6/6 Lucy AMPS=173; +2=157; +8=106; +11=113; PMPS=139

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's

I am sorry I ask questions every time I post, but could you please look at her SS?
What happened last night?
She started with a green number and stayed green at +1, +2 and +3, then went blue at +5, and then eventually gave me a yellow number at +11.
Do you think this is a bounce?
If so, is there anything I could have done to prevent it?
Or is it something that just happens until her body adjust?
Is it an OK thing to happen???

Today, Lucy is just plain OK.
Her appetite is not as good, but I was able to feed her the whole meal although it took 45 min.
Her vitality was up yesterday afternoon, but has decreased since last night.
She didn't even come to bed with me, but woke me up to be fed this morning.
Maybe she's upset about a lot of pokings...
 
Re: 6/6 Lucy AMPS=173 // What happened last night?

Morning Mariko

I'm glad Wendy could pop in on you....I was a work zombie :lol:

We love questions and you do not need to apologize for asking them! We are a support group so we are here to help you manage Lucy's FD :-D

Lucy's liver just hasn't decided yet if it feels totally safe in normal numbers yet. It will get used to it! You are doing great.

It's hard to ignore those bounces, but try to. You can't really prevent them and Lucy is already coming back down. It's hard to say why they might bounce from a number that they didn't bounce from last time they had it....lots of variables. I've had Gracie not bounce much from a 40s number and then bounce into high yellow from 70. :shock: I don't know the answer to that one :-D

I don't remember why you are giving subqs? Does she have CKD? Subqs will cause the BG to come down a bit...just be aware.

I think she looks great right now. Hold the dose for the time being and let her liver settle down.
 
Re: 6/6 Lucy AMPS=173 // What happened last night?

Thank you, Marje.
And thank you for the reassurance, because I need it!!
I'm always in doubt if I'm doing things right for Lucy....

+2 = 157

Yes, I'm giving her sub-Q twice a week because of CKD, but it's a very early stage according to the vet.
The vet said sub-Q is not a must at this stage, but if I can manage without stressing Lucy too much, it would be beneficial for her, so I'm doing it only twice a week, about 125mL each time.

The first time I gave her both insulin & sub-Q on 5/22 during the PM cycle, her number dropped suddenly, and since then I learnt to give an insulin shot around the bumbum, and sub-Q at the scruff on the other side - a few hours apart.
I got this advice at the Health before I joined LL, and this method seems to be working good!
 
Re: 6/6 Lucy AMPS=173; +2=157

Hello!!
She is getting back on track from yesterday's "BOING", but no green.
I wonder how she'll do in the PM cycle......
 
Nice flat, blue day for Lucy today. Maybe tomorrow she will come back down :-D

Thanks for reminding me on the fluids.
 
Thanks, Marje.
I'll test her one more time before bed, but looks like I can get a good zzzzzz tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top