6/6 Pudge AMPS 269 +4 253 +10 283 PMPS 316 +4 257 +7 244

kitten68

Member Since 2024
whoops! forgot: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...311-pmps-308-5-235-9-242.290823/#post-3184940


hii :)

will update soon as I can.. will not be increasing today. a lot going on ~ some things came up suddenly.

still at 1 U. advised to be home etc, for changes as well as curves. not as hungry as has been... we're doing ok rn. :) routine is getting faster and more streamlined. he moves his head w me sometimes now a little when trying to test, but when I check reading, is lower than what has been, so feeling better to protest lol I think... yay.

ok write more later. :)
 
Last edited:
had some company today so am wondering if he was a little stressed but unsure. couldn't increase again but will try to do so tmw. :) think can be home as much as possible.. will see. thinking to just do the 1.5 and see how he does..

ah, vet said to only do 1.5 U during the day and keep 1 U at night because they're nervous on how he'll do cause he was dropping into low 200s peak/nadir.. wants to see how that goes. any thoughts? cause understand it's best to keep dose same AM/PM with these.. plz lmk. :)
 
Last edited:
Shooting different doses during tge day and night confuses the depot. We have not seen that to work well here.
You asked:
and just woof that's my thing with it.. to bring em back from the brink yikes. maybe with time might be comfortable to try.. but am really terrified of this

I think everyone is scared of low bg at first. One good thing about this forum is if you are advised to shoot low that person will stay with you until the active part of the cycle. Green quickly becomes contagious.

. :blackeye:o_O what if not around?.. guess you would have to be home a lot for things like that (?). also understand w food sensitivities, if must, can add syrup/honeyto LC food? might you kno more on this?

Lantus usually does not kick in until +2 so a test between +2-3 is like a crystal ball of whether the cycle will be active. If lower than the preshot it might require more testing than normal if your shoot low. However often when you shoot low (especially green) you often see a nice flat cycle.

You can add honey to the food to make it higher carb but it wears off more q than higher carb food so you might need to test and feed every 20 minutes until over 50 and staying there. A lot depends on how carb sensitive your cat is. What percent carbs are you feeding right now? Are you sticking to just one food or one protein? I don’t see in your signature that he has IBD. Elevated liver enzymes is written . What restrictions do you have?
 
Shooting different doses during tge day and night confuses the depot. We have not seen that to work well here.
You asked:
and just woof that's my thing with it.. to bring em back from the brink yikes. maybe with time might be comfortable to try.. but am really terrified of this

I think everyone is scared of low bg at first. One good thing about this forum is if you are advised to shoot low that person will stay with you until the active part of the cycle. Green quickly becomes contagious.

. :blackeye:o_O what if not around?.. guess you would have to be home a lot for things like that (?). also understand w food sensitivities, if must, can add syrup/honeyto LC food? might you kno more on this?

Lantus usually does not kick in until +2 so a test between +2-3 is like a crystal ball of whether the cycle will be active. If lower than the preshot it might require more testing than normal if your shoot low. However often when you shoot low (especially green) you often see a nice flat cycle.

You can add honey to the food to make it higher carb but it wears off more q than higher carb food so you might need to test and feed every 20 minutes until over 50 and staying there. A lot depends on how carb sensitive your cat is. What percent carbs are you feeding right now? Are you sticking to just one food or one protein? I don’t see in your signature that he has IBD. Elevated liver enzymes is written . What restrictions do you have?
hi! thanks so much for input ~ yeah.. well they're just worried w me asleep :/ cause nights and days sometimes are different.. idk. so its best to keep it even doses AM/PM?

wow.. it sounds intriguing and would like to get to a place where I'd be ok trying, but not sure am there yet.. think will stick to SLGS for now.. was advised by a few members :cat: to start at 1.5 - 1.75 and am thinking just to do that tmw from 1.. I could try 1.25 but not sure if that's enough. :/ (I wanted to start little because I wasn't sure how it'd be and im glad I did.. tho I appreciate everyones advice. just for us, being safe as can be is best..)

so is there a best time then to start testing (on Lantus)? around +4 ? because I know w curves you're also getting a +2..

good to know. just he has food sensitivities. and it was suggested on the stickies you could add syrup/honey to his food.. he's on just one protein at moment, turkey. not sure how he'd do w other proteins; it was just discovered after a few episodes of a loose that maybe it was the food. there also was a move at the time, stress possibly contributed, but idk if its improved or how it'd be and rn not sure how'd he do w others. or even what was the problem. but he does well w this.
he only gets a LC wet food and freeze dried treats (turkey, liver ~ am careful w the latter. I want to make him some turkey soon as well for some added protein and moisture..) am trying to find MC, HC food w just turkey as protein but its been really hard, HC or not.. just settled on Fancy Feast Gravy even though its got fish.. but wanted to see how to add to his food instead.

not sure how carb sensitive he is.. how is this figured?
 
hello!! :)

if can advise so appreciate it ~ also looking like dose increase sorely needed.. will be staying home tmw. need rest myself. stinks its Friday, wish had more weekdays (vet open, least daytime).. but alas. should be fine. *cries

will be starting something tmw, maybe 1.5 tmw.. was thinking of trying 1.25.. but think that just not enough. and was advised by a few members to have started at 1.5 or a bit more and 1 was too low anyway.

vet wanted to do 1.5 U day/1 U night initially cause they wanted to see how dropped depending on that.. they're nervous cause sometimes peaks/nadirs appeared on 1 U to be low 200s.. but doses on Lantus need to be the same morning and night right? was suggested to keep the doses the same.. (ty!)

and .5 more shouldn't be too bad right?.. but THEN im reading some older forum conversations though.. and considering his lower 200s.. SHOULD we do 1.25?.... first?... im freaked out. honestly I can't deal rn w episodes of any kind. oh idk. :)

will see what comfortable with.. sometimes, it's just not a fun time. :) boy, guys, are we tired here. but trying. :woot:

@tiffmaxee @Shell @Diane Tyler's Mom @Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Suzanne & Darcy @JL & Cooper @Bandit's Mom @Don Degludec
 
Since you are worried about going too low I suggest .25 increase for both cycles. Different doses at day and night would be the same amount of insulin as .25 both cycles. . With SLGS you want to see the nadirs between 100-200. That’s not too low. You will find out if carb sensitive when the bg drops and you feed him carbs. We suggest getting middle carb and high carb foods to have on hand. Turkey should be easy to find at 10-15% and 15+ carbs. If you can find a middle carb food he tolerates you can use Karo or honey to make it high carb. It can be hard to find single protein foods which is why I switched to raw. Some members make their own food buying the protein of choice and adding Ez Complete which provides everything else needed.
 
Yes is time to increase the dose. Do the same increase for AM and PM. With our dosing methods switching up the doses AM and PM give you wonky numbers and it's hard to figure out how to change the dose with that. You could increase by 0.5 units but if you are nervous, you could increase by 0.25 units for AM and PM.
so is there a best time then to start testing (on Lantus)? around +4 ? because I know w curves you're also getting a +2.
Many people start with a +2. If the +2 is at or about the preshot, it'll be a typical Lantus cycle with some downward movement. If it's higher than preshot, it's a quiet cycle with not much action. As +2 lower than preshot means an active cycle needing more monitoring. Note, for some cats (like mine), the +2 didn't tell much, but she had a late onset. But for the majority it's a good indicator. I'd start by getting the odd +2 test, and +2.5 and +3 on different cycles, and see if it gives you a clue what the rest of the cycle will look like.
 
@tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko bit the bullet and started him on 1.5.. :cool:..
my cat needs more help. and just looking at numbers.. don't think .5 will hurt and don't think .25 is enough.. :/ :/ :/
(thank you!!!!.. we're trusting here, and also appreciate u getting back ~ contemplated .25.. but eh..)
will be doing +3, +6, +9..
 
Deep calming breaths. I’d start with a +2 or a +3. Good luck with the increase.
phew... thank u :blackeye::cat:.. well got + 3.. :woot: (also, is the aim for as close to the hour as possible, or within that time is ok? meant to get right at +3 today but was about 15 min late..)
should do +6, +9?.. (was suggested when starting..)
also, don't mean to but the exhaustion from everything catches up to me from time to time.. trying to be consistently awake today but doing best.
 
phew... thank u :blackeye::cat:.. well got + 3.. :woot: (also, is the aim for as close to the hour as possible, or within that time is ok? meant to get right at +3 today but was about 15 min late..)
should do +6, +9?.. (was suggested when starting..)
also, don't mean to but the exhaustion from everything catches up to me from time to time.. trying to be consistently awake today but doing best.

You don’t need to be as close as possible. Onset can vary a little. I soon learned a +1 was not valuable info for me about Max. I only got that if I needed to leave or he started low so seemed to have longer duration from the previous dose. He generally onset around +2.5. It’s good to test various times to see which times are most helpful for you. You don’t have to be exact about timing tests.
 
hello!! :)

if can advise so appreciate it ~ also looking like dose increase sorely needed.. will be staying home tmw. need rest myself. stinks its Friday, wish had more weekdays (vet open, least daytime).. but alas. should be fine. *cries

will be starting something tmw, maybe 1.5 tmw.. was thinking of trying 1.25.. but think that just not enough. and was advised by a few members to have started at 1.5 or a bit more and 1 was too low anyway.

vet wanted to do 1.5 U day/1 U night initially cause they wanted to see how dropped depending on that.. they're nervous cause sometimes peaks/nadirs appeared on 1 U to be low 200s.. but doses on Lantus need to be the same morning and night right? was suggested to keep the doses the same.. (ty!)

and .5 more shouldn't be too bad right?.. but THEN im reading some older forum conversations though.. and considering his lower 200s.. SHOULD we do 1.25?.... first?... im freaked out. honestly I can't deal rn w episodes of any kind. oh idk. :)

will see what comfortable with.. sometimes, it's just not a fun time. :) boy, guys, are we tired here. but trying. :woot:

@tiffmaxee @Shell @Diane Tyler's Mom @Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Suzanne & Darcy @JL & Cooper @Bandit's Mom @Don Degludec
Hi! Sorry if I've been a bit delayed myself. Last Friday I unexpectedly fell rollerblading and ended up with emergency surgery the following morning to put some plates in my arm to fix it. So, I'm learning how to use 1 hand right now and I think I'm doing okay! But, in my opinion, just increase by .25.

I had the same question and suspicion as you with my cat. But, better high than low and let's just increase .25 to be safe. Just my opinion, but I am a worrier. :) I just noticed you increased to 1.5, so I'm sure you will just watch him closely.:cat:
 
I had the same question and suspicion as you with my cat. But, better high than low and let's just increase .25 to be safe. Just my opinion, but I am a worrier. :) I just noticed you increased to 1.5, so I'm sure you will just watch him closely.:cat:[/QUOTE]

You are posting on an old thread. The decision was made to increase to .50 and all is well. It’s not necessarily try that it’s bette4 to be high than low. Hanging in line yes but in normal numbers it’s safe to be green and healing for the pancreas.
 
Sorry girl, I just saw you tagged me - I wasn't online much due to personal circumstances, and I'm reluctant to post on threads now for reasons I'm happy to share, albeit privately.

But you're always welcome to PM me for a chit-chat whenever, if you're up for that.
If not, then I wish you and Pudge good luck on your Lantus journey. I'm sure you guys will smash it ;)
 
You are posting on an old thread. The decision was made to increase to .50 and all is well. It’s not necessarily try that it’s bette4 to be high than low. Hanging in line yes but in normal numbers it’s safe to be green and healing for the pancreas.
Got it, yes. Recovering from a serious compound fracture I'd run a little late, due to an unexpected hospital stay. I'd edited to reflect that I realized there was an increase :)

I'm glad all's going well.
 
Back
Top