6/6 Betty AMPS 394.2, +5 252, +9 207, PMPS 268.2, +5 257, +7 234

Betty'sMom

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-75-65-6-25-58-6-75-88-2.248279/#post-2800279

So given how Betty tends to go low in the evening, I am wondering if I feed her and wait a bit for her insulin? She is still above 200, but I don't know if she is still dropping from this morning or on her way back up, or if she is safe for more.

Any ideas? I also realized my test strip are going to run out on me before the next batch arrives from Amazon. (I never expected to go through so many) so let's hope I can find a local seller of my brand!
 
Update... I did find some... But they costed $15 more than what I just bought on Amazon. Sigh.

Lesson learned: Know your prices and plan ahead. Eesh
 
We tell new people they are fine to shoot above 200. On Levemir, that goes doubly as it tends to have lower preshots than Lantus.
 
Ok... I waited half an hour and retested and she is now at 268.2,so I'll give her the insulin now.

Thanks!
 
The other thing to keep in mind with Levemir, is that the onset is several hours later, so they'll keep going up until then. Shooting lower preshots typically means flatter cycles. Levemir (and Lantus) are good at keeping lower numbers flat and low. I found the cycles with lower preshots much more predictable. But of course that was after experience when I was around to monitor and gather data.
 
Yeah, it's all a bit confusing. I usually see patterns but my variables keep changing (when I feed, when she eats, how much, when she gets her insulin, etc), so the patterns are harder to see right away.

Overall, she seems much younger than she used to seem. She's perky and a bit playful now, more cuddly, walks less stiffly, "talks" more... It's really touching to see!
 
Back
Top