6/5 FAX PMPS 355 +3 124 +4 92 +5 77 IS THIS OK?

Status
Not open for further replies.

roisin and fax

Member Since 2011
Good morning everyone,
A higher AMPS this morning but as I said, last night I think he managed to acquire some bbq contraband.
Wondering if its time to increase up to 5.5u of insulin?
 
Re: 6/5 FAX AMPS 380 time to increase dose?

Please, please, pretty please get PM spot checks!! Even just a before bed check will help. I know I say this all the time but if you don't get any tests during the PM cycle, you're missing half of your data.
 
Re: 6/5 FAX AMPS 380 time to increase dose?

let's see where he goes today. Usually when the cat starts seeing blue, we slow down the increases to 10 cycles, and today will be cycle 10. It looks to me like you probably have room for an increase, unless he surprises us today. Sienne is right, though. Now that he is getting some lower numbers, the PM checks are more important than ever.
 
Re: 6/5 FAX AMPS 380 time to increase dose?

Hi Sienne -
I did a night check last night (319) - I use the world spread sheet and for some reason last night it didn't fill in the US side of things! I will have to start double checking that side gets filled in as well.
I'm pretty sure it was higher last night due to scavenging after a bbq - we did our best to keep him out of things but I think he got hold of a stray chip or something.
 
Re: 6/5 FAX AMPS 380 time to increase dose?

Hi Roisin,

What Sienne and LIbby mean is that you need more than one check during the night. One test doesn't give you enough information.

Have a great Sunday.
 
Re: 6/5 FAX AMPS 380 time to increase dose?

Honestly, I'd be happy with one check -- provided that the data doesn't tell you that Fax's numbers need to be monitored further.

I saw you're note about Fax maybe having found contraband! Sneaky kitty. You might want to put a note about it on your SS. It can be very helpful to know why numbers fall out of a pattern. It's the same as with fur shots -- any info that may effect why numbers are they way they are is useful.
 
Re: 6/5 FAX AMPS 380 +3.5 319 +7 311 time to increase dose?

Not a whole lot happening with Faxy's numbers today.
Should I increase up to 5.5u for tonights dose or wait until after the 10th cycle @ 5.25u?
 
Re: 6/5 FAX AMPS 380 +3.5 319 +7 311 time to increase dose?

Roisin: no dose advice here but they may want to see how the day continues to progress....he could possibly be trying to break a bounce so I bet the best dose advice will come after they see a +10 or +11. Sometimes, if they are breaking a bounce, they can really drop at the end of a cycle. Not saying this is what Fax is doing but no one knows right now. Have a great day!
 
Re: 6/5 FAX AMPS 380 +10 328 time to increase dose?

Feeling frustrated today again - am I doing something wrong? Back to all day pinks and hungry kitty...
 
Re: 6/5 FAX AMPS 380 +10 328 time to increase dose?

You're not doing anything wrong. Sometimes, you see a dose start to make a change, and then it's like your kitty just says, "Nevermind." With the flat pink cycle today, I think you're fine to increase to 5.5u.
 
Re: 6/5 FAX PMPS 355

Thanks for the encouragement, Sienne!
I upped the dose to 5.5units at night feed today.
We'll see how he does with that - fingers and toes are crossed!!
 
Re: 6/5 FAX PMPS 355

oh i know what you mean. you think you're doing everything by the book and somehow they aren't responding like you hope, or they stopped responding like they were before.

glad sienne was able to stop by and answer your Q. i hope this is a better dose that fax will respond to - let's get outta those pinks & reds, boy!
 
Re: 6/5 FAX PMPS 355 +3 124 IS THIS OK?

hello -
i just did a PM +3 test on Fax and his numbers are much lower than before - i hope someone is still up that can reassure me that this is ok for it to have gone down that much in 3 hours?
this was the first cycle to increase up to 5.5 units

thank you
 
Re: 6/5 FAX PMPS 355 +3 124 IS THIS OK?

thanks for replying Laurie.
ok - i will do a +4 - i know these are numbers that should be making me happy but such a drop in a short time really freaked me out!! not to mention i haven't gotten anything that low since the relapse. if the +4 isn't too different will it be safe to go to bed?
he seems in good spirits and even asked to go outside a couple of hours ago (something he hasn't done in a couple of months).
 
Re: 6/5 FAX PMPS 355 +3 124 IS THIS OK?

Sorry...I hit submit and forgot to add...please give him some LC food now, let's see if that will slow him down a bit.
 
Re: 6/5 FAX PMPS 355 +3 124 IS THIS OK?

It's hard to say if he will cooperate and let you go to bed after the +4, we'll have to see what happens. If you are nervous, you can always test at +3.5.

I suspect that he is clearing a bounce at the same time you increased the dose. I don't think this is just from the increase itself.
 
Re: 6/5 FAX PMPS 355 +3 124 IS THIS OK?

how exciting roisin! how did that +4 go?

someone's likely on for at least a couple more hours, but in case you ever need it, the link on how to handle low numbers is in my signature line. i put it there so i'd always be able to find it if i need it. a bit like sticking a post-it note onto your forehead so you won't miss it. ;-) you might want to take a look at it and bookmark it for yourself. low numbers = under 50, just so you know. fax is in great shape now, but he probably has a few hours to go til his nadir. you might be up a while.

we call that a pajama party! :lol: fortunately there's usually someone on doing the same thing to commiserate with!
 
Re: 6/5 FAX PMPS 355 +3 124 +4 92 IS THIS OK?

+4 is at 92
still purring and sleeping in his favourite chair - wondering most likely why i'm keeping him up!
 
Re: 6/5 FAX PMPS 355 +3 124 +4 92 IS THIS OK?

...and if you can't find it in Julie's signature, it's in red in mine! :lol: When you have time, I would print it out so you have it on hand.

I see the 92, nice! I'd give him a little more LC food and test at +5. When I say a little, I mean a tsp or two, not a half a can...you don't want to give too much, he might get full and refuse to eat when you really need him to!
 
+5 is at 77
what do i do now? are these numbers dropping too fast or is this ok? as i said - i'm not used to these green numbers!
 
It looks like he is slowing down gradually, it's fine. I'd give another bit of LC and test in another hour. He's getting close to nadir, and he is in nice safe numbers. You don't need to give higher carb food unless he goes below 50. Looking great!
 
Laurie - thank you so much for your guidance and advice - i was near panic when i took that PM +3 reading - its never dropped that much in such a short time.
even though fax is not so thrilled with me keeping him up so late he's not complaining about the extra spoons of food!
 
We all have been there! Someone was there to help me, I'm just paying it forward...no worries! You are doing great!

I gotta tell you though...the first time I saw really low numbers (30s), there was no one on FDMB, and I did panic and dumped a whole can of HC in front of Mr Tinkles! :lol: :lol: :lol: So don't feel bad about panicking a little....you'll get used to the lower numbers. :smile:
 
i don't know if laurie is still on or not. i can't tell from your spreadsheet when fax's nadir usually is. from all the testing, i know about when punkin's nadir is, but i can't tell on fax.

the general rule of thumb is that you want to see 2 rising numbers if you're concerned about them going too low. the standard of a "low" number is less than 50. if you think he might still go lower, you can set an alarm and get up in 30 minutes to test him.

are you doing ok?
 
Roisin,

I'm guessing you fell asleep...I need to get some sleep myself. If Fax is low when you wake up, post for help here, or on Health if no one is here to help you. If you can't find anyone to help, there's a link in my signature (in red) for a post on how to handle low numbers. It's a good one to print out and keep handy. I'll check on you in the morning....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top