patience pants from our wonderful benefactor, marjorie. I'll wear them proudly *ack* and shiny-ly *ergh* and people won't miss me on the streets!"
 
Re: 6/6 punkin amps 312 +6/286 +9/317

You are very special. I do not share those pink patience pants with just ANYONE!!! :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top