Catia:
Let me see if I can help you sort out dosing with SLGS. The idea here is that the dose typically needs to be adjusted either because your cat's numbers are higher than desirable (they are not in a blood glucose range that is normal for a cat) or they drop lower than desirable. Normal blood glucose (BG) is 50 - 120. Thus, with SLGS:
- you reduce the dose if numbers fall below 90.
- you increase the dose if numbers are over 150 for a week
If numbers are hanging out between 90 - 150, you want to keep the dose the same.
All dose changes are in 0.25u increments -- you increase or decrease by 0.25u.
Looking at Poopers' spreadsheet, on 5/28 you would have reduced the dose because you had a PMPS of 85, the same on 5/22. On both of those dates, it would have been wise to get a few more tests. As an example of why it helps to get more tests, on 5/17, you had a PMPS of 76 and Poopers' numbers kept dropping. There's a reasonable chance that the same thing happened on the other days where his pre-shot number was green. Getting more tests allows you to intervene if the numbers are getting too low. Currently, you've been at the same 0.5u dose for quite some time. It's been over a week at this dose. Like Elise suggested, since you've been at this dose for over a week, it's time to increase.
I'd also strongly encourage you to try to get at least 4 tests every day. You're great at getting your pre-shot tests. Are you able to get another test during both the AM and PM cycles? With Lantus, your dosing decision are based on how low the numbers go. For most cats the lowest point in the cycle is around +6. Without having much more information about how the dose is affecting Poopers' numbers, it's hard to make a decision about increasing or decreasing the dose.
There's a good chance that Poopers is losing weight because his numbers are not regulated -- he's not in normal BG numbers. It's the nature of diabetes that cats are hungry and lose weight if they are not regulated since it's insulin that allows nutrition to get into the cells. It's really OK to feed Poopers more so he gains weight back. As he spends more time in better numbers, his appetite will decrease.