6/4 Tiki AMPS 284, +8 43, PMPS 109, +5 249,

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/4 Tiki AMPS 284 Dosing Question

I'm sorry I keep asking the same thing - but am I still doing what I am supposed to? My primary concern is holding this dose at 4 units for TOO long. He seems to really like this dose and I almost feel guilty as perhaps it's MY fault for not catching more moments in time when he may have been below 50. I am happy to keep on as is - but just wanted to make sure I am still on the right track.
 
Re: 6/4 Tiki AMPS 284 Dosing Question

How about looking at Tiki's numbers this way: How much lower would you like the nadir to be?

Tiki is spending a good amount of time in normal numbers. You've got at least one test in the 50s. You could conceivably fatten the dose but can you be around to monitor if numbers drop?

The info below is from the TR Protocol used by the German Lantus group:
Phase 3: Holding the dose

Try to keep the cat at a dose where the BGs are in the 50 to 200 mg/dl range for as much of the day as possible. The majority of cats are actually able to achieve consistent BGs in the 50 to <100 mg/dl range with consistent dosing. A well regulated cat looks like this.

Don't let the cat go below 50 mg/dl (N.B. there are some cats that do well with BGs >=40 mg/dl and are difficult to regulate unless the dose is held at BGs in this range, but a cautious approach should be used until you are sure your cat reacts this way). 200 to 220 mg/dl is approximately the renal threshold for glucose and important for renal health and general recovery. This phase may last a long time (many months). Periodic slight adjustments are necessary in many cases.
My point in quoting is that they note that this "phase" where Tiki is in good numbers can last a while. The risk with holding a dose overly long is glucose toxicity and that's an issue only when the kitty is in high numbers, not normal (or very close to normal) numbers.
 
Re: 6/4 Tiki AMPS 284 Dosing Question

Oh good. That toxicity thing was something I had seen referred to on other people's condo's and had worried that we might be headed in that direction if we hang out at this dose for too long. But you're right. I AM happy with his numbers (FINALLY!!!). I still wonder what happens overnight that make his AMPS always higher than the rest of the day. He doesn't do anything over night (sleep) that he doesn't do all day (sleep!) so it's just a mystery to me. He must order pizza when I am deep in sleep.

Thanks as always!
 
Re: 6/4 Tiki AMPS 284, +8 43,

43???? What the whaaaa?????

I couldn't believe it so I took another reading and the next one said 36!
 
Re: 6/4 Tiki AMPS 284, +8 43,

Good catch!

Isn't that the second time? one to go?

Come on Tiki!
Work the juice so you can earn that first reduction....
rah rah rah :lol: :RAHCAT
 
Re: 6/4 Tiki AMPS 284, +8 43,

I guess Tiki told you it's dose reduction time with that 38!

Tonya & Tiki said:
I still wonder what happens overnight that make his AMPS always higher than the rest of the day.
FWIW, for many kitties, the AMPS is the last number to fall into place. If you look at Tiki's SS from January of 2012, even then, the AMPS was higher than the PMPS. The AM numbers will gradually get lower.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top