tessa's mom
Member Since 2022
Previous: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-175-5-147-6-145-8-240-pmps-305-2-272.290735/
No muscle twitch today when getting her shot so that's good. She did flick her tail a little but otherwise seemed perfectly normal. I warmed the syringe between my fingers for just a few seconds so I'm not entirely sure if it's cold related (can a few seconds really do much?) but it doesn't hurt for me to continue doing that just in case.
I'm wondering if stopping food at +4 is not the solution to getting lower preshots? It's possible that she's bouncing so we'll see what this cycle looks like before changing anything but so far, I'm not convinced that this is helping. This morning was her highest preshot since she started insulin again.
I kinda wonder if Tessa is one of the rare cats who actually needs some food after the nadir to stay in lower numbers. I was feeding at +4 and +8 up until 5/25 and her preshot numbers were almost all lower before than they have been since I started limiting food to the earlier parts of her cycle. Maybe a small snack later in the cycle would help?
I'm really not sure though, looking back through her spreadsheet it looks like I tried all sorts of food schedules the first time around so I must have had this issue back then too but I can't remember for sure. It does look like she often had food around +5 or +6 during the day at least. I apparently only gave one meal at night back then but the thought of doing that now is crazy to me.
We're on day 3 of this dose and normally I would increase tomorrow but she has her follow up dental and will be getting anesthesia so we have to skip the AM dose and might have to skip the PM dose too from what I've read on here. So I'm thinking about giving her 1-2 more days on 1.75u after the dental. Skipping a day and then increasing doesn't sound like a good idea to me and I'd feel a lot more comfortable sticking with the same dose for another day or two. She's also been getting some nice low to mid blue stretches with this dose so it wouldn't hurt to keep her on the dose for a few more days anyway.
No muscle twitch today when getting her shot so that's good. She did flick her tail a little but otherwise seemed perfectly normal. I warmed the syringe between my fingers for just a few seconds so I'm not entirely sure if it's cold related (can a few seconds really do much?) but it doesn't hurt for me to continue doing that just in case.
I'm wondering if stopping food at +4 is not the solution to getting lower preshots? It's possible that she's bouncing so we'll see what this cycle looks like before changing anything but so far, I'm not convinced that this is helping. This morning was her highest preshot since she started insulin again.
I kinda wonder if Tessa is one of the rare cats who actually needs some food after the nadir to stay in lower numbers. I was feeding at +4 and +8 up until 5/25 and her preshot numbers were almost all lower before than they have been since I started limiting food to the earlier parts of her cycle. Maybe a small snack later in the cycle would help?
I'm really not sure though, looking back through her spreadsheet it looks like I tried all sorts of food schedules the first time around so I must have had this issue back then too but I can't remember for sure. It does look like she often had food around +5 or +6 during the day at least. I apparently only gave one meal at night back then but the thought of doing that now is crazy to me.
We're on day 3 of this dose and normally I would increase tomorrow but she has her follow up dental and will be getting anesthesia so we have to skip the AM dose and might have to skip the PM dose too from what I've read on here. So I'm thinking about giving her 1-2 more days on 1.75u after the dental. Skipping a day and then increasing doesn't sound like a good idea to me and I'd feel a lot more comfortable sticking with the same dose for another day or two. She's also been getting some nice low to mid blue stretches with this dose so it wouldn't hurt to keep her on the dose for a few more days anyway.
Meaning you can shoot anytime. You can stick with 1.75 for a couple more cycles if you want. She did see mid blues and we hold doses with nadirs under 200 for 6-10 cycles. Towards the longer end of that range for low blues.