6/6 Jubalee PMPS 53, 133 shot insulin, 237+4.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kadie (Juba's Mom)

Member Since 2015
I posted in the Facebook group, but I need to post here too.

Jubalee is sick :(
Last night before dinner and insulin she managed to get into angel food cake. I didn't know how much she had eaten until her PMPS number read 416!!!
Then at +4 she was 542, and then at +8 she was 488.
This morning her AMPS was 566, and she ate her breakfast and I increased her insulin since she was due for an increase.
She is currently 366+2.5.
She has thrown up her breakfast, plus another snack I have her about an hour ago, and just isn't her self.

I am SO WORRIED.
Please help!!!
 
Do you have any Fortiflora or probiotics you can sprinkle on some food to try and settle her stomach? She may need to go to the vet. :bighug:
 
I would be on the way to the vet or ER. Ther is no telling what might be in the cake that could be toxic. She might need some activated charcoal if it hasn't been too long.

The sugar in the cake is raising her BG and that will eventually come back down. I worry about other ingredients.

Please keep us posted.
 
I called my vet about 15 minutes ago and they told me I could bring her in to get some fluids, but since she just threw up (about half an hour ago now) that she might throw up again since her stomach probably isn't settled.
They said to wait an hour, try to offer food, and if she isn't hungry, then I can bring her down and they can start some fluids with her.
 
So sorry I've been away everyone...

I took Juba to the vet and they administered sub-q fluids.
Her glucose at the vet was 344 (from a pet glucometer)

I had someone suggest that Juba might have "EPI?"

I'm so worried and scared I might lose my baby :(
 
It's good that her glucose is going down and she's getting fluids! I don't know what EPI is. Is she home with you now, or staying at the vet's office? Sending hugs! :bighug:
 
It's good that her glucose is going down and she's getting fluids! I don't know what EPI is. Is she home with you now, or staying at the vet's office? Sending hugs! :bighug:

EPI is a condition where their pancreas doesn't produce enough enzymes :(

My husband offered her a small meal just now and she licked a bit of it!!!
 
Thanks for your wonderful replies everyone,

As for tonight, what should I do about dinner and insulin?
Should I continue to give her small meals to make sure she's eating, and then give her insulin tonight at her normal time? Or should I decrease her dose?
 
I tried to look at your SS, but I don't see 2017 on it. What dose are you shooting? How much longer until shot time? Has she eating anything else?
 
EPI is diagnosed after a lot of other things are ruled out so put that one on the back burner. A lot of that stuff in the cake has made her feel like crap - adding high numbers just makes it worse. It may not move thru too fast either... :( Fluids are good.

I'll let others continue with dosing....

HUGS Kadie and headbutts JuJuBee...
 
Usually EPI doesn't happen unless a cat has had chronic pancreatitis for a long time. There's a blood test panel for it. Wouldn't think it's very likely. Don't worry about that at this point. I think she's just not good with angel food cake. :bighug:
 
I tried to look at your SS, but I don't see 2017 on it. What dose are you shooting? How much longer until shot time? Has she eating anything else?

My apologies for the lack of 2017 spreadsheet...I've kept a journal with all her numbers but haven't been updating online recently.
She's currently getting .25 units of Levemir, but I increased last night since she hasn't been giving any good numbers under 100 the past week.
 
Has she eaten anything else since licking the little bit earlier?

If she is not eating much, and her numbers are still coming down, you may need to skip to keep her safe tonight. You don't want her numbers to go too low and her not eat.
 
Has she eaten anything else since licking the little bit earlier?

If she is not eating much, and her numbers are still coming down, you may need to skip to keep her safe tonight. You don't want her numbers to go too low and her not eat.

She ate another small bit I gave her and was definitely hungrier for this small meal...she even wanted some of her civvie brother's food too, lol!
I'm going to feed her another small bit in about 10 minutes to see if she's hungry.
I just don't want her to eat a lot at a time and then get sick (thankfully she's kept everything down so far!)

I'll try to keep about a 2 hour gap between her dinner time and shot time to see how she's doing.
I will update here on her numbers tonight.

Again, I am so fortunate to have such amazing support both here and the Facebook group. I can't thank everyone enough for helping me during this difficult day :)
Hugs to all!!!
 
Kadie

I'm so glad Juba is ok. I also don't know why anyone would bring up EPI. EPI is exocrine pancreatic insufficiency and it is a nasty thing for kitties. You would have had her to the vet long ago because she'd have had the most horrible, stinky, odd colored poos. She would have lost a lot of weight.

EPI is diagnosed by running a GI panel and checking folate, cobalamin, specfPL, and fTLI with the latter test really being the one that is indicative of EPI.

I also agree you can put that one on the back burner.
 
Update on Juba's PMPS tonight:

She is currently 53 and I'm about to give her dinner.

Do I skip insulin tonight or should I wait a little bit after dinner to then give her just a little amount of insulin?!
I really don't want to skip....
Today was her first day with .50 units of Levemir, an increase from .25 units.
 
Now Jubalee is 133 about an hour after eating dinner...
I really don't want to skip insulin, but I'm not sure how much to give her???

She has been on .25 units for about 5 months or so, and that amount usually takes her into the 100's.

I'm so sorry I haven't kept a better record on Google spread sheets!
Please feel free to ask me about her numbers!
 
I saw your post on Facebook, but I'm sorry, I just don't know enough to advise on dosing, especially without an updated spreadsheet and what your kitty has gone thru in the last 24 hours.

I would be inclined to skip until morning, allowing her body to process that cake. And 53 is low. That would be my choice, anyhow. And I have shot low many times, but your situation is different with the cake raid.

Hopefully a more experienced member will have a more solid answer for you.
 
I saw your post on Facebook, but I'm sorry, I just don't know enough to advise on dosing, especially without an updated spreadsheet and what your kitty has gone thru in the last 24 hours.

I would be inclined to skip until morning, allowing her body to process that cake. And 53 is low. That would be my choice, anyhow. And I have shot low many times, but your situation is different with the cake raid.

Hopefully a more experienced member will have a more solid answer for you.

Thanks so much for replying!!!

I just retested her and she's currently 133, so she is going up.
I don't know what to do...either skip tonight, or even just give her a small amount of insulin and see what that does.
 
Your choices are full dose, skip, or reduced dose. You've already delayed which acts like a bit of a reduction. Without the data on a spreadsheet, I can't suggest which option I'd chose.
 
Your choices are full dose, skip, or reduced dose. You've already delayed which acts like a bit of a reduction. Without the data on a spreadsheet, I can't suggest which option I'd chose.

Thanks for replying Wendy!!!

I'm so sorry my spread sheet hasn't been updated.
Currently Levemir drops her about 100ish numbers in the daytime (300 down to 200's) and it will take her down into the 150's at night.
She was crazy high this morning (566) due to getting into the angel food cake.
 
Alright I decided to give her the rest of her dinner and a little less than .25u (her normal insulin dose amount.)

I really didn't want to skip tonight, even though her insulin time is about 2 hours later...I just didn't want to see her go crazy high tonight (though I know she will probably bounce a bit.)

I will be up testing her and seeing how she's doing.
I've got plenty of test strips and honey just in case, plus my husband is working the night shift tonight and I can't sleep by myself!
 
Just keep testing.

Now in the morning when will you give shot? I think if you give at "regular time" it would be only 10 hours from tonight's, and may act as an increase (I think I have that right). So can someone monitor tomorrow?

Also increased water/hydration can help some if #s go high.

Hopefully she has processed that cake by now, silly girl.
 
I'm sorry, Kadie. Just seeing this as we went out tonight. I'm glad you shot.

When you have time, updating the SS will help us help you.

I'm glad she's doing better :bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top