6/5 Eleanor AMPS 263 +3 270 +6 279 PMPS 286 Frustrated

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-268-3-5-254-6-5-251-pmps-241-3-279.158911/

I'm really feeling frustrated. She just seems to always be way too high, or dropping to "reduce" numbers.
Shot through the bounce AM after the drop to 74, then reduced dose to 2.5 PM 6/3.
AM 6/4 she jumped away as I was injecting, I couldn't find any wet on her fur and she didn't smell, but I left the room and when I went back in minutes later, the room smelled strongly of Lantus. Oh boy. I figured she got about 1/2 dose.

Today's PM dose she would not eat, which means she is not distracted, that almost guarantees she's going to get away from me mid shot. So I shot in the scruff, due to loose skin it is easier to tent and shoot quickly. I did get the full shot into her before she
realised. I hope the insulin absorbs, I just figured it was either the scruff or another
furshot.
 
Good decision to shoot in the scruff. I hope she decides to eat her dinner, now.
If bounces take 3 days to clear, hopefully she'll have some better numbers tomorrow.
 
Hi Julie,
There's nothing wrong with shooting in the scruff. If that's where it is most comfortable and most convenient and where it produces fewer fur shots, then that's where you should shoot. I have always shot Rusty in the scruff because his hair is so long. I learned early on that I would never be able to find skin consistently in the other places. Some people think it makes a difference where you shoot, but I think that the most important thing is to get the insulin in.

A fur shot is just a temporary bump in the road. Every time I give one I put a dollar in a little basket. When I have enough for a good bottle of wine, I go shopping.

Have a good evening with less frustration,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. those flat yellow numbers are often indicative of an active cycle to follow. Keep an eye out!
 
Hi Julie,
There's nothing wrong with shooting in the scruff. If that's where it is most comfortable and most convenient and where it produces fewer fur shots, then that's where you should shoot. I have always shot Rusty in the scruff because his hair is so long. I learned early on that I would never be able to find skin consistently in the other places. Some people think it makes a difference where you shoot, but I think that the most important thing is to get the insulin in.

A fur shot is just a temporary bump in the road. Every time I give one I put a dollar in a little basket. When I have enough for a good bottle of wine, I go shopping.

Have a good evening with less frustration,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. those flat yellow numbers are often indicative of an active cycle to follow. Keep an eye out!

Her +6 is 202 so the scruff worked just fine. I was told starting out not to shoot in the scruff. It sure is quicker! She's gotten so darned jumpy...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top