6/4 SHEBA AMPS 283; + 5 241; +7 199

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-3-sheba-amps-223-4-90-5-67-6-5-59.138878/#post-1432323

Good morning everyone

Sheba had a great surf yesterday am cycle but again for the 4th night in a row, she has had higher numbers.
If it is a bounce, I can't see where she is bouncing from. She's not dropping fast and she is surely used to low numbers by now.
It seems the 34 from 6 days ago restarted the bouncing and then she just continued with these high numbers every second cycle.
I'm afraid I have became used to and addicted to green numbers and I want them back!!!!!:cool:
It looks like the dose is OK because she is getting the green numbers in some of the cycles.
I would appreciate your thoughts and if you have any ideas on how to reverse the trend I would be very grateful. Thanks:)
 
I think she looks pretty good and I wouldn't change anything at the moment.

The only thought in my head is that insulin absorption varies by as much as 50% from one shot to the next. Yes, she's bouncing, but they are only lasting a short time and then she's back in business. The more time she spends in green, the shorter the bounces will be. I'd just keep on keeping on at this point.
 
Sometimes BG numbers can get out of whack when something "different" is done. "Different" in this case means the reduced doses given to drain the depot. It's possible for it to last for a couple weeks or more. It's very frustrating and annoying but all you can do is ride it out for a bit to see if her numbers settle down. If the numbers don't even out soon, you'll probably end up increasing the dose while feeding to manipulate the curve.

It's a common occurrence. I'd get so frustrated when it would take a couple weeks to get Alex back on track. Hang in there!
 
Thanks Jill for that explanation...it makes sense. I was just concerned I needed to do something to get back on track now. But if I know it may take longer, I can relax and see if she can work it out for herself.
She is such a bouncer, I didn't want her to get back in the habit after finally taming it a bit!
Thanks for the encouragement. It helps so much:)
 
What Jill said explains the problems I keep running in to with Furball. I'll get some nice numbers and then changed the dose and she bounces like crazy. It's very frustrating. Hopefully Sheba will settle down with the bouncing soon.
 
Those green numbers sure are addictive aren't they?

At first we say "Oh no! I could never let her go that low!!"...then they get their first green and soon we're hooked

Sheba had a lot of reductions and skipped shots....it'll take a little time but I bet she will settle down soon
 
Come on now Sheba...quit driving momma bean batty. Time to settle down into the nice greens/blues

Bron...your Sheba and my Tuxie are certainly practising for the bouncing championships!! Good luck with settling in :)
 
Thanks Jill for that explanation...it makes sense. I was just concerned I needed to do something to get back on track now. But if I know it may take longer, I can relax and see if she can work it out for herself.
She is such a bouncer, I didn't want her to get back in the habit after finally taming it a bit!
Thanks for the encouragement. It helps so much:)
You're welcome!
 
Nice day cycles for Sheba. I wonder if giving Neko a one time reduced dose would switch her to lows during the day instead of the night. Hmm. Probably not. I hope we haven't jinxed anything for you Bron.
 
Come on now Sheba...quit driving momma bean batty. Time to settle down into the nice greens/blues

Bron...your Sheba and my Tuxie are certainly practising for the bouncing championships!! Good luck with settling in :)

Sorry Tuxie and Sheba, you have both been out-bounced by Frankie today!!
 
Last edited:
Sorry Tuxie and Sheba, you have both been out-bounced by Frankie today!!

Frankie...WHAT are you doing???

That is a huge bounce and in the middle of the cycle!! Looks like Frankie is not sure whether to keep the dose reduction or not. Fingers crossed that Frankie decides to settle in and get back to lower numbers. My Tuxie can take days and days to respond to dose changes, so Frankie may still be settling in from that low green a few days ago and the reduction.

But in the meantime Frankie is definitely the leader in the "bounce olympics" :( Good luck with settling in.
 
I think he probably sniffed a green number last night. Unfortunately I slept through every one of my alarms until pm + 9 when he was 10.9 (196). I just hope he never went too low and I missed it.:nailbiting:
 
I think he probably sniffed a green number last night. Unfortunately I slept through every one of my alarms until pm + 9 when he was 10.9 (196). I just hope he never went too low and I missed it.:nailbiting:

That is totally possible. Tuxie has been changing his nadir times the last few days and with only getting 4 or 5 hours sleep I just can't wake up to check later in the evening. The other thing is that the numbers always look worse when using an AT meter. Often I have to convert to human numbers to make myself feel better. Once I start seeing greens I am on hypo watch alert. For myself on an AT2 meter once he hits 4.4 mmol/L I am watching and monitoring closely. That is where my comfort level is at.
 
I always check what the human numbers are. I'm ever hopeful that one day I will wrap my head around them. I don't like green numbers at all. They scare me. I would like him to be 5 at his lowest point and then I will be happy. (I can dream can't I?)
 
I always check what the human numbers are. I'm ever hopeful thst one day I will wrap my head around them. I don't like green numbers at all. They scare me. I would like him to be 5 at his lowest point and then I will be happy. (I can dream can't I?)

For converting from AT to human I use the formula of 65%...multiply the AT by 65% and it gives an approximate equivalent in human numbers. For example your black 30.7 mmol/l would be about 20 mmol/L in human numbers, which would put it into a pink. Not wonderful but less stressful than seeing the black. My target is to get Tuxie into 5-9 mmol/L on an AT meter.

I apologize to Bron for hijacking her thread. :(
 
Oh yes, my apologies too.

That is my target too, hopefully if one of us cracks it, we can advise the other!! That's the formula I use too. If I want to feel even better, I just look at the American numbers!!
 
Oh yes, my apologies too.

That is my target too, hopefully if one of us cracks it, we can advise the other!! That's the formula I use too. If I want to feel even better, I just look at the American numbers!!


We'll get there...as long as our patience pants don't wear out. Just a thought..since you use the AT meter the same as I do, I find it helpful to actually put that it my first post each day, since often people don't notice it in the signature and it can make a difference in what advice is given. I should actually put it in every comment I post on my own condos.

"ALPHA TRAK 2 PET METER Reads about 35% higher than human meter"
 
Good idea about mentioing the AT meter in my first post. I will have to remember that.

As for my patience pants - I am on my third pair and these are wearing thin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top