6/5 Rory am221 +2 216 +4 187 pm365

Status
Not open for further replies.

Var-ee and Rory

Member Since 2013
Rory took another hunger strike this morning he just was not himself!!! normally he has a hollow leg except since this last increase.. there seems to be a delicate balance with this management......so I didnt get to dose this am again, he did continue to go lower, then later in the afternoon he got into pinks so I gave his usual 7pm shot at 5:22, he was quite high and I decreased his dose by .25 even though those blues and even nicer greens were great it was hard on us both, especially in the night time. the pinks have been bad the past 3 days but I hope he eats better than the past 3 days soon especially in the am!!!

condo http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=96863
 
What type of food are you feeding Rory? That hairball could be another reason he didn't want to eat. Shedding season has started big time over here too.

It would be good to get Rory eating consistently so you can go back up in dose. Spending time in the greens is what'll help heal his pancreas. We often see that cat's don't feel comfortable in normal numbers, because it's been a while since they've been there. Rory might feel best in the 200s so we have to get him used to the 100s, then the normal range below 100.
 
OK well I will try to up his dose again in the AM then. I guess... I just hope he eats.. when he does he eats a lot. I have several different food I give him, he eats them all and never has any issues, fancy feast pate, BFF, tuna and he likes them all. the only one he wont touch anymore is the RAW dehydrated one, at first he liked it but not now that his numbers started to lower, and also I found several different flavors of BFF and started him on fancy feast pate.. he prefers them both... I know it isnt the food because when he gets his appetite back he eats tons.. this afternoon as well and several times
 
Sounds like Rory is getting a variety of food which is good. If he isn't eating, it is safer to reduce or not give insulin. Seems odd that being in lower numbers would cause him to go off food. Paws crossed it's just the hairballs. I'd freak out if Neko didn't eat - she NEVER turns down food. She's getting raw food, Red Dog/Blue Kat Deli or Nature's Variety. I tried the dehydrated once, she was so so on it.
 
its unusual for Rory because he has always had a big appetite, before it was for the dry and after we stopped feeding him dry he was constantly wanting anything we would give him like he was malnourished or like we never fed him. so he is either having a bad reaction to the insulin or he is clever enough to figure out that he has to eat before getting the shot... I dont doubt that at all he is the smartest cat I have ever had in my life!!! almost human and knows what we are saying..

anyway, one thing is that he was staying low too late and needed hight carb food which was not agreeing with his bowels so not only was he constipated he was also feeling sick.. as long as I dont hacve to give him gluten I will increase.. otherwise I am happier with slightly higher numbers.. I dont want him feeling so ill.. I could tell he wasnt doing well at all.... unless you have any other options for me carb wise, I just cant give him the high carb stuff
 
Another thing is that cats who are in good numbers (all those lovely blues he was getting) aren't as starving because the insulin is working.

For really high carb food, you can add a couple of drops of corn syrup, maple sugar, or honey to his regular food. Some cats only need medium carb food to get a good rise so you could also experiment with food that is a little higher carb but doesn't contain gravy. I have 11% Wellness in that category.
 
OK I will try that
I do notice that he is grooming a lot now like he use to befor he got diabetes. after he took ill he stopped completely, it was only when he started to reach his blues he started to get the energy to groom again. at least I started his dose early tonight so I can get on it sooner than later, he will want fed this time Im sure
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top