6/5-Fluffy+2 75.6,+2.5 52, +3 86, +4 104, +5 112, +6 130

Status
Not open for further replies.

lynngaut

Member Since 2012
Morning all,

Here's yesterday's condo Fluffy June 4

He was in the blues most of yesterday and this morning he's lower than he usually is. Both of us are a little nervous to shoot the full 1u so I think I'm going to feed and test again and see if he comes up a bit.

Should we give the full dose?
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160 - give full dose?

When you stall and retest, you don't feed, because that will force the BGs to go higher. You want a test that is not influenced by food.
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160 - give full dose?

I think you can go ahead and shoot the full dose, if you are going to be around to monitor and have supplies (HC, strips, etc). You shot the 176 two days ago and Fluffy did fine. I have to leave for work, so can not be here for you, so unless someone else comes along to help you, I would go with what makes you feel comfortable.
If you have to leave to go to work, then leave extra food out for Fluffy to munch on during the day.
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160 - give full dose?

If you shoot, start with a +1 and a +2, and post your numbers in your 1st Subject Line, so others can help you.
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160 - give full dose?

Dyana said:
When you stall and retest, you don't feed, because that will force the BGs to go higher. You want a test that is not influenced by food.

Oh dear. I was following the FAQs and fed as usual but what you're saying makes sense. So I've fed him his normal breakfast. DH will be here till +4 and I can come home for +6 but there will be those 2 hours where he'll be alone. We can leave out HC food if needed. Maybe I'm being overly cautious and should just give him his usual dose?
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160 - give full dose?

I think, if you're going to be around, you can give him his usual dose, and test and post your numbers.

I have to go.... sorry.
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160 - give full dose?

Dyana said:
If you shoot, start with a +1 and a +2, and post your numbers in your 1st Subject Line, so others can help you.

Ok Dyana, thanks for your help. That's what I'll do.
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160, +1 124, +2 75.6

Dave here...

just tested at 52 at +2.5....

starting to get worried.

Thoughts or advice anyone????

I have fed him a Tbsp of gravy food, and he is showing no symptoms of hypo. Gonna test again in 15 mins and see where he is at.
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160, +1 124, +2 75.6,+2.5 52.. Help ple

I would give 2 tsp of gravy from high carb food and test again in 20 minutes.

No worries, this is a safe number, but we do want to put on the brakes. The gravy should do that.

I'm at work and will try to check back in, but in case I can't, please read the following information on dealing with low numbers. It will walk you through what to do.

Dealing With Low Numbers
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160, +1 124, +2 75.6,+2.5 52.. Help ple

Hi guys, good plan of action .. feed a small amount, don't get carried away in case you have to do several small feedings .. retest in about 15 minutes, then post your numbers and we'll see what we need to do .. Hopefully the HC brings up fluffy enough to surf but if not, remember you ARE in charge of these numbers .. they are scary at first but we are here to help get you through it!
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160, +1 124, +2 75.6,+2.5 52.. Help ple

Thanks so much guys!

I'm gonna test him in about 5 minutes and post the results.

I'll tell you though... he went to town when I opened the food. I gave him about a TBSP and a half and he just inhaled it. Now he is back to resting and purring his little head off. :)
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160, +1 124, +2 75.6,+2.5 52.. Help ple

:-D It always seems like we are the ones panicking and stressing while our kitties could care less!
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160, +1 124, +2 75.6,+2.5 52.. Help ple

Hey, Dave!! It looks like you're in charge of the AM excitement.

You want to check on Fluffy's numbers every 30 min. When numbers start to run low, a bit of caution is better than being caught by surprise. You'll want to test, feed and repeat every 30 min. until you see numbers are rising, preferably without benefit of food. Right now, it's a matter of steering the numbers with food.
[quote="Handling Low Numbers" info]
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.[/quote]

The text that's in bold is what applies for right now.

I'm at work, as well. I'll try to check back in.
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160, +1 124, +2 75.6,+2.5 52.. Help ple

Dave,
Lucy here. Just want you to know I'm following along. I think you are doing great. Don't panic. You are in expert hands.
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160, +1 124, +2 75.6,+2.5 52.. Help ple

You guys are so awesome.

I really appreciate all the help. This is very new to me and having all of this advice is so reassuring.


I'm gonna keep an eye on him and test every half hour.

Thanks again everyone. Its very much appreciated.

Dave
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160, +1 124, +2 75.6,+2.5 52, +3 86

you're doing great! Just follow the advice and be confident in yourself that you are in charge .. Fluffy, be good!!
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160, +1 124, +2 75.6,+2.5 52, +3 86

Just did my second test after feeding.... now at 97.

Feeling a little better about this now.


For some reason; he seems A LOT more relaxed about the situation than I do, lol. ;-)
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160, +1 124, +2 75.6,+2.5 52, +3 86

That's a beautiful number .. keep testing as needed but hold off on the feeding I think, until you can see if fluffy will just surf for you!
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160, +1 124, +2 75.6,+2.5 52, +3 86

PeterDevonMocha said:
That's a beautiful number .. keep testing as needed but hold off on the feeding I think, until you can see if fluffy will just surf for you!


Thanks... No more food for this guy. Hoping for a happy surfin' kitty with the next test.


Who knew cats could surf. :lol:


Really appreciate all of the help and advice. It makes this so much easier.

D
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160, +1 124, +2 75.6,+2.5 52, +3 86

Good plan.

Of course Fluffy's not stressed. He's getting the "forbidden" HC food. How stressed would you be if someone was asking you to to eat your favorite treat?
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160, +1 124, +2 75.6,+2.5 52, +3 86

Sienne and Gabby said:
Good plan.

Of course Fluffy's not stressed. He's getting the "forbidden" HC food. How stressed would you be if someone was asking you to to eat your favorite treat?


Good point. I feel the same way about pizza. :smile:
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160, +1 124, +2 75.6,+2.5 52, +3 86

Hi Dave

Great job! I would be sure and write on his SS what you gave him and when so you Will know in the future what works for him. You can give him an hour and then retest. Since he probably has not hit his nadir yet, we want to be sure the carbs don't wear off and he comes back down. I'll check back in with you in 30 mins which ai believe will be an hour since your last test.
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy AMPS 160, +1 124, +2 75.6,+2.5 52, +3 86

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Hi Dave

Great job! I would be sure and write on his SS what you gave him and when so you Will know in the future what works for him. You can give him an hour and then retest. Since he probably has not hit his nadir yet, we want to be sure the carbs don't wear off and he comes back down. I'll check back in with you in 30 mins which ai believe will be an hour since your last test.

Hi Marje,
Shift change, Lynn here. I'm updating the SS now with today's events and trying to figure out how to add the half hour assessments to each cell and keep the cell green. Googledocs is not cooperating with me. :-D
 
Re: 6/5-Fluffy+1 124, +2 75.6,+2.5 52, +3 86, +4 104, +5 112

Nice +5. Thanks Lynn. I've also been having issues with my SS coloring correctly? It's just been recently. For the half hour tests, just put them in the same block as the hour test. So in the +2 box, put "75; 52 @ 2.5". In a perfect google world, it should color them green.

How about another test in one hour to see where his nadir is? I'll be back then . Thans Lynn.
 
THanks for your help today, everyone.
His +5 and +6 are still lower than yesterday's numbers, even with the 1.5tbsps of HC food. I'm thinking he might need a dose reduction so that we don't have these quick scary dips from +2-4.
 
Lynn

I understand your concern but he didn't earn a reduction and he came right up with the food. The better thing to do is to feed him early to try and catch the drop before it happens. His cycle today was really nice. Many members are dealing with or have dealt with the same issue (including me when Grace was on lantus). It just takes a little experimentation to figure out when to feed to control the drop so it smooths out w bit.

The first few times they go low, it is scary. But you are in control because you are testing and you have food to bring him up. A good, deep breath helps. He's been in lovely, safe numbers all morning.
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
I understand your concern but he didn't earn a reduction and he came right up with the food. The better thing to do is to feed him early to try and catch the drop before it happens. His cycle today was really nice. .

Is the criteria for earning the reduction a dip below 50? Are there other criteria?
One of my concerns is that one day we're both going to have to be at work and won't be home to catch him in time. He went from 124 to 52 in an hour and a half and it's starting to look like each PS BG value is lower than the last PS BG value. If Dave hadn't caught the 52 at +2.5 and intervened, it seems likely he would have continued to drop at least until +5, although we don't know how much that drop would have been because I don't have that data for this guy. Also, his blue surf today seems to be a bit lower than his blue surf from yesterday, even with the 22.5ml HC food.
This is all so new to both of us, so your expertise is really helping us to understand how to manage this. I just don't want him to be alone if this happens again.
 
From the TR Protocol:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose. Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

Under the Start Low Go Slow protocol, reductions are given when kitty goes below 90.

What most members do who work is be sure they can get a +1 and +2 before they leave. If the +2 is higher than the PS, then numbers will likely not drop. If the +2 is similar to the PS, then a typical lantus cycle will most likely occur (see below) and so you might want to leave him food in an auto feeder if you can't be there. If, like today, the +2 is much less than the PS, you will likely see a similar cycle as today...very active. You could leave HC food out or perhaps one of you could get home at some point (lunch) to check him.

Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

One thing is that you can't necessarily use one cycle to predict what the next one the next day will look like. Yes...as they settle into a dose, you would expect to see numbers getting better (ie lower) but it doesn't necessarily always happen that way especially if the kitty is a bouncer. He took a big dive today and I wouldn't be surprised if he bounces right back up.

I'd like you to read this info on glucose toxicity....it makes a very good case for keeping kitty in normal numbers as much as you can: Glucose Toxicity

BUT, the bottom line is Fluffy is your cat and you control the syringe AND he needs to stay safe. Some of our members have taken the dose down to one they can shoot safely twice a day. You and Dave know your own situation and have to make the best decision for your family as a whole.
 
Thanks for this info, Marje. It's really helpful.

I have a kind of dumb question, though. In both protocols, are those cutoff values of <40 or <50 for TR or <90 for start low go slow meant to be anywhere in the cycle?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top