6/5 Gracie PMPS 289 +2 301 +4 295

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS: 271 7th cycle 1u
+2: 184
+4: 125
+6: 127
+9: 142
PMPS: 62 8th cycle 1u :o fed 4%/drop karo
+.5: 74 fed 13% gravy
+1: 61 fed 10%/drop karo
+2: 36 :shock: :shock: fed 10%/.5ml karo
+2.5: 60
+3: 66
+3.5: 71
+4: 80
+5: 90
+7: 71
+8: 109
+10: 123


Good morning Lantus Land and where's my ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ?

Our thoughts and prayers are with all who need them today including Donovan, Rocket, and any other of our sweet LL kitties, civvies, and beans.

Gracie earned another dose reduction last night! cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon She was her inimitable Lil Stinka self by going up at +9 in the a.m. cycle leading us to believe she was actually going to have a normal cycle but instead decided to drop to 62 by PMPS. And then the carb game was on. I don't like to stall with Gracie because she'll just keep dropping and we are trying to keep her from earning reductions so quickly. She, however, had different plans last night and even with the carbs we gave her, earned a reduction. Some might ask "why don't you give her something higher than 10%?" Good question. Our darling girl likes to accumulate her carbs instead of immediately coming up so 10% is about the max we can give without sending her eventually zooming up like crazy; and at lower doses, 10% is an absolute show stopper. While we can normally control her better with karo, when she's dropping like last night, the karo doesn't hang around long enough and she turns around on us quickly. The fact that she didn't zoom up last night from the carbs tells me she was very ready for a reduction. The jury is still out for today's cycle. Her SS is looking better but we've lost that lovely flat that we had; at least her bounces are not too long.

With all the "excitement" this week, I forgot to tell you all that Gracie's bloodwork came back very lovely except her ALT is still elevated, although it is slightly down. Last time it was 124; this time 112. The vet said that she often sees elevated ALTs in FD kitties. Has anyone noted this on their kitty's bloodwork? Gracie is on a supplement for liver support.

Tobey update: other than looking a little demonish, he seems to be doing quite well anti jinx. They put atropine in his left (affected) eye to dilate his pupil; I believe the reason for that is it keeps it from constricting and dilating normally so that it can heal so his left pupil is very dilated (and will be for a week) while the right is normal so he looks a little :twisted: :twisted: :lol: :lol: :lol: Oter than that, he's got his eye wide open, very little discharge, no third eye showing, and occasionally I can see where the ulcer is and it *looks* like it might be getting smaller. Recheck on Tuesday.

Teddi goes back in Tuesday as well to have her thyroid levels rechecked and her mouth checked. She has gained a tiny bit of weight. All the abscess is gone but there is still one tiny spot on her gum by a tooth that is very red so the vet is thinking that tooth is problematic. But before they do a dental, they need to be sure she is stable with her thyroid and kidneys. She's such a lively little thing for almost 16 years old!!!

Have a wonderful day. We plan to do some major laying out by the pool and catching some rays and some I-) I-) I-) I think I would have been at the end of my rope this weekend if Mike had not been here between all the meds and the sleep deprivation.
 
Re: 6/5 Gracie AMPS 106 +1 122 NEW DOSE/??? about ALT

Gracie is always full of surprises. Has she been chatting with Gabby again?

Gabby is due for bloodwork and I'll try to remember to let you know what her ALT looks like. Her values from last year are on a tab on her SS. Her ALT was at the lower end of the normal range, though.

Here's some info on ALT. (This is an interpretation based on high values that are under x2 the normal range.):
The ALT, or Alanine Transferase, is slightly elevated. The significance of this finding is unclear at this time. This is an enzyme that is primarily found in liver cells, although small numbers of red blood cells and striated muscle cells also contain this enzyme. Elevations of ALT occur when any of these cells are even slightly damaged. Extreme exercise, hemolysis of red blood cells, and any liver problem will result in a high ALT. There are many drugs that affect the liver which can cause this elevation. Some of these drugs are glucocorticoids, Acetaminophen (Tylenol®), non-steroidal anti-inflammatory medications (like Rimadyl® or Metacam®), antifungal medications, Methimazole, anti-seizure drugs, Tetracycline and many chemotherapy drugs. Copper Storage disease should be considered in Dobermans, Westies, and Bedlington terriers and hyperthyroidism should be considered in older cats. Some common causes of liver disease include cholangiohepatitis (an auto-immune disease of the liver), cirrhosis, feline infectious peritonitis, and malignancy. If the ALT is the only liver enzyme elevated, this value should be monitored, since it may be the first sign of emerging liver disease. An elevated ALT does not mean the liver is not functioning normally. Additional tests would need to be done to evaluate this.

I'd vote for Gracie having been playing really hard.
 
Re: 6/5 Gracie AMPS 106 +2 115 +3 106

Sienne: thanks!!! I don't think my vet considers her value to be high; yes it's outside of normal range but ALT can be really high and Gracie's is just barely not normal. I'll be interested in seeing what Gabby's looks like. In going back through Gracie's bloodwork, she has on and off been up and down on ALT so vet also thinks it may be Gracie's rendition of normal. But we are monitoring it as suggested as nothing else seems to fit anti jinx except perhaps the playing :lol:
 
Re: 6/5 Gracie AMPS 106 +2 115 +3 106

Morning guys! what a great WCR for everyone. It is great to read that all the kitties are doing well. Interesting on the ALT in Gracie's BW. No clue here what that means. All of Mannie's labs are in my sig, under the link "labs" if you want to see.

Great cycle today for Gracie too. Looks like a nice low level blue surf shaping up. Mannie has decided to continue his yellows from yesterday. sheeshhhhh. Maybe Gracie needs to come and let him know that blues are better.

Enjoy your day today - poolside sounds great. I need to tend to the yard. phhhffttttt!, but the price I pay for playing yesterday.
 
Re: 6/5 Gracie AMPS 106 +2 115 +3 106

Congratulations on the dosecrease, I'm so glad Gracie responded well and came up so you could get to bed. Everyone else is getting back to normal too. :-D :-D :-D

Mmmmmm, laying around the pool sounds great! How long will Mike be home?

Hey Gracie! We sure got their attention back where it should be last night didn't we? Tobes was so cute w/ his eyepatch and all the kittens swooned when he wore the hat and earring we got him! See you at the lagoon later, I'm back I left my board here yesterday! :o -- Tess
 
Re: 6/5 Gracie AMPS 106 +2 115 +3 106

Hi Marje, nice reports on all three kitties. Good luck on Gracie's new dose. I hope your little Tobey's eye continues to heal. I'll be thinking about Teddi when she goes to the Vetty, positive thoughts and vines for her. Enjoy the pool and don't forget lots and lots of sunscreen! Have a wonderful afternoon.
 
Re: 6/5 Gracie AMPS 106 +2 115 +3 106 +5 181

Hi Marjorie,
Nice numbers for Gracie today and congrats on the dosecrease! :-D

I am one of those nutty people that keeps both of my cat's blood work so I happen to have it right in front of me. The normal reference range for ALT falls between 10-100. Alex's ALT was high in March of 2010 at 130. It has never been high again. Since that time it has always been between 40-60. So what goes up CAN come down.

Jackson's ALT is pretty much always between 28-35 and he is not diabetic.

I just read something interesting that I thought I'd share..but first, has Gracie's thyroid been tested? Free T4? After I read what I read I went back and looked at Alex's 130 ALT blood test and hat time his hyper-t was the highest it ever was. He was totally unregulated....He was at 7.3. In May 2010 his T4 was down to 6.0(still high) and his ALT was down to 53. In June 2010 his t4 was down to 2.9 and his ALT was 42. His most recent blood work was in March (he's due) and his T4 was 2.4 ALT 40.

"ALT (Alanine Aminotransferase) or SGPT (serum glutamic-pyruvic transferase)

This is an enzyme which is largely found in muscle, the liver and the brain. It often leaks out of damaged liver cells, so is an indicator of liver disease, although it is sometimes elevated in hyperthyroidism. Cats on methimazole for hyperthyroidism may also have elevated liver enzymes and low white blood cells. Mild elevations are not normally cause for concern - one of my cats has mildly elevated ALT for years without problems. If a sample is haemolysed, ALT may be elevated."

Of course elevated ALT can be caused by liver problems and heart problems, hepatitis and lots of other stuff...but Gracie only has a 112...I doubt if she has either.

Here is a link to a page that will tell you everything about feline blood tests you ever wanted to know..and more. Hope this helps some :)
Don't get nervous about the title of the page..it is not JUST for CRF...it also explains all of the the blood tests! Just scroll down a little!


Feline Blood Tests:What they Mean
 
Re: 6/5 Gracie AMPS 106 +2 115 +3 106 +5 181

Yay Marje! What a great report on all of your babies today! Gracie is giving you some great numbers as well.

The pool is the only place to be in this heat! We sure enjoyed ours this weekend as well!
 
Re: 6/5 Gracie AMPS 106 +2 115 +3 106 +5 181

Glad the family is getting back to normal. And poolside is definitely the place to be today. Hot, Hot, Hot. Hope you wear sunscreen. :smile:

I've been amazed while watching you and Mike managing Gracie's diabetes. She is so fortunate to have such dedicated beans.
 
Re: 6/5 Gracie AMPS 106 +2 115 +3 106 +5 181

Hi Marje!!! Looks like Gracie is the one on a mission! I hope she holds this reduction and does well on it!!

Lucky duck having a pool. I have the typical Las Vegas back yard that's the size of a postage stamp!! :lol:
 
Re: 6/5 Gracie PMPS 289

Evening all....we've been MIA getting Sunday chores done and laying by the pool!! Nice!

Michelle: thanks!! I'll check his labs. She started out with a nice blue surf but popped up; after the 36 we were expecting a bounce!

Ann: she did but I got up twice last night and Mike once. And yes...glad all are getting back to normal. Mike is home all week and leaves again on Friday.

Ann: Thanks on the new dose. Paws crossed. Thanks for the positive thoughts for Teddi Bear.

Caryl: Thank you for the info. Actually, I did have Gracie's thyroid levels done and she was was the low side of normal....interesting, huh!! Vet thinks this just may be Gracie.....Thanks for the link!!! Interesting info on Alex and his ALT/thyroid.

Melissa: she is definitely doing better (anti jinx). Thanks for visiting today!

Tena: thank you!! gosh, I don't think we are any different than anyone else. It's you caregivers on your own that I am in awe of!! Sunblock...check!!

Patty: bummer on the small yard!!! We have a huge lap pool....nice but it takes a long time to get warm in the spring and I don't want to pay the $$ to heat it (it has a gas heater). It felt good today....just floating around!!

So a little bounce for Miss Gracie tonight. Maybe flat yellows...we'll see!! Hope you are all having a great evening.
 
Re: 6/5 Gracie PMPS 289

just stopping by to see how gracie and all of you are doing - great report! so glad to hear things have smoothed out a bit with the kitters. have a great evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top