6/6 Max amps 154 +2 99 +3 68 +4 70 +5 48 +6 80 PMPS 170 +2 198 +4 102

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
We are planning to leave tomorrow at amps +5 and will be on the road for 2 hours, so I can check Max up until then if he’s still surfing green. I reduced to 5 units this morning. I know the depot is at play but Max is throwing curve balls. I was packing and he decided to dip into a lime. I have no idea what would be the best thing to do. I’m sure he will bounce after that lime, but I wonder if the 5 units will be okay for him. He’s recovering from pancreatitis and his appetite is hit or miss. Very picky. Last thing he needs is not enough insulin, not eating much, and an infection, especially where we will be. But, I also want to enjoy myself and be able to leave him for a few hours while we are there. So I’m wondering should I just stay at 5 units and wait to see what the depot will do if anything yet? Everything will work out fine, this is just me trying to convince myself I guess.:rolleyes:
 
Let's see where he is at the PM, but one possibility is a reduced dose tonight to help drain the depot. Or he could bounce his way out of trouble like he did 5/24.
 
Thanks so much. I will see where he is tonight. I was also thinking the stress during the trip might raise his numbers but that’s not a guarantee. It’s a hard decision because these numbers are good healing numbers for him and I want him feeling good of course. He’s starting to act a little more like himself today.
 
I hope I didn’t mess up, but I probably did. Tried my best to reason this out. Max did bounce, but last night he started trending down after a bounce, and went lower this morning. So if it’s that scenario maybe what I did will help some. I did a small reduced dose, 4 units (BCS) tonight to drain the depot maybe a little? It may not have been enough but I’m also afraid he will bounce higher tonight. He probably will.
 
It is something else packing for a diabetic cat let me just put it out there. Phew!
Even more so one with acromegaly, meaning typically a lot of extra meds, some of which need to stay cool.

Paws crossed for a safe cycle and hope you have a great, relaxing trip - all three of you.
 
Even more so one with acromegaly, meaning typically a lot of extra meds, some of which need to stay cool.

Thank you Wendy. That’s the truth about the packing for an acro cat. The posts I saved from here last year really come in handy. I print them and just check off things as I go. I really like this container I found on Amazon to put Max’s supplies in (except for what goes in his cooler). Just an idea in case someone else has some traveling to do with their kitty. It makes it easy to have all their medical supplies together.:)

upload_2023-6-6_19-56-7.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-6_19-56-7.jpeg
    upload_2023-6-6_19-56-7.jpeg
    58.1 KB · Views: 68
Max is on a mission I suppose. I didn’t do enough of a BCS or that’s one heck of a depot he’s got going on. I don’t know what to expect. I’m surprised he’s already coming down.
 
Back
Top