? 6/5 Shiloh ~ +11.5 82, AMPS 83, +1 60, +4.75 76, +9 210, PMPS 195

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shiloh & Rhonda (GA)

Member Since 2015
Will check her again just before 7am, and then I may opt for a BCSS, as I won't be able to be home today, and probably won't make it home at lunch.
 
It looks like Shiloh has a great surf last night. I would leave some extra food out no matter what you shoot this morning. I hope she surfs safely.
 
I'm at work so I don't know how long I can stay on. How soon do you have to leave? Maybe you could put a drop of Karo on her food and leave a little higher carb food out for her.
 
Well, looks like I worried and took the BCSS shot for nothing. +9 210. I assume I should go back to the 2.75, since it wasn't an earned reduction?
 
Last edited:
Any time you have to take a reduced shot, it's best to go right back to the dose you were giving unless you're still dealing with low numbers. I hope Shiloh comes back down soon.
 
She probably would have been okay today, but since you couldn't be there it was the safe thing to do to shoot the BCS. You don't have enough data to know what she would have done. That's why I suggested the drop of Karo. Everything is a learning experience. It is fine to shoot the BCS. Safety first.

It's probably a good idea to shoot her normal dose the next time you will be home and she gives you an AMPS like that so you can see what she'll do. She's doing great. It wouldn't surprise me if you get the opportunity soon.
 
I hope maybe this weekend. I know she is going lower than my vet wants(150-160), but I don't want to just regulate her, I want her off of this if possible. We will be +4 weeks diagnosis tomorrow.
 
If they don't home test, how would they know if they were going that low? As much as I hate doing it to her, I couldn't imagine giving her insulin without testing. Even though I have a friend who has a cat on insulin for 6 years, and she only monitors her water consumption and litter box habits.
 
That is probably why the cat has been on insulin for 6 years........it is only having the blood glucose brought down probably into the yellows or maybe blues. But for people who can't or won't test, that is better than having the cat put down, which a lot of people do. I couldn't do it that way but most people do. So good on your friend for doing it. We are the minority:)
 
She appreciates it!
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    48.9 KB · Views: 47
looks like the 210 and 195 might be a mini-bounce. The more time she spends in green numbers - which is now getting to be a LOT of time - the shorter the bounces will be. I'd still get a before bed test tonight, if you're still up and see this.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top