6/5 Orange AMPS 103, PMPS 108 - Dose and Travel Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie & Orange

Member Since 2012
Last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72047


Hi everyone!

I have a few questions for you today:

1. Yesterday was the 3rd time Orange has dropped below 50 at his current 0.1 unit dose. Last time I tried reducing to a drop it didn't hold. What do you guys think about reducing vs. staying here? I'm leaning towards staying at this dose. I don't think I could measure anything between the 0.1 I do now (at the top of the zero line) and the drop (just pushing in the plunger tight and letting go).

2. In 1.5 weeks I will be going on vacation! It was booked before Orange's diagnosis, and its going to be a little more stressful leaving than originally planned, but I'm still looking forward to it. The good news is my sister has agreed to come over, stay at my house for the whole week I am gone, and watch the animals! What do you usually do for sitters? Should I keep is current dose now and then try the reduction while I'm gone so that my sis will have less low number drama to worry about? She is going to be here all week though, pretty much 24/7 and can test as much as I tell her to. Orange will be watched closely so it might be ok to leave him at this dose. I just have to give her a crash course in feline diabetes care. I'll set her up so that she can update his spreadsheet and post here while I'm gone.


I hope everyone is having a good day! Orange has been feeling great! He caught another mouse the other day. I'm starting to see a trend that whenever he gets a mouse overnight his AMPS is a tad bit higher - the last mouse was on 5/31 and we woke up to a 142 - not that bad but he's usally better. He doesn't eat the mice (except once), so I think its just the excitement of the whole thing.
 
Re: 6/5 Orange AMPS 103, +3 88 - Dose and Travel Questions

+6 = 118

hmmmmmm.... I wonder why he's gone up this cycle? Thats not really like him, but its still a fine number so I'm not going to stress.
 
Re: 6/5 Orange AMPS 103, +3 88 - Dose and Travel Questions

Hi Julie, can you please mark on his spreadsheet when he is being fed? You can just put a * in the fields where you feed. Also, is there anything different in the way you feed during the night vs. the day? And are you feeding a variety of foods or the same thing all the time?

I know, lots of questions.

There is still plenty of time to think about what to do when you're gone. A lot can change by then.
 
Re: 6/5 Orange AMPS 103, +3 88 - Dose and Travel Questions

I put out his food during shot times, he eats about a quarter of it right away and then picks on it throughout the day so I'm not sure the exact times that he eats. He's usually done by +6, but if he's not I pick it up at +10.

I'm feeding Merrick Turducken (9% carb) all the time - 1.5 cans per day. Up until recently it was the only wet food he would eat. A few weeks ago I tried a spoonful of EVO and he actually ate it! Then last night out of nowhere he scarfed down a whole can of my civie Charlie's FF classic turkey while his Turducken was left sitting in his bowl. I've always put both of their food out together and Charlie would never want any of the Turducken and Orange wouldn't touch the FF. And last night, Charlie did not want her FF - it was the strangest thing. So, for the first time ever I think I have some options to feed Orange if I wanted to try experimenting with different carb % in his food.

Day and night there isn't a change in what I do, but I notice that more often he does not finish all of his food overnight - I think he just goes to sleep and forgets about it. Its almost always gone during the day.

Also, I should mention, any time I see him in the 40s I haven't given him high carb anything (unless its marked in the comments in the spreadsheet - the last time I carbed him was almost a month ago). I just carry him over to in front of his food to remind him its there and he'll eat some of it and his numbers come up a little and he starts surfing.
 
Re: 6/5 Orange AMPS 103, +3 88 - Dose and Travel Questions

If Orange will eat the FF, I'll be very curious if it has a positive effect on his numbers. If Orange is as carb sensitive as you say, that may be why he's not quite as low as you'd like. Also, sometimes a snack at +9 will lower the pre-shot numbers.
 
Re: 6/5 Orange AMPS 103, +3 88 - Dose and Travel Questions

OK - I'll try switching the food and see what that does.

Which would be better to use? EVO or FF?
 
Re: 6/5 Orange AMPS 103, PMPS 108 - Dose and Travel Question

Food experiment has started!

I went with EVO for dinner just because my civie doesn't like it so I can more easily monitor how much Orange eats.

He got the 95% Duck flavor tonight so that is dropping the carbs from his usual 9% down to 5%. Lets see how this goes!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top