6/4 - Salem amps 128, +4:58, advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Camille and Cyclone

Member Since 2009
Hi, back after another long time away - good to see some familiar names! Salem has been doing VERY well - another improvement over the last 2-3 weeks with ps bg over 120 only a few times and nadirs mostly in the 60's - this 128 is high for him but may be because he threw up about 30 min before test. (Salem has CP and mild kidney impairment and I think he gets acid stomach because he tends to vomit liquid on an empty stomach.) Dose is 0.1u - plunger at the bottom of the zero line, and I've been injecting any number over 80 since I figure that amount isn't enough to harm him even if he goes a bit low. He's been on injected insulin for almost 3 1/2 years but I can't help but dream about OTJ since I've seen him bring down numbers without an injection a few times. So, looking for advice. Decrease dose again to 0u - just the droplet inside the needle? Currently he gets two meals and one snack after noontime nadir spotcheck - add a snack in the pm, and maybe another snack during the day? I've noticed his pm ps tends to be lower than am. Start skipping shots when he's under 100? At what point could I consider an OTJ trial?
 
Salem is doing great! He has been in the normal range for over a week, remember that is another criteria for decrease! :mrgreen: I'm mainly giving you a bump up for others to take a look and give advice.
 
I'd like to see less blue at pre-shot. When are you feeding? If you're not already giving a +9 snack, I'd consider doing so. It looks like Salem's pancreas is working so a snack later in the cycle may help to bring the pre-shot numbers down.

Please get PM spot checks so we know just how close to a trial Salem is.
 
+9 84

Thanks - will do snacks at +9 and before bed, and get some pm checks. I feed main meals right after ps. Should be interesting to see if the preshots come down.
 
pm 78

Maybe the +9 snack did it! 80 is my cutoff for giving insulin, so I guess I'll test again in a couple of hours or before bed and see what's what.
 
pm +3.5 76

I shoot low but 80 is kind of my limit when I know he's been coming down after food without an injection. Tonight he seems to be surfing so far. Gave another snack, and we'll see how he is in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top