6/5 Merlin AMPS 341, +6/52,+6.5/63 PMPS 158/235,+3/201,217

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Member Since 2014
6/5
AMPS 341; 1u

It certainly could have been higher this morning. So I went ahead and gave him 1u. We thought we would try a consistent .8u. When would be a good number to start that? After I gave him the 1u this am, I thought that maybe I should have started it this morning.
 
Re: 6/5 Merlin AMPS 341

Let's see what one unit does. I am wondering if Merlin would have a flat high cycle or two after a low, whether you give the little more or the little less. He just seems to take his time clearing the bounce, and then when he's ready, he has a nice cycle again.

And yes, a 32 point increase from +3 last night isn't bad at all.
 
Re: 6/5 Merlin AMPS 341

Ok - Since he is rather high today, I think I am going to take this opportunity to go and volunteer at my birds of prey rehab center. I should be able to get a test in around +6.
 
Re: 6/5 Merlin AMPS 341, +6/52

6/5
AMPS 341; 1u
+6 - 52

Ok now I am speechless. Does this mean that he wants a lower dose regardless if his numbers are high? I just tried giving him LC food and he was not, in the least, interested. Last time I fed him was at 9am which was three hours ago. He took a few licks and then went back to his pillow.

He must have been constipated because this morning, after his breakfast, he had the biggest poop I have ever seen come from a cat...it was human size! Poor Merlin. I thought he went poop yesterday but I guess not. It must be because of his AB's possibly. So no AB's today so hopefully he will get back on track. I will monitor more closely.

So I don't know what is up with his numbers. Maybe a .8u would have been more appropriate for the 341, but that seems not right.
 
Re: 6/5 Merlin AMPS 341, +6/52

He's doing the limbo for you!

If he has a tendancy towards constipation, about 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon of Miralax or generic daily, plus extra water (maybe in the food) may help prevent future episodes. It won't help any existing blockage and should never be given when already blocked.
 
Re: 6/5 Merlin AMPS 341, +6/52

Hmmm. He always has a surprise.

This am, one unit sure seemed sensible. All I can think is that he is going to clear bounces faster than he used to and we need to think one flat cycle, not two, after a low number. This is a good thing, of course, but thinking differently about Merlin...

Constipation can definitely raise bg levels. So if it was the constipation and not a bounce, it would mean he didn't bounce much at all from that 30+

Both of these possibilities are lovely scenerios, Cindi, meaning he is needing less insulin, probably not bouncing so much. But a little unpredictable.

I'd just make sure he is rising and not falling further. Too bad he didn't want a snack...
 
Re: 6/5 Merlin AMPS 341, +6/52

Hi Cindi -

Like Sue said, Merlin's being pretty unpredictable right now. I'd agree that perhaps that green was a sign that he was *ahem* a little stopped up possibly accounting for his higher numbers. Sometimes he has those flat bounces cycles, where the insulin doesn't seem to make a dent, but sometimes he clears a glucose-spike pre-shot immediately, like he did today. Something does seem to have changed recently with him, which makes it really difficult to guess what he might do. Given his unpredictability, I think you might want to consider ditching shooting on a scale for the time being.

I'm inclined to suggest holding a flat dose of 0.8 for a minimum of six cycles to see if you can get green nadirs. Obviously, if he goes below 50 on a 0.8, you'd lower the dose again. You'd have to pull on the patience pants and ignore the temptation to beat down any bouncy pre-shots with a bigger dose. :-D I know, easier said than done!
 
Re: 6/5 Merlin AMPS 341, +6/52

6/5
AMPS 341; 1u
+6 - 52
+6.5 - 63

Yeah - going up a little. Still no interest in food - just wants to sleep. I guess I will let him sleep since he is going up and he did have several meals this morning before 9am.

I think I am also going to start to add a little Miralax to his food for a few days.
 
Re: 6/5 Merlin AMPS 341, +6/52,+6.5/63 PMPS 158

6/5
AMPS 341; 1u
+6 - 52
+6.5 - 63
PMPS 158

Wow can you believe it? He has not been hungry all day since 9am. All he wanted to do is sleep. So now he is up wanting his food. Do you think because he was nice and green today that his hunger subsides? I am going to give him Pepcid AC (1/4 tablet) & Miralax (1/8 tsp) just in case his tummy is a little upset. I went out and bought him shrimp and chicken just in case I need to resort to this. This is hard on me buying the shrimp and chicken because I am a vegetarian. Oh well...anything for our kitties.

Is it possible to feed him now and not feed him for another two hours and give him his insulin then say 8pm rather than stalling? Is that an alternative? I don't think I am going to do that but rather wait until 7pm (one hour later) and test him. So if I can get him to like 224 like last night do you suggest .4u again? He has got me guessing now.
 
Re: 6/5 Merlin AMPS 341, +6/52,+6.5/63 PMPS 158

Yes, feeding him should be okay. The other way will work too if he doesn't start chewing up the furniture. :mrgreen: And yes, I think the .4 should be okay. Maybe .6 if he jumps to the 300s?

He is looking SOOOOOOO good!
 
Re: 6/5 Merlin AMPS 341, +6/52,+6.5/63 PMPS 158

I agree with Sue. .4 or .6 depending on the number. Let's see how a lower dose affects him!

His numbers are incredible! Go Merlin go!
 
Re: 6/5 Merlin AMPS 341, +6/52,+6.5/63 PMPS 158/235

6/5
AMPS 341; 1u
+6 - 52
+6.5 - 63
PMPS 158
7pm - 235; .4u

I test him at +3 to see if he matches the +3 from last night. I suspect that it could be up a little more than 308 because it took me about 40 minutes after I tested him to get Merlin to eat a couple of tablespoons. He acts like he is interested, he smells it, he takes a few licks and then he walks away. This time I put Miralax and Pepcid AC so he may have sensed that. After getting freeze dried chicken (didn't work), Werurva steak fritites (didn't work), shrimp (didn't work) and then finally tuna water (worked), he managed to get enough in him while also eating the Pepcid ac and Miralax. Next time, I think I will just dissolve it and syringe feed him the medication separately. That way I know he got it all.

His sinuses is really bothering him. He has a right runny nose and right runny eye. I thought it would go away by pulling that right canine tooth but the vet didn't think it would and he was right. My vet appointment has been changed to next Tuesday. I get my fluids tomorrow so I will probably start that on Saturday.

Another exciting day...I am ready for some boring days now.
 
Re: 6/5 Merlin AMPS 341, +6/52,+6.5/63 PMPS 158/235,+3/201

6/5
AMPS 341; 1u
+6 - 52
+6.5 - 63
PMPS 158
7pm - 235; .4u
+3 - 201
+5 - 217 ** Update

Very nice number for a +3 pm. If I would have just waited just a few minutes, he may have been in the blue. I may have to get up in 2 hours to check him at +5 just because I don't know what he is going to do. Oh and some more great news...he ate a whole bunch at 10pm (+3). I am so happy and I can tell he is too. Must be the Pepcid AC kicking in. He is also happy because his buddies, Kita and Slugger, are all on the bed sleeping with him.

One day at a time...all is well tonight. Good night.
 
Re: 6/5 Merlin AMPS 341, +6/52,+6.5/63 PMPS 158/235,+3/201,2

Glad he ate. Maybe a new kind of cycle at night - a little flat but still numbers in the 200s?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top