6/5 Dyson AMPS 494 +2 494 +4 457 +6 376 +9 315

kthondragon

Member
Previous 6/4 Thread
Due to scheduling stuff, had to do a +2 and +4 but not +3 today.
Haven't spoken with the vet yet, but looking at the number trajectory, is it possible we've gone past what would have been his right dose? Like, he did well on 5.5 and the first half of 6... but since we moved to 6.5 he's done horribly.
Is it worth reducing the dose while we also talk to the vet regarding the other possible diagnoses?
 
is it possible we've gone past what would have been his right dose?
This ranks as one of the most common questions asked. I know I did. If you started at a safe dose (you did), you increased by safe amounts (you did), you tested enough to have an idea how low the dose was taking kitty before increasing (you did), then you did not bypass the good dose.

The first part of 6 units looked quite good, getting to the low blues (105). Then he bounced, or did what I used to call "the dose going stale". What dose used to work no longer does. That's a classic sign of insulin resistance, especially combined with the fact that he's now 6 units and above.

It also possible he's bouncing in combo. I don't see a second test the PM cycle of the 3rd. The AM of the 4th looks like a classic start to a bounce (a trajectory going up and up).

Mixing up the tests occasionally is a good idea. At some point it's good to get tests at all the "+" times. A couple +1 tests will tell you how much of a numbers bump he gets from food. That's a good one to have when that day comes when you'll be faced with a green preshot. Mixing up early tests will tell you when onset is or when the Lantus kicks in. He's not super consistent on nadirs yet, later nadirs can be a thing, or just a sign a bounce is breaking.
 
Previous 6/4 Thread
Due to scheduling stuff, had to do a +2 and +4 but not +3 today.
Haven't spoken with the vet yet, but looking at the number trajectory, is it possible we've gone past what would have been his right dose? Like, he did well on 5.5 and the first half of 6... but since we moved to 6.5 he's done horribly.
Is it worth reducing the dose while we also talk to the vet regarding the other possible diagnoses?
My husband and I had the same thought (I've changed idea, however, so I understand where you're coming from) - my cat seemed to have done well at 5.5u so why not go back down?

In reading other's posts/responses (and help from @Wendy&Neko) it doesn't really make sense that a higher dose would cause higher numbers - it should cause maybe too low of numbers. Please, tell me if I'm wrong!

I think it's another bounce. My husband jokes and says "isn't Puddin always bouncing?!" Well, maybe...or there's an underlying issue, too.

I just called my vet today to ask about getting Acromegaly and IAA testing - they said it would be about $500, just FYI might be the same at your vet.

Anyways, I'm no expert in any of this but I find we are in a similar situation as I follow Dyson's progress.

We will get our cat tested for these other diseases next week so I might have some insight for you if it's of interest to you.
 
This ranks as one of the most common questions asked. I know I did. If you started at a safe dose (you did), you increased by safe amounts (you did), you tested enough to have an idea how low the dose was taking kitty before increasing (you did), then you did not bypass the good dose.

The first part of 6 units looked quite good, getting to the low blues (105). Then he bounced, or did what I used to call "the dose going stale". What dose used to work no longer does. That's a classic sign of insulin resistance, especially combined with the fact that he's now 6 units and above.

It also possible he's bouncing in combo. I don't see a second test the PM cycle of the 3rd. The AM of the 4th looks like a classic start to a bounce (a trajectory going up and up).

Mixing up the tests occasionally is a good idea. At some point it's good to get tests at all the "+" times. A couple +1 tests will tell you how much of a numbers bump he gets from food. That's a good one to have when that day comes when you'll be faced with a green preshot. Mixing up early tests will tell you when onset is or when the Lantus kicks in. He's not super consistent on nadirs yet, later nadirs can be a thing, or just a sign a bounce is breaking.
Thank you.
We did get a PM test done the other night, I just forgot to write it down and we keep forgetting to pull it off the tester to add to the spreadsheet.
I still need to talk to the vet, but knowing that it's vastly unlikely we messed up by going too far in dosage makes me feel a lot better.
And that is a very good point about the testing... we will have to keep that in mind for a few days of testing.
 
My husband and I had the same thought (I've changed idea, however, so I understand where you're coming from) - my cat seemed to have done well at 5.5u so why not go back down?

In reading other's posts/responses (and help from @Wendy&Neko) it doesn't really make sense that a higher dose would cause higher numbers - it should cause maybe too low of numbers. Please, tell me if I'm wrong!

I think it's another bounce. My husband jokes and says "isn't Puddin always bouncing?!" Well, maybe...or there's an underlying issue, too.

I just called my vet today to ask about getting Acromegaly and IAA testing - they said it would be about $500, just FYI might be the same at your vet.

Anyways, I'm no expert in any of this but I find we are in a similar situation as I follow Dyson's progress.

We will get our cat tested for these other diseases next week so I might have some insight for you if it's of interest to you.
Definitely interested. And good to know we really aren't all alone in this boat with Dyson.
I know when we started, there was worry about pancreatitis or bile duct issues or liver issues... but a lot of that was a "maybe?" as opposed to an "it's likely."
I plan on calling the vet tomorrow to see if she'll get me some pricing on the tests at least.
 
Ask the vet if they go through Idexx for the testing (extra $$$$) or have an account with MSU themselves. Cost is blood draw, MSU costs of $94, plus shipping and vet markup. Seems vets are charging more for this now, and I don't know if it's because they are using Idexx. We've had the odd member do it themselves. One recently because Idexx lost the package. :banghead:
MSU VDL testing instructions for IGF-1 and IAA
Note, MSU prices have gone up a bit since what is quoted a year ago in that post, I looked up the current prices just now.


As far as higher doses giving you higher numbers, that's because higher doses are causing lower numbers than he's used to and the resulting bounces are higher.
 
Back
Top