6/5/10 Nay AMPS 75, PMPS 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Traveling Cats

Member Since 2010
yesterday

This morning I shot a 75. Since it's a morning shot I feel a teensy bit better about it than I would shooting this low at night. I don't mean to sound so snippy sometimes on this board because I do know everyone is trying to help. I think I am in such an unusual situation that it's hard for people to understand that I don't have any physical support in this. We don't have a vet. We're in a strange town all the time so even if we are lucky enough to find a vet s/he will only be available during office hours. There is no emergency clinic usually for hundreds of miles.

For most cats on this board, if he goes into hypo and can't be pulled out with food he can be rushed to the emergency clinic. If my cat goes into serious hypo he will most likely die before we can find treatment. :YMSIGH:

I know everyone is trying to help and I am very grateful that I found this board! I know that without you guys help we would still be unregulated and Nay would still be miserable with BGs in the 400s and 500s. We couldn't have gotten here without your constant advice and encouragement!
I intend to change the program a little to adjust the plan to the situation. Now that we are seeing numbers that are consistently in the normal range for a non-diabetic cat I am going to start decreasing doses without waiting for him to dip below 50. Hopefully he'll keep racing down the hill and this will work. If his BG goes back up into diabetic range (> 120) then I'll increase insulin again.
I value your advice and input and will continue to post daily! :YMHUG:

Thanks,
Melissa
 
Re: 6/5/10 Nay AMPS 75

Melissa, just remember that the shed needs several cycles to fill and to empty, so the numbers you are seeing are not necessarily the ones you will see in a day or two on the same dose. ECID and you know your cat best, good luck.
 
Re: 6/5/10 Nay AMPS 75

Hi Melissa! Sounds like you are careful and loving mama to Nay. Your situation is unique and you need to do what is best for Nay. I love seeing all those greens on your SS these past few days, this looks very very good! In my opinion you guys are on a good path for your kitty. If you have to be very careful about not letting Nay get too low, I totally get that. Using the HC food is always a way to increase the numbers but if you want to be conservative, then that is best for you both. I have to say I was pretty conservative with my cat during the run down the dosing scale and we did fine.

There is no ONE way for all cats and for all owners. In the past couple of years I've been here, I've never read of anyone with a situation like yours! You are doing fine.

P.S. I enjoy reading your travel blog too!
 
Re: 6/5/10 Nay AMPS 75

Nay is still in the greens! We did test at 92 today which had me second guess for a second. I think both cats are stressed by the heat here. Its in the mid-90's and we have no AC plus they still have winter coats from the northern states. We've gone from highs in the low 70s only 2 weeks ago to the 90's here. But he came back down once it got cooler outside. PMPS = 77.
In other news I just got hired for a State Park camp host volunteer position so we'll be near Kanab, UT for 6 weeks! Once we move into the park we'll have full hookups and AC so that will make us all happy! :-D
 
Nice! I wouldn't doubt that the heat is playing a stressing role. It's nice that Nay and his fur-brother have taken to RV life, just like you two.

If you end up back near L.A. (I know, probably your favorite!) we'll cook for 'ya!
 
I only want to caution you about going down the dosing scale too fast. You are having good numbers and want it to continue. Just be conservative with how quickly you decrease the dose and the amount.

Remember you can always shave a little off a dose and call it a fat or skinny. While yes, you are microdosing, the thing is the longer you keep Nay on insulin, the better it allows her pancreas to heal and function properly. moving too quickly one way or other can mess with the success you have.

I do predict, that you will be off insulin sooner rather than later, and in order to maintain it, you want to give as much support to MR. P as possible.

Yes, you have a balancing act, because you have no other support system and we all get that. The good thing though, is you can control her BG's with food and as long as you are well stocked, you can manage this.

Hope this makes sense and can't wait for the start of her trial and party!
 
Very nice numbers! I hear you about the heat, we were in the 90s here too, very unusual for us. The timing is terrible since I'm going out the the desert camping tomorrow. It's supposed to be 112 in Baker. :shock:

I'll offer another stop in CA too, a little further up the coast. Anytime!
 
good luck with the dosecrease!

Now that Nay is on a teeny weeny dose, I want you to do a little experiment. It's pretty much impossible to hypo on such a tiny dose of insulin (some say impossible, but I don't like to make things that concrete). Next time Nay's numbers start to drop, instead of bringing out the HC food, first try 2 tsp of regular LC wet food. Test again in 1/2 hour to see if that slowed the drop and started him surfing. You'll probably see that it does. 0.1u is so different than the 1.5u you're used to, it's so little insulin and easy to overcome with food.

Once I learned that Lucy could surf 50's on low carb food, which is what I always left out for her anyway, I felt a lot more comfortable about going out. I was able to test less, and life was good. Lucy even liked to surf the 40's, which freaked me out at first until I realized that she was fine and that her regular food was keeping her there and not letting her drop further.

The goal at this point is to keep Nay on that little drop of insulin for a while, hopefully 7 full days of green and low blue, before stopping insulin. That will give his pancreas maximum healing time before making it do the job alone.

Yay, Nay is doing so well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top