6/5 Meadow AMPS 327

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meadow

Active Member
AMPS 6am (no food since 11pm) = 327
She ate well after testing and received 1.75 units
10am BG check was 268 (at this time she ate a bit less than 2 tsp FF as a snack)
1pm BG check was 284 (got 2pcs freeze dried chicken as a test reward)

Hope everyone is having a good day!
 
Good evening!! That 327 this morning is a bounce from last night I am sure. And after you went to bed she might have gone a little lower. Here in LL we call it "Liver Training School" or LTS for short. The kitties bodies get so used to seeing higher BG's that their little bodies get used to it. Then when we start adding insulin to lower the BG's their body freaks out, gets nervous and all those "stress" hormones and glucose get released by the liver to bring the BG's back up. Hence, the bounces you see. Yesterday morning when she has the 62---no doubt her liver dumped extra glucose into the blood stream to compensate for a low number it wasn't used to. That is why you got the red number at her PM shot time.

By decreasing her dose we hope to see less extreme drops in Meadow's BG's. It is much better to have a steady decrease in numbers (rather than 100 point drops within an hour or 2). When the body gets used to the steadier lower numbers the liver is able to react less frequently and with less extreme bounces. Does any of this make sense? I sure hope so....trying to explain what info is floating around in my head can be a challenge at time... :lol:

The bounces that the kitties get can sometimes take up to 72 hours to clear. So don't get discouraged when you begin to see these patterns. It is totally normal for kitties when starting Lantus. Some stay in LTS for a short period of time, some months and some are still in LTS. ;-)

Hope you have a great evening. You and Meadow are doing great!! :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon

PS - she is sooo pretty :mrgreen:
 
Dottie, I wish I could add more guidance about numbers, but I'm new to this myself. Just wanted to say that you're doing a great job with Meadow! She is a very pretty kitty. The outline of her eyes is really striking.

Paige, that explanation about bounces made so much sense to me. It's something I've been struggling to grasp. In our situation, we have a bounce from decreasing the dose. Could you explain that in a similar way? (sorry to highjack your condo, Dottie!)
 
Paige, that was a great explanation and it made things much clearer for me. Thank you. Today her BG seems to be steady in the mid to upper 200's. Funny thing...she seems to feel better at this level than at lower numbers. Maybe it's what her body is used to.
After her PMPS of 281, she went down to 261 at 8pm and now 156 at 11pm. confused_cat

Thanks again for the guidance and help you are offering. It's definitely making things easier! :smile:
 
Re: 6/5 Meadow AMPS 327, PMPS 281

Thanks for the compliment on Meadow and the encouragment, Janice. Good luck with Johnny and his bouncing numbers too!
 
High Janice!! (Sorry Dottie we are going to hijack for a moment :lol: )

Janice - what you are seeing with Johnny is normal when decreasing a dose. It isn't really the same as a bounce or rebound. Rather his body adjusting to the new dose. It is hard to tell from the time you decreased from 1u to 0.75u because you skipped both the AM and PM shots the following day. When shots are missed with Lantus the "storage shed" gets used up and the next shot that you do give actually works/goes toward filling up the shed again, rather than decreasing the BG's right away. That would explain why Johnny's BG's on 527 went up a little bit before responding nicely the next day. Does this make sense? On 6/3/10 when you decreased to 0.24 Johnny ran a little higher. This was a bounce from the 50's and 60's the night before. ;-)

Hope this makes sense. I look forward to seeing a new condo from you soon. Johnny is doing great too!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top