6/6-9 Oberon (back from vacation) AMPS 280, +5.5 78, +7.5 60, +9 88, PMPS 184, +3 323, +5 365

Please get a test at +11 (as well as before, given the drop). The +11 and then the PMPS tests will tell you if numbers are dropping at shot time. If numbers are dropping, do not feed Oberon. You'll want to re-test in 20 or so minutes to see what's going on.
 
Definitely about to get a +10 test. I'll be out of the house at +11 (taking child someplace) but will try to get one at 10.75 and/or 11.25. He stayed basically stable from +8 to +9 (dropping 5 points only, which I suspect is just statistical noise), so if he's in the same range again at +10 I'll breathe more easily. Thanks for the advice!

(And yes, PerfumedCatMom, he most certainly does like drama. I'm fine with that; he just needs to work on his timing!)
 
Ok, he's stayed between 90-105 for the last 3.5 hours, so I think I'm good to shoot at 7. Drama cat is drama.
 
Back up to 78 by AMPS, so I went ahead and gave him the regular dose. I won't be able to check on him until around +5, what with teaching classes and all ... any suggestions of things to look for or reasons why I might consider lowering the dose this evening?
 
Hi Tim. Sorry about last night. I guess Oberon likes your attention. :D

I would recommend a partial dose again tonight - maybe 2-3 units? Then down to 4 units tomorrow morning. Of course, post what you see later today and I may change my mind. It's really hard to guess what Oberon is going to do right now. Something is happening inside Oberon that means he needs less insulin. It's almost a year since he last started insulin. If a cat has IAA, it's said the antibodies are self limiting after about a year, so if he started them around July last year, that's almost a year. We are guessing on the timing, and Oberon isn't telling. When IAA "breaks" or goes away, it can do so very suddenly.
 
Thanks, Wendy; very useful. Now that Oberon "heard" you say it, naturally, he's up to 191. Sheesh!

If he stays in the high 100s or goes higher I'll give him a regular shot tonight; otherwise I'll go for the partial dose you're suggesting.
 
Sounds like a good plan, but I would still reduce to 4.0 units. He's probably bouncing from last night. Question is, how long the bounce will last.
 
Thanks again, Wendy. Between your advice here and Lisa's elsewhere, I gave 3.0 units tonight; should be enough to blunt the bounce but not send him into another dive. I may go back to 4.0 in the morning, depending on how he looks later this evening and early tomorrow morning.
 
This is a cat on a mission. I gave him only 3.0 last night, he was above 200 when I went to bed, and was still down in the 40s when I got up this morning. Considering that I'm not even going to be at home for most of the day, this morning is a skip to let him try to clear whatever drama he's got in his system. I'll probably go back to a 3.0-U dose tonight ... fingers crossed.
 
Considering that I'm not even going to be at home for most of the day, this morning is a skip to let him try to clear whatever drama he's got in his system.
IMHO this sounds like a good idea (and I think what you did) - hopefully the depot will drain a little bit and you also won't have to worry about Oberon during the day today :bighug:
 
Okay, he's definitely into a bigger bounce this time -- up to 410. I think that'll earn the full 4.0 units this evening. (I won't be giving him R, since I have not yet been trained properly in doing so. o_O
 
My only thought is he comes off those bounces fast and hard, so just be careful! Probably a long night for you :confused:
 
That 410 follows a partial dose and a skip, plus a bounce from low numbers. Try not to react to the temporary high preshot numbers. Oberon has shown he can go from red preshots to green. I do think it's a good idea to skip R at the moment - he's being very unpredictable. Hopefully the partial dose plus skip means 4.0 units will be OK tonight.
 
Yeah, agreed with you both. I'm even going to hedge my bets a little bit and do 3.0 units. If he's still really high in the morning I can do 4.0 then; by this time tomorrow the expert (aka DW Lisa) will be home and can fix whatever mistakes I make. :-)

(And it had best not be a long night for me; tomorrow and Thursday are the final two days of classes in my teaching career, so I need energy at schooll!)
 
Back from vacation! Tim did a great job while I was gone. Had a lovely time (beach/spa/many good meals) and now I'm trying to sort out tonight's dose. This is the second cycle at 3 U after the skip, and he's already back down into the high greens. So while technically he didn't quite earn a reduction from 4.5 U earlier and 3 was just supposed to be the "vacation dose", my leaning is to just keep him at 3 for now and see which way he wants to go from here, rather than bring him back up. Make sense, or is there something I'm not thinking of?
 
Welcome back - sounds like you had a good restoring holiday. (and Tim will need the time off now).

I agree. I think I'd hang at 3.0. He's still got some higher depot influencing (last up to 6 cycles, maybe more with larger doses), so hard to say what the right dose is for him right now. Plus bouncing breaking cycles can be more active and I don't trust him right now. :p Getting him on a solid 3.0 unit dose with 3.0 depot will help that decision. Unless he drops of course. :cat:
 
Yep, he hasn't been at any particular dose for more than 3 cycles since we started this plunge, and the skips make it even more confusing to figure out what the depot is actually doing right now. If I can keep him at 3 for a while I'll have a better picture. And my schedule is reasonably open for the next few days in case of shenanigans, since he still seems to be cat on a mission.
 
Bouncing now, which surprises me a bit because he didn't go all that low today, but whatever. I'll still stick to 3 U unless he tells me otherwise.
 
Back
Top