6/5 Daphne AMPS 157, PMPS 126

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daphne#5 GA

Member Since 2011
yesterday http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72473

I hate to say it, but Daphne is giving me no choice but to put a hair onto her dose. Maybe she will read this and do what I want her to :lol:

I'm keeping things as is until next week though. Its almost like she needs just a nudge with those AMPS and PMPS, but looking at her SS, I know this dose is not as good as it can be. :sad: I'm not going to be able to deal with low 50 numbers though, my health just can't do it… it went down hill too fast and I can't keep going, or she won't have a mommy bean.

I'm going to try some little things like giving less food, she really is a bit overweight, maybe a pound would be good. Does anyone know how much kitties can lose without hurting their liver? She is 15.2 now.

Sending healing vines to all the kitties and beans who may need them today.
 
Re: 6/5 Daphne 157 small question on weight

I would read Dr. Lisa's page on feline obesity. I think she states 1% to @5 weight loss per week. So that means you must monitor weight and adjust the calories frequently. Alway determine the amount of food given to a cat by calories, not amount of food. Different foods have very differernt calorie content for the same quantity.
 
Re: 6/5 Daphne 157 small question on weight

Thanks Ann!

OK, so after all the calculations I did, I think I'm supposed to give her 1oz. less per can, and she eats about 1 can a day. I split it into about 6 servings. I don't weigh her food, so I guess I will start, or I can just see what 1oz looks like, (maybe a tsp. or so), and give that amount less. It comes out to about 167 cal. per day instead of 209, so it's not a lot, hope she won't notice. :lol: And I guess she is not supposed to lose more then 1% a week. Oh brother, I need my husbands brain for this one. :?

Strange that the can says to feed one can per 7lbs of body weight! If I used that calculation Daphne would be eating 3 cans of food a day! :shock: I guess thats how they sell lots of food, and lots of fat kitties around.
 
Re: 6/5 Daphne 157 small question on weight

Barb, good luck on the food and Daphne losing some fluffiness! It sounds like you have a good scientific mind there figuring it out! Thanks for the info yesterday in your condo on sleep and lowering the light with reference to the melatonin. Good luck when you raise her dose a hair. Sometimes a threat works and you might just have your lower numbers from Daphne reading her condo. Scritches to Daphne.
 
Thanks Ann, yup, I hope she reads it, cause I mean business, but I just hope she skips the part that she will get less food. :o I'm sure she will not be happy, she just loves to eat!
 
Good evening Barb and Daphne! Thanks for stopping by today. Maybe she did take your threat seriously, Barb?
I had to cover Munchkin's eyes when we got to the food reduction. She's laying on my hands as I type and reading with me.
We're hoping Daphne has a lovely green cycle tonight!
 
She's laying on my hands as I type
Awwww that sounds so sweet. I wish Daphne would be a lap cat or at least be able to jump on the desk with me. I miss that, all my other kitties did that.
 
Big healing hugs for you! I hope you get to feeling better. I know how rough that can be so take care of yourself! Daphne is looking great!
 
Barb, thinking of you tonight and wishing you lots of feel better vines. I hope that is appropriate, with being so new we don't know everyone history. Scritches to Daphne also.
Get some rest and take care!

**I got a chance to read your profile. Very sorry to hear of your health issues Barb. That's a lot to handle. I know someone with a few of the same issues. Thank you again for stopping by today!
 
Thanks Melissa, I just take one day at a time with myself and I guess the same for Daphne, she really has been an easy kitty.

Thanks Helen, I do what I can and then I just have to stop. I tried to get around tonight to some kitties and missed a lot, I hate to not know how everyone is.

TRPM, yes, it's a lot, but like I said, I do what I can, and I do push myself to the limits most days, and then I have to just give up. I gave myself a break for a few days and have been sleeping a bit more and that always helps. Thanks for your kind words.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top