6/6 Chloe - PMPS 563 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

6/6 Chloe - PMPS 563

I’m quite happy to see an actual number again rather than the meter just greeting me!
That made me laugh! Is good that your are keeping a sense of humour despite it all! :bighug:
Every cat has a very different journey, so we need to patient, wait and see. It might be that all of a sudden the depot is filled and you see a sudden change. Or it could be that she needs ahigher dose, and you won't see anything for a while. It is OK. It is a process and you will get there!
 
Good morning, Alex. You can look at the spreadsheets of other cats to see what their journeys have looked like. You can click on Ruby's 2020 tab to see how she fared at the start of her journey. I did not find this board until over a month after her initial diagnosis so we lost some time, but she started seeing mostly blue and green numbers after just a few weeks of following the Tight Regulation protocol for dosing and getting rid of dry food from her diet. Like you, I started by following SLGS because I needed to get the hang of how feline diabetes worked, but we weren't making progress quickly enough because you have to hold doses for 7 days with SLGS, so I moved to TR. I was lucky in that Ruby responded well to it and we've been pretty much cruising since then. Other kitties have it harder getting regulated, but it will take time for all of this to be revealed to you. Time to put on the patience pants. :bighug:
 
Good morning, Alex. You can look at the spreadsheets of other cats to see what their journeys have looked like. You can click on Ruby's 2020 tab to see how she fared at the start of her journey. I did not find this board until over a month after her initial diagnosis so we lost some time, but she started seeing mostly blue and green numbers after just a few weeks of following the Tight Regulation protocol for dosing and getting rid of dry food from her diet. Like you, I started by following SLGS because I needed to get the hang of how feline diabetes worked, but we weren't making progress quickly enough because you have to hold doses for 7 days with SLGS, so I moved to TR. I was lucky in that Ruby responded well to it and we've been pretty much cruising since then. Other kitties have it harder getting regulated, but it will take time for all of this to be revealed to you. Time to put on the patience pants. :bighug:

I have read the posts about both TR and SLGS and I’ll be honest - that part hasn’t really made sense to my brain yet.

I was mostly concerned about her dropping too quickly, if she could swing from super high numbers to super hypo in a short time.
 
I agree with @PerfumedCatMom in that TR is a more aggressive dosing method but it will get Chloe to her optimal dose faster. If you are feeding 100% LC canned (and no dry) and can get at least 1 test per cycle (in additon to the preshots, you can follow TR.

Leaving a cat too long in high numbers can lead to glucose toxicity - insulin resistance that requires higher doses to break through. You also want to get her below the renal threshold sooner rather than later.

I see you are using the AT. Most of us here use a human meter since the strips are much cheaper and we are all testaholics! :)
 
I have read the posts about both TR and SLGS and I’ll be honest - that part hasn’t really made sense to my brain yet.

I was mostly concerned about her dropping too quickly, if she could swing from super high numbers to super hypo in a short time.
The learning curve here is steep. I have read that Dosing Methods sticky a thousand times and I always find something new in it that I never understood before and I've been here a lot longer than you! A lot of it comes with experience in looking at other cat's spreadsheets and the data you gather on your own kitty. SLGS is, as it says, slow. It gives you time to evaluate how a kitty is doing on a dose and it has a higher dose reduction number at 90 than TR which is 68 on a pet meter [ETA: and 50 on a human meter--just saw you're using the human one now]. The 90 reduction point is a safety measure for those still getting the hang of things and worried about dropping too quickly. it's also for kitties still eating dry food as the effect of the food on a cat's sugar levels is less predictable. However, being that Chloe has started at such high numbers and continues to stay there, I would keep her doses consistent and consider switching to TR. @Bandit's Mom is right as you don't want Chloe to stay hyperglycemic for too long as ketones can build up and cause some pretty scary problems like diabetic ketoacidosis.

If you see Chloe dropping below 200, please do let us know and we'll help you through it. It will be a little scary but we're here for you. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
I agree with @PerfumedCatMom in that TR is a more aggressive dosing method but it will get Chloe to her optimal dose faster. If you are feeding 100% LC canned (and no dry) and can get at least 1 test per cycle (in additon to the preshots, you can follow TR.

Leaving a cat too long in high numbers can lead to glucose toxicity - insulin resistance that requires higher doses to break through. You also want to get her below the renal threshold sooner rather than later.

I see you are using the AT. Most of us here use a human meter since the strips are much cheaper and we are all testaholics! :)
Do I have enough data and has she been on Lantus long enough to start TR? I would LOVE to get her down to a better number sooner rather than later. I hated that she was almost always in the black when I started testing and before the vet could switch us and I felt like there was nothing I could do for her.

She is almost entirely on LC wet food. There’s dry out for my civvie, but she hasn’t touched it in over a week (possible tooth problems - need to get a full dental scheduled). Plus I just ordered a bag of Epigen 90 to test with him in case she did get the hankering for something crunchy.
 
You can start with TR from day 1. But for TR you need to feed 100% canned, so she can't eat your civvie's dry food. Any chance civvie can be transitioned to LC wet as well? Or he's a kibble addict?

Considering her numbers, you could definitely use the fast-tracked increases with TR. In fact TR states that "Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)."

Let us see how her numbers are after 6 consecutive cycles of 3U - you are on cycle 3 now. The 1U on the first night reset the cycle count.

@tiffmaxee
 
You can start with TR from day 1. But for TR you need to feed 100% canned, so she can't eat your civvie's dry food. Any chance civvie can be transitioned to LC wet as well? Or he's a kibble addict?

Considering her numbers, you could definitely use the fast-tracked increases with TR. In fact TR states that "Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)."

Let us see how her numbers are after 6 consecutive cycles of 3U - you are on cycle 3 now. The 1U on the first night reset the cycle count.

@tiffmaxee
I put wet out for both of them, but he’s less interested in it. She ends up eating from both wet food dishes throughout the day.

Though she hasn’t eaten as much today so far as she did the last 2. I do have ketone testing strips if it lasts more of the day, though I’ve not used them yet. Is there a way to test by collecting from the litter rather than the stream? I worry she’ll freak out if I’m hovering over her while she does her business.
 
Good to see that switch to TR (and negative ketones!!). That'll allow you to increase sooner. Let's see where she is after six doses, cause you might be able to increase after that. And by larger amounts than SLGS would allow.
 
Girl had me worried… I put her food down and she just ignored it for 20 minutes.

She did eventually eat so I could give her the shot. Hoping she continues to nibble on it throughout the night bc I'm sure she’s hungry.
 
Back
Top