6/5 Garbo AMPS 382, +6 337 - Dose Increase Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa&Garbo

Member Since 2011
Good afternoon LL!

Now that Garbo has settled down and stayed out of the danger zone, we seem to be in a regular pattern now. Unfortunately, that pattern remains solidly in the 300's. I have read the tight regulation sticky and want to know if I'm doing it right. I gave the dose of 1u for three days, 6/1 - 6/3. On the last two of those days she was solely in the 300's. So, on 6/4 I shot 1.5u. Result is that we are midway through Day 2 and she's still in the 300's. I'm pleased that she's not up and down all the time, but would like to see her move into the yellows at least. Should I continue with 1.5u for another day (total of 3 days) and then move to 2.0u on 6/7?

I just have to say that you guys are awesome. While I love our vet, she has not given us the detailed advice about dosing that FDMB members have, and does not seem as concerned as I am about crazy swings and really low numbers. Participating on the board, even as new as we are, has empowered me to make my own decisions about dosing, food and testing. I like not having to schlep Garbo to the vet's office every time I have questions. Also, I'll be darned if I'm going to pay $30 for an ear pokey! :roll:
 
Re: 6/5 Garbo AMPS 382, +6 337 - Dose Reduction Question

Hi Melissa!!! I'm not a dosing advisor but I think you should give her three more cycles at this dose per the protocol and then see what she is doing. Some times kitties take a while to settle into a dose and if Garbo is one of those, you might not see any real changes until she's at six cycles and then they can take off!! I don't think I'd be too worried about increasing her until you get those six cycles under your belt and see what she does. That's IMHO but it's probably good to have one of the experienced folks give you some input. Have a great day!
 
Re: 6/5 Garbo AMPS 382, +6 337 - Dose Reduction Question

I would love to see if you could get more than one spot check per cycle. A mini-curve (testing every 3 hours) would be very helpful. In addition, you really need to get at the minimum, a before bed spot check every night. With the limited PM tests you have, you're already seeing that Garbo's numbers are a little lower at night. Many cats do experience lower numbers during the PM cycle. And, without those tests, you're missing half of your data. More importantly, I would not increase by 0.5u without having PM spot checks. Since Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, you have no idea whether you are increasing by more than is necessary.
 
Re: 6/5 Garbo AMPS 382, +6 337 - Dose Reduction Question

Thank you both! I just realized the subject line says 'dose reduction' when in reality I meant 'dose increase'. :oops: I'll change it on the original post.

My work schedule has been erratic lately, which accounts for the dearth of daytime tests. :sad: But, I can definitely work on getting bedtime tests. :smile: On the mini-curve, are we talking tests every 3 hours for 24 hours, or every 3 hours for 12 hours? Both are doable, but would need to be scheduled on my day off. I certainly don't want to rush the increase, especially since last time we did her readings were all over the map.
 
Re: 6/5 Garbo AMPS 382, +6 337 - Dose Reduction Question

Please don't test over 24 hours!! You need to sleep. I'm a confirmed testaholic and I don't test for a 24 hour period!!

Basically, you want to vary when you test, schedule permitting, so you eventually get most of the hours on your SS covered. However, life intervenes and things like work and family place their own demands. Just do what you can so you feel like you are able to make good decisions about dose.

I do tend to think that Garbo needs an increase. However, I'd be more comfortable saying that if you can get some tests in tonight. There is always the possibility that she's dropping lower during the PM cycle and bouncing a bit during the day.
 
Sienne: I am relieved that we are not talking 24 hours. I get cranky when I don't get enough sleep! :lol: We can DEFINITELY do a mini curve this week when I work from home or am off. I'd like to get in as many readings as possible so that we can get a better picture of what is going on. Thanks again!
 
Welcome Melissa & Garbo! You are in the best possible place for advice. We are still pretty new so I can't give you much in that department. However, I have just spent the last 24 hours testing and I would say don't do it! :lol: Tarragon is glad it is over and so am I. The only reason I did it was that Tarragon was throwing some lower numbers than usual and I have a hard time getting a curve in during the week.

Welcome again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top