6/6 Frodo, amps 594, last night fur/skin shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruth Ann and Frodo

Member Since 2015
previous post:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-3-frodo-amps-461-am-6-184-6-2-pmps-471-pm-6-269.138920/

Started new dose 3.75 on 6/4. First two days seemed to be on-track, although with a big bounce on 6/5. However, p,+6 on 6/5 definitely looked like he hadn't gotten the insulin, although my husband was very careful. Didn't think it was safe to give him any insulin at pm+6 (because of overlap with next am shot) when it was obvious he hadn't gotten the pm dose, but I wonder if we should have given a partial dose or something. Poor little guy spent at least 14-16 hours at extremely high readings. Got his shot this morning and his bg has come down, but he obviously wasn't feeling well (maybe some other reason) and wouldn't eat anything until am+3-4, and then not a lot. I'm sure it will take a while for this to ripple through his results. Meaning that we'll be stuck at this dose for a while.
 
I don't think last night was a fur shot. I think it was a very impressive bounce. Frodo dropped over 200 points by +5 during yesterday's AM cycle. Bounces aren't just the result of low numbers. A bounce can occur if numbers drop fast or if is is a sizable drop. Because Lantus and Lev are gentle insulins, they don't "squish" numbers the way the shorter acting types of insulin do. It's harder for Lantus to pull high numbers down.

Given the 300 point drop today, don't be surprised if Frodo bounces. The bouncing is hugely frustrating but it's a normal part of the process. The more time he spends in better numbers, the less he'll bounce (hopefully!).
 
Never ever shoot again on a suspected fur shot, you can never be sure how much went in and because of the way lantus works, i.e. you shoot the depot not a dose as such, you don't want to mess with the schedule if you can avoid it. It can result in some very wonky cycles.

Hope he comes down from there soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top