6/5 Kasha AMPS 515 PMPS 432

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
No comment. No comment on AMPS.

I don't know what's going on.

Ate full breakfast - I tested, shot and then fed (instead of feeding first). We'll see where this goes.



Yesterday
 
Re: 6/5 Kasha AMPS 515

Hi Krys,
How was the shot last evening? I hope her #'s come down today. I wish Maggie would eat better. She loves the fishy FF flavors and Sophisticat, but most of the others not!! I'm thinking of trying some of the raw food sold in pet stores.
 
Re: 6/5 Kasha AMPS 515

Ann and Maggie11 said:
Hi Krys,
How was the shot last evening? I hope her #'s come down today. I wish Maggie would eat better. She loves the fishy FF flavors and Sophisticat, but most of the others not!! I'm thinking of trying some of the raw food sold in pet stores.


I'm wondering if I screwed up the shot last evening too... have I suddenly become incompetent at shooting? I don't get it. No point thinking about it now, I guess. You can bet I watched that needle go in this AM though...

If you try the raw food, let me know what you think. I would love to switch to something like that, but I'm fairly disgusted by raw meat, so preparing it myself is not my first choice!

Hey - isn't it like the middle of the night for you?!! :smile:
 
Re: 6/5 Kasha AMPS 515

kryskat said:
Ann and Maggie11 said:
Hi Krys,
How was the shot last evening? I hope her #'s come down today. I wish Maggie would eat better. She loves the fishy FF flavors and Sophisticat, but most of the others not!! I'm thinking of trying some of the raw food sold in pet stores.
I'm wondering if I screwed up the shot last evening too... have I suddenly become incompetent at shooting? I don't get it. No point thinking about it now, I guess. You can bet I watched that needle go in this AM though...
If you try the raw food, let me know what you think. I would love to switch to something like that, but I'm fairly disgusted by raw meat, so preparing it myself is not my first choice!
Hey - isn't it like the middle of the night for you?!! :smile:

Oh that's good with the needle this am; we'll see how Kasha does today! Yes, I've seen the raw meat sold at Petco, but it's sold by the pound! I was hoping they sold it in 1/4 lb so I don't waste it if she decides she doesn't like it! Yep, it's middle of night. I dosed off and on got up at 2:30 am, but I'll probably have to go btd a little later for a cat nap! I was worried why Maggie didn't wake me, so I got up to check on her, and she's fine hopefully.

Will there be any takeout breakfast today? I had some fast food for lunch yesterday, so I need to be good today.
 
Re: 6/5 Kasha AMPS 515

Krys--When I first started shooting Moonie I gave a lot of fur shots--I was told to try practicing on an orange, just to get the feel of shooting into something--I learned to do it quickly & efficiently using the orange-Now I scruff her(and she has very little scruff) and just slip the needle in-- Quickly--Then I lightly run my hand over her fur to see if there is any insulin smell.
Been doing pretty well lately, but everyone sometimes does a fur shot--
You know never to give any more insulin, if you think you did a fur shot, right?
Fingers & Paws crossed that Kasha will come down--Have a great Caturday! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/5 Kasha AMPS 515, 263 @ +2.2

Yeah, it's frustrating cuz I've been giving shots for months now and I don't know why I would be more prone to fur shots now... I do know never to give more insulin when I think it's a fur shot - believe me, I've been tempted but I never, never reshot.

But today's definitely wasn't a fur shot... She's dropped over 250 pts in 2 hours. Just gave an LC snack - maybe I should up it to MC... what exactly defines MC and HC? Is MC over 10 % carbs? over 15%? When does it become HC?

Maybe that 515 was a bounce? Her numbers weren't going anywhere last night when I was monitoring - wonder if she was bouncing from earlier in the day or something. Anyway, I'm pretty sure "bounce" is a term that's going to be coming back to haunt me later on.

I took her outside with me for about 15 min this morning. Just to walk up and down the driveway, hear the birds and squirrels, smell things (her, not me). She doesn't go out with me very often anymore and I wouldn't let her go anywhere too interesting because my dad's been helping around my house and he doesn't share my "no scary chemicals" mentality. So, he's been spraying weed-killer and bug-killer and all the things I've never had around my house before. Therefore, we stuck to the driveway.

I made some scrambled eggs (from the farmers market - pasture-raised chickens) mixed with swiss cheese (also from the market, from grass fed cattle so we've got all the good essential fatty acids in the preferred ratios!). She ate some eggs and then had a little LC before I tested... I'll wait a little and give her a spoonful of something with a few more carbs to try to slow down this roller coaster.

One of her nicknames is "Bean". As in "Kasha-bean". Today she's more like a Mexican Jumping Kasha-Bean!!!
 
Re: 6/5 Kasha AMPS 515, 263 @ +2.2

Wow what a drop!! That is wonderful--See no fur shot!! You are doing a great job----Maybe you'll see some nice blue-green today!
Kasha, good going!
MC is 10% carbs & over--HC is 15-18% carbs I think--Look in Janet & Binky's Food charts to check.
When Moonie goes low, I give her MC because she doesnt like the heavy gravy HC, and she bounces less on the MC..
But when I really need to give her a boost, I will do HC gravy, or sometimes even a few temptations treats as they are HC.
I use the FF Elegant Entries chicken or Turkey Tuscany--They work for us--
 
Re: 6/5 Kasha AMPS 515, 263 @ +2.2

I love her new picture and as for raw I buy the pre pkgd raw to me its just easier its more expensive I am sure then making your own and you may have a store close by that sells it but Do Lou just loves the primal raw nuggets :mrgreen: try not to get frustrated over the shot thing ((((HUGS)))) by the drop must have gotten in there :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/5 Kasha AMPS 515, 263 @ +2.2

Roni and Moonie said:
Wow what a drop!! That is wonderful--See no fur shot!! You are doing a great job----Maybe you'll see some nice blue-green today!
Kasha, good going!
MC is 10% carbs & over--HC is 15-18% carbs I think--Look in Janet & Binky's Food charts to check.
When Moonie goes low, I give her MC because she doesnt like the heavy gravy HC, and she bounces less on the MC..
But when I really need to give her a boost, I will do HC gravy, or sometimes even a few temptations treats as they are HC.
I use the FF Elegant Entries chicken or Turkey Tuscany--They work for us--

She's already in the blue at +3... Crazy girl. Good - I use the FF Elegant Entrees as my MC too. And she likes them too... They used to be her treat foods.

I swear last week I bought 40+ cans of FF and I have no idea where they went. The cupboard is looking bare in the FF category again. You don't think they help themselves while I'm at work...???
 
Re: 6/5 Kasha AMPS 515, 263 @ +2.2, 157 @ +3

Ack! that was a big drop Kasha!!!! She certainly cleared the bounce she had going on.
I know Kasha doesnt eat a lot around shot time (neither does latte), so Im wondering if you can slow some of these drops you have by giving mc instead of lc? I often put karo in Latte's food if I see her take a drop over 50pts in the first hour. Usually means there will be some momentum, I dont want that early on. Just a thought.

I dont mean to harp on the fur shot vs bounce...you know best if you are giving fur shots. But I think if imagined that every shot went in, while looking at her ss, you could potentially see that these are possibly bounces. If you look at them as bounces, and treat them that way...then you can work toward preventing them, or making them a little less harsh - to a point (by feeding differently, being aware of when it will clear and, not being so hard on yourself when she is high...because its not your fault ;-) , etc).

By learning when a bounce is potentially going to clear, you can test more (if home) and feed differently (mc) as you see it clearing. Some bounces can take up to 72hrs (3 days!) to clear. Its very frustrating. So you just have to wait it out, watch closely and be prepared to intervene asap.

I hope she doesnt bounce as high from this. But do be prepared when you see higher numbers tonight and possibly tomorrow...ANY cat that drops 250pts in an hr is going to bounce. thats just their liver protecting them. In some ways we should be grateful for that, ya know?

I hope you have a good saturday. Do something nice for yourself today! You deserve it BIG time!
 
Re: 6/5 Kasha AMPS 515, 263 @ +2.2, 157 @ +3

At least she's been clearing her bounces pretty quickly lately.

She's down to 99 at +4. That cracked me up a little - like, she's learning to play the game. No messing around with 101 or 104 or something just over the cut-off point... Sneak down just below so you can show up green on the SS!

She ate some MC and LC about 1/2 hr ago, but I'm going to offer her a little more MC. I believe it's just over 10'%, so not super high, but a little extra to smooth things out (like there's any chance of that now!). She acting very comfy and cozy.

I have some cucumber plants to plant today (in a planter). 2 more planters coming on Wednesday and I'll be planting my remaining bell peppers and 2 watermelon plants in them. Going to let the watermelon trail out into my front flowerbed and maybe onto the lawn (the front is the only place with good sun). I already have cucumbers, peppers and a bunch of herbs on the sides of the front steps. But what will make my little city farm complete is the corn I've got growing in little pots right now. Wednesday, it goes into a planter too. I was going to put it against the house, but amidst outcry from my dad (and he IS helping me fix up my lower apartment to rent out), it will go just around the side of the house. I guess the corn was a little too Farmer Brown... LOL..
 
Re: 6/5 Kasha AMPS 515, 263 @ +2.2, 157 @ +3

I sure thing that AMPS was a bounce. She has sme pretty drastic drops throughout the day. I am sure you have been asked this before and am sure you are doing it, but are you trying to feed as she drops to prevent the drops from happening too fast? I think that is what is causing these AM bounces. It i always better to have slow and steady drops. Hugs to you Krys.....I know you are feeling defeated and want to pull your hair out. At least she clears fast. :roll:
 
Re: 6/5 Kasha AMPS 515, 263 @ +2.2, 157 @ +3

Great #'s Kasha!
As for raw food, I use Natures Variety medallions. They love the organic chicken one best. I love it because it's convenient and easy, just defrost the amount you need for the day and you don't have to think about it anymore.
 
Re: 6/5 Kasha AMPS 515, 263 @ +2.2, 157 @ +3

She gets snacks throughout the evenings and if I'm home during the day. Otherwise, when I'm not here, there is food available, but I can't guarantee whether she has any of it - or if Blue snags it all. She usually has some chicken (ground beef this week) left out and Blue won't eat that, so when that disappears, I know that she's the one who ate it.
 
Re: 6/5 Kasha AMPS 515, 263 @ +2.2, 157 @ +3

Iorwen & Tray said:
Great #'s Kasha!
As for raw food, I use Natures Variety medallions. They love the organic chicken one best. I love it because it's convenient and easy, just defrost the amount you need for the day and you don't have to think about it anymore.

Do you buy them at a store or order online?
 
Re: 6/5 Kasha AMPS 515, 263 @ +2.2, 157 @ +3

kryskat said:
Iorwen & Tray said:
Great #'s Kasha!
As for raw food, I use Natures Variety medallions. They love the organic chicken one best. I love it because it's convenient and easy, just defrost the amount you need for the day and you don't have to think about it anymore.

Do you buy them at a store or order online?

I buy them at my local pet store. Here's a link to find a store that carries it near you
http://www.naturesvariety.com/locator
 
Bounce.

I just gave her AB pill, tested, fed and shot in record time. I was out doing all the stuff I have to do on weekends. Saw my horse (poor guy - he's totally lame today and I'm not sure why. Gave some anti-inflammatory meds and I'll check on him again tomorrow I guess). Then stopped by BF's house, since we rarely see e/o anymore. Then, to make the evening simple and easy, I ordered pizza from my favorite pizza place near his house. Stopped there on my way home - running just exactly on time... Until I drove away and opened up the box. Not the pizza I'd ordered. I drove back and found out that it wasn't that they'd given me someone else's pizza covered in olives (ick). No - they just got everything I ordered completely wrong. So, I left the pizza, got my money and drove home. Somehow, I kept us on schedule, more or less.

Today's Baytril went down in a pill pocket rolled in chicken dust. I don't think she'll ever fall for that again, but it was expedient tonight.

And, Little Girl (aka Kasha) ate about 2 Tbsp FF for dinner without any real help. Then I got out the chicken dust and she ate another Tbsp. So, 3 Tbsp for dinner tonight. Pretty good.

I'm feeling melancholy and frightened about Blue's surgery on Monday. Tomorrow is (supposedly) his last day as he is (4-legged). No telling what will happen on Monday...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top