6/6, Binie AMPS 373, +3 335, +8 52 (libre) 78 (accu check)

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-5-binie-amps-448-3-366-7-180.290828/

Good evening,

I think Binie earned a reduction today. It didn't looked like that in the beginning of the cycle. She went down slowly and I was not sure if she would go below 150. So I was super happy when she was 148 at +6. Then she got up and went outside which spiked her bg. She was lying on the terrasse when at + 7.5 suddenly the libre alarm showed me that she was dropping below 100. I praised myself for reacting calm in comparison to the past (feeding lots of hc) and I gave her some lc food and did an ear prick. When she was 75 on the libre, she was 118 on the Accu Check. I continued to give lc food but she went further down.

At +8 she was 52 on the libre, the lowest she has ever been. I managed another ear prick and it was 78. Because the arrow showed straight down I panicked and I gave her a little bit of sugar syrup with some churu. I know this might not have been necessary but with the arrow pointing straight downward I panicked and all my coolness vanished. Of course she spiked after it. :banghead:

At shot time she refused to eat and I had to stall for another 15 minutes. Giving the injection she hissed at me again, maybe because she was stressed out about the ear pricks. I reduced her dose from 3.0 to 2.75.

In the pm cycle we just passed +4 and we are seeing :cool: again. So it seems no bouncing tonight. Hopefully no alarm tonight, that was enough for me today. :nailbiting:

Hope you all have a safe and relaxed night! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-5-binie-amps-448-3-366-7-180.290828/

Good evening,

I think Binie earned a reduction today. It didn't looked like that in the beginning of the cycle. She went down slowly and I was not sure if she would go below 150. So I was super happy when she was 148 at +6. Then she got up and went outside which spiked her bg. She was lying on the terrasse when at + 7.5 suddenly the libre alarm showed me that she was dropping below 100. I praised myself for reacting calm in comparison to the past (feeding lots of hc) and I gave her some lc food and did an ear prick. When she was 75 on the libre, she was 118 on the Accu Check. I continued to give lc food but she went further down.

At +8 she was 52 on the libre, the lowest she has ever been. I managed another ear prick and it was 78. Because the arrow showed straight down I panicked and I gave her a little bit of sugar syrup with some churu. I know this might not have been necessary but with the arrow pointing straight downward I panicked and all my coolness vanished. Of course she spiked after it. :banghead:

At shot time she refused to eat and I had to stall for another 15 minutes. Giving the injection she hissed at me again, maybe because she was stressed out about the ear pricks. I reduced her dose from 3.0 to 2.75.

In the pm cycle we just passed +4 and we are seeing :cool: again. So it seems no bouncing tonight. Hopefully no alarm tonight, that was enough for me today. :nailbiting:

Hope you all have a safe and relaxed night! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Wow Heike, you also had an “exciting” day! Yes Bonnie earned a reduction for being under 90, would you double checked on your handheld meter and she was in fact under 90. Good job keeping her safe today. I do hope tonight is calmer and stay in the blue zone so you can both get some sleep and the alarms aren’t going off all night. I’m hoping the same thing for myself, since it’s been such an active day, we both made it through. And, you kept your cool and that was great. I understand how you felt panicked when she did drop lower, and you saw the arrow pointing down.

Since Ivy was lingering in green numbers today, I fed the curve. Have you done that yet?
What I was doing was give her a teaspoon of 9% until around +6, and after that I gave her a teaspoon every hour of 6% to keep her coasting along and surfing in Green numbers.

I didn’t want her going too low and I also didn’t want to bump her up with high carbs. That seems to have worked today and she stayed in green numbers all day long. (I tested her a few times and she was under 100).

If she had tested much lower, then I works have given higher carbs, but she never tested under 67 today. So 9% and 6% was fine (for Ivy 6% never gives her a bump at all but 9.25% seems to help a little bit).

I hope you have a peaceful sleep tonight :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Good job today Heike. :) You've learned from previous experience and getting much better at learning how to handle those lower numbers. And good luck with the reduction.

You will likely find that later in the cycle you don't need as many carbs to boost Binie up as you do earlier in the cycle. But now you've got a data point to see what happens with lows in the last half of the cycle and you can try something a little bit less carbs next time.
 
@Staci & Ivy
Hi Staci, so kind of you to explan that for me! Thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I already tried in a way to use this idea today but I think the low carb food I used was too low to keep her steady. Both the kibble and the wet food are below 5 %. The next option I have is 20%. So there is a huge gap and I have to optimize my tool box. It is so fascinating to see in Ivys ss and how skillfull you manage her bg! And as you said, I have to learn to breath. Even though my head knows she might be higher than the number on the libre - if we come in the green zone I am freaking out. I hope this improves over time. On the other hand I know, that TR will not be something I can manage. After having spent almost the whole year so far at home to monitor her I am so much waiting for the day, I can go out without having to worry she goes too low. And this day has to come because I don't know how long my boss will let me work from home 100 %. :( Tonight she has another low cycle and she is heading towards 100. As I have to go to bed now I am super relieved, the libre will wake me up if needed. Hope you have a calm night! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good job today Heike. :) You've learned from previous experience and getting much better at learning how to handle those lower numbers. And good luck with the reduction.

You will likely find that later in the cycle you don't need as many carbs to boost Binie up as you do earlier in the cycle. But now you've got a data point to see what happens with lows in the last half of the cycle and you can try something a little bit less carbs next time.

Thank you so much for the encouragement Wendy! I didn't feel that great when she spiked up after the sugar. Lessons learned after today is, that I have to get more carb-variation between very low and high. And that not so much carb is needed in the later part of the cycle is also new to me. But it makes absolutely sense, as the insulin "wears off". Thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@Staci & Ivy
Hi Staci, so kind of you to explan that for me! Thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I already tried in a way to use this idea today but I think the low carb food I used was too low to keep her steady. Both the kibble and the wet food are below 5 %. The next option I have is 20%. So there is a huge gap and I have to optimize my tool box. It is so fascinating to see in Ivys ss and how skillfull you manage her bg! And as you said, I have to learn to breath. Even though my head knows she might be higher than the number on the libre - if we come in the green zone I am freaking out. I hope this improves over time. On the other hand I know, that TR will not be something I can manage. After having spent almost the whole year so far at home to monitor her I am so much waiting for the day, I can go out without having to worry she goes too low. And this day has to come because I don't know how long my boss will let me work from home 100 %. :( Tonight she has another low cycle and she is heading towards 100. As I have to go to bed now I am super relieved, the libre will wake me up if needed. Hope you have a calm night! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Heike, yes you need Some in between carbs, that way you have them on hand, in other words have something between 5% and 20%.

However, somebody told me here if you combine equal portions of 5% and 20% that gives you 25%.

Then diving your portion in 1/2 and you now have 12.5% carbs. (this is how I come up with Ivy‘s 9.25% food that I give her. I have a recipe for 6% and 12.5%. I combine them and cut in half and I have 9.25% carbs to give her.

In a pinch, you could do the same with your 20% and your 5%, and you would get 12.5%

And I understand that you were freaking out about the greens, believe me I totally understand.

I still have to remind myself to breathe when Ivy is in the greens and I’ve been doing this for more than a year and a half :banghead:
You’re doing a wonderful job, Heike
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Heike, yes you need Some in between carbs, that way you have them on hand, in other words have something between 5% and 20%.

However, somebody told me here if you combine equal portions of 5% and 20% that gives you 25%.

Then diving your portion in 1/2 and you now have 12.5% carbs. (this is how I come up with Ivy‘s 9.25% food that I give her. I have a recipe for 6% and 12.5%. I combine them and cut in half and I have 9.25% carbs to give her.

In a pinch, you could do the same with your 20% and your 5%, and you would get 12.5%

And I understand that you were freaking out about the greens, believe me I totally understand.

I still have to remind myself to breathe when Ivy is in the greens and I’ve been doing this for more than a year and a half :banghead:
You’re doing a wonderful job, Heike
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you Staci for the explanation! That makes much sense to me and makes things much easier as there is no need to have so many different foods as long as I combine them in a good and tasteful way. I will check on you and Ivy later and hope you had a good day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top