? 6/6/20 Pantera pmps 5.4

Colleen & Pantera

Member Since 2020
Hello I am wanting some help with Panteras SS BG # please. I am giving him .25u x BID (1-2 drops) I don’t have 0.5ml syringes and my vet said to drop to once a day for 2 wks prior to trialing him with no insulin. I am not sure if that is a good recommendation any advice?
 
Hi Colleen,
How are you measuring the 0.25? Are you saying you measure it as 1 or 2 drops?
Looking at Pantera’s SS I don’t think she is easy to reduce the dose yet or to start an OTJ trial. Typically we like to see a kitty getting all green numbers before we reduce further which would normal be to 0.1 U then 1 drop.
I would not drop to once a day at all.
You want a strong remission and the way to get it is to support the pancreas as long as it’s needed to heal.
 
Hi Bron, it is hard to measure the .25 I go just under the large line at top before the 1 unit so it’s approx 1 -2 drops do you think I should go back to .5 which is halfway between. I wasn’t happy dropping to once a day either. Vet wants a fructosamine Test in 2 wks for him. I tested him on another metre yesterday (freestyle lite) and it was 3.5 at +5 And 5.5 on performa accu-cheek metre +5. I was wanting to change metres as the strips are cheaper and you don’t need as much blood Not sure which one is correct now.
 
Try and get some tests in during the pm cycle. You have very few and the pm cycle is just as important.
That is quite a difference between the 2 meters. I haven’t used either so can’t really comment. Maybe others can.
A fructosamine test would be a waste of money. It only gives you an average of the last 2 weeks. You have a much more detailed account of the numbers.

I think I’d stay with the same dose for now unless others think otherwise.
What is your feeding schedule?
 
He gets 1 can in am 1 can in pm 1/2 can lunch 1/2 can supper. I can only get up to +4 hrs pm as I go to bed bout 11pm he gets harder to get blood from in pm. I will try + 2 and + 4 tonight. Am I doing the dose correctly by going just below the line 1-2 drops?
 
BE66EE2D-6C0C-4696-9770-01337EC3BF8D.png

Have a look at the picture above and see what you have been giving. I don’t think I would increase the dose if you have been giving something other than 0.25 U.

If you could get a before bed test in every night that would be very helpful. If it is much lower than the preshot you may have to set the alarm and get up later to test again to see she is safe.
I will look at Rudy’s SS and comment below.
 

Attachments

  • BE66EE2D-6C0C-4696-9770-01337EC3BF8D.png
    BE66EE2D-6C0C-4696-9770-01337EC3BF8D.png
    189.9 KB · Views: 61
With Ruddy I think you need to pick a dosing method and either choose TR or SLGS. Have a look at both of them in the yellow sticky at the top of the Lantus page. If he is only eating canned food and no dry which it looks like he is, you could do TR.
Apart from the one high blue number this morning he has been stuck in yellows, pinks and reds.
I would also try and get some tests done on the pm cycle as well.
If he didn’t get that 10.8 (194) I would suggest an increase, but since he has had a blue, I would wait a bit longer.
I’m not sure why the two meters are easing so differently....that is of concern. did you try testing them both on yourself.?
 
Yes I tested Myself on both and I was out by about 2 points also. I want to do TR for Ruddy but I got scared this morning as he is my Son’s cat and my Son went away for weekend and left him here (first time alone) so I didn’t want him dropping and I chickened out and gave him 1.5u. I can see he seems to have a later nadir so I won’t freak out again and keep him at 2u. I read the sticky notes but don’t quite get it. I want to shoot lower than 8 when time comes so I guess that’s TR method? I’m not sure why he threw that 10.9 weird
 
He may have dropped lower last night but as you didn’t test we don’t know.
With TR you can increase the dose after 6 cycles if needed. You need to be testing at least once every cycle as well as the preshot, so you would need to get a pm test in each day. The number for a decrease is below 50 and that is when you give some high carb to bring the numbers back up over 50. Only wet or home made food allowed, no dry.
It will allow you to get Ruddy into better numbers much quicker.
When you decide, put it clearly into the signature.
I would email or ring both the companies to check on the accuracy of the meters.
It is more of a concern when the numbers are lower but you need an accurate meter non the less.
 
I also give both cats supper at 10.30pm of 1/2 can low carb can food so as to not go low over night is that the right thing to do? They can’t have food left out cause they scoff it all at once.:(
 
I also give both cats supper at 10.30pm of 1/2 can low carb can food so as to not go low over night is that the right thing to do? They can’t have food left out cause they scoff it all at once.:(
Yes it’s a good idea to give them food before you go to bed but it is not a guarantee that the BG won’t drop low overnight.
Have you thought about getting 2 autofeeders and having them open at the same time so they can both get some food during the night?

Like these. I used one for Sheba every night
https://www.groupon.com.au/deals/en...MIs5Xn0Jbt6QIVyH0rCh3JrwvUEAQYBSABEgK-MPD_BwE
 
I don’t know if they would get the food as one sleeps in my room the other in another room. I don’t know how it would work. I looked at it for my Son when he goes cause his hours are long so he will need it for Ruddy. What time would you set it to? Around the 6hr mark cause my husband gets up at 3.30am he could give a tablespoon food each of them. Or I could leave ziwipeak out they don’t scoff that lol..
 
Back
Top