6/4 Pixie 0.1 PMPS=115, +2.5=85

Status
Not open for further replies.

caringcdn

Member Since 2014
Good Morning Kitties and Beans ~O) ~O) ~O) ,

Very surprised to find Pixie at 103 at AMPS this morning as I expected him to be higher due to feeding a mix of Wellness and Merrick all night. I decided to feed him straight Wellness this morning to see if it pushes him into higher blues like on Monday. I can certainly tell that the Wellness has a higher carb load than the Merrick because when you compare the broths in each can - the Wellness has a more thickened consistency which therefore must have a thickening agent in it. Furthermore, since starting the Wellness, I have noticed that Pixie's pancreas and kidneys are working overtime. He is drinking more, hanging around the bowl and peeing large puddles. So, the question becomes - will Pixie's body, in time, respond to the higher carb load and settle in with more consistent, lower BG values? Pixie's weight, in just a few days, has improved even though I don't have weight values, I can tell he is less gaunt and he feels much heavier.

So, although Pixie is technically supposed to start a OTJ trial in a couple of days, I'm not sure we should. I think we need a few more days deciding if the Wellness works for Pixie and if we can stabilize his numbers with this new diet before we start OTJ. Input is greatly appreciated in this matter.

This morning I'm headed to my final guild meeting before the summer and hopefully, all will be well with Pixie. Luckily, I decided not to attend my last meeting because Pixie dropped below 50 and it took me a bit to get him up. Today, I really don't expect Pixie will have any problems but fortunately, Kristen, is home this morning to help me out. So nice that she feels comfortable testing Pixie. You never know - maybe we have a future vet tech in the making?? Kristen graduated from college last year with a visual arts degree but is unable to find work in her field and she's absolutely not interested in graphic design. I tease her that maybe, she could work with her brother when he graduates from vet school but to be honest, those two have always fought like cats and dogs. Oh well, wishful thinking ;-) :smile: .

Wishing all kitties and their beans a lovely, drama-free day!

Anne

Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 6/4 Pixie 0.1 AMPS=103, +1=94

good morning Anne! Hope you enjoyed your guild meeting.

It's not a requirement that you reduce the dose after 7 days in normal numbers at a particular dose. I think as much as you monitor, you would have the option of continuing at this tiny dose for a little while longer. Just don't get complacent and assume that because they are relatively flat around 90 right now that they will stay that way.

Do consider, though, that it's called a trial for a reason. Some cats aren't ready to go off and they need that little bit of insulin for a while longer - so a few days of OTJ and their numbers go up, and the insulin is restarted. That always an option. Zeke is one that seems to want his teeny dose.

Glad to hear that he's regaining his weight - all around it sounds like he's doing so much better!
 
Re: 6/4 Pixie 0.1 AMPS=103, +1=94, +3.75=74; +5.5=94, +7.5=9

Wow, you have a son in vet school? How cool is that? I assume you are helping him understand about TRP so he doesn't pooh pooh it like a lot of vets do. Maybe any of us that live in your area will be able to bring our kitties to see him one day!

Pixie looks awesome today. It's interesting that you feel the Wellness has affected his BG like that. I can't seem to see any change in Cinco's based on which LC food I give him. I guess some cats are just more sensitive to those things than others.

You know, siblings that fight like cats and dogs often end up being good friends later in life. If you had told me when I was a teenager that one day my sister and I would enjoy getting together and attending the same events, etc., I would have advised you to see professional help. But we do! She even flies out here every spring to attend a big wine tasting weekend with me and my DH, and we are looking forward to a second Christmas in a row at her place! So there is hope!

Have a great day, Anne.
 
Re: 6/4 Pixie 0.1 AMPS=103, +1=94, +3.75=74; +5.5=94, +7.5=9

Wow, Anne!!! That's so cool to have a son graduating from vet school. It was one of my dreams to work with animals since I was a kid, but then I wasn't a brilliant student in Biology that I decided to go to the boring field of Economics because I was good in Maths. I still regret choosing Economics until today. Maybe one day I will pursue my old dream :-D. These days I'm more interested in doing research in feline diabetes than in my own research, anyway :-D :-D :-D. I guess it's never too late ;-).

Have a great evening!
Cristina
 
Re: 6/4 Pixie 0.1 AMPS=103, +1=94, +3.75=74; +5.5=94, +7.5=9

Good to hear that Pixie Pants is getting a little heavier. :-D And still keeping his lagoon time. :mrgreen:

I agree with Julie on the dose, the timing is up to you at this point. We've even had some people go to one drop of insulin after .1U because they thought their cat needed a bit more time on the juice. Getting a consistent one drop amount can be a challenge. ;-)

Which vet school is your son going to? Most of the ones around here went to Saskatoon. I hope your son is getting some good information on feline nutrition.

BTW: We are rowers, not kayakers. The kayak shop is in the same building and has the webcam. Let me know if your son is interested in rowing, we can set him up - it's more of a workout.
 
Re: 6/4 Pixie 0.1 PMPS=115

Thanks Wendy - I'll let David know when he's back. He and his girlfriend are very active, outdoor enthusiasts and they're both in great shape. Two years ago, David participated in the Tough Mudder contest that was held at Whistler - he loved every part except the frigid waters.

My other son, Joel is actually studying in Melbourne, Australia and is currently prepping for his first semester exams. The school year starts in March as opposed to Sept. and it's his first year and he loves it. He was just married last summer and both he and his wife are staying in Melbourne. Yesterday, we skyped together and they told me that Melissa had finally got a job in nursing at one of the hospitals. It takes quite a bit of time to be certified and after 3 months, she's still waiting for her certification. Luckily for her, the hospital is willing to hire her anyway and provide an alternate job while waiting for her papers. I can't tell you how happy I am that she has a job - she is so far from her family and Joel is so busy with school.

There is little to no study of cats because cats are considered a nuisance in Australia - luckily for them, they left their lovely, little cat, Kiri, with me. Joel and I converse at length about what I'm doing and the protocol. He asked me to send him the link to the tight protocol which I have. He is very impressed with the efforts of the caregivers on FDMB and says that he's going to refer his diabetic cats to me so I can point them in the right direction. One thing I've stressed with him is that it's so important to listen to his clients because many of them are very knowledgeable and are willing to put in the time needed to care for their ill pets. He finds this very reassuring and I know he's looking forward to working with clients and their pets.

Pixie is high again at PMPS after feeding mostly Wellness all day - a repeat of what happened on Monday therefore suggesting a carb spike or bounce. Fortunately, Pixie has been able to clear it quickly so I will feed only Merrick this evening and see if he's green at AMPS. Paws crossed :smile: .

Anne
 
Re: 6/4 Pixie 0.1 PMPS=115

Hi Anne,

Only my second time posting in your condo. You comment about your daughter, the possible future vet tech (?), caught my eye. I just graduated this year from the vet tech program at Sheridan College, outside of Toronto. It was a dream of mine to go back to school after I retired from my first career. I would recommend that your daughter look into the various vet tech programs if she is at all interested. The programs are challenging but very fulfilling. One of my classmates was also a graduate with a visual arts degree from OCAD, and there were quite a few other students who had university degrees (even a Master's) but were not able to find work in their fields.

I look in on your condo from time to time, and it is great to see how quickly Pixie has progressed!
 
Re: 6/4 Pixie 0.1 PMPS=115

Hope the Merrick brings the numbers down for Pixie. You're doing such a fantabulous job with her! I once tried the vet gig. Unfortunately, I couldn't deal with the blood and guts so I just worked as an animal care person until a higher paying job fell in my lap. Now I work in IT and I really miss the animals. I have often pondered getting some land and setting up a pet cemetery or something. I hope your son enjoys a long and fruitful career.
 
Re: 6/4 Pixie 0.1 PMPS=115

Hi Linda,

Thanks for visiting our condo. What a small world - Kristen completed her degree at Sheridan in Oakville. I didn't even know they had a vet tech program at Sheridan, I wonder if she knows. I'll have to ask her when she gets home from work. If she decides to do the program, she will need to take some sciences by correspondence because she has little to no high school science. This is the issue right now but I'm hoping that she'll get tired of working at the local convenience store and decide it's worth taking a few science courses which might open more doors for her career-wise.

After Joel graduated two years ago, he didn't want to go to vet school because he was "sick and tired" of school. Well needless to say, job opportunities were scarce, even scarcer when he married Melissa and moved to her small home town. So, one year of working at Winners sure changed his tune - vet school looked really good. This is what I'm hoping happens for Kristen because motivation is key here. I can want this all I want but it has to come from her.

Thanks for sharing this with me, Linda. It gives me hope because I know Kristen loved Oakville and wouldn't mind going back but like I said - she has to want it. My husband says he'll never be able to retire if they continue going to school. Thank goodness, one of them is working in his field. You know it isn't easy being a parent.

Anne
 
Re: 6/4 Pixie 0.1 PMPS=115

What a small world! I have a bit of bad news about the Sheridan vet tech program … it's only offered at the Brampton campus! That was a bit of a disappointment, as I live within walking distance of the Oakville campus. They also have a one year Animal Care program that may be of interest to her.

Is your son in vet school in Australia? One of the vets I worked with during placement had just recently graduated from a vet school there.
 
Re: 6/4 Pixie 0.1 PMPS=115

Hi Tara,

I really like your idea for a pet cemetery - I think many of us pet lovers have considered a career with pets. I never told my son that my dream, as a young girl, was to become a vet but I soon learned that I could never deal with having to put animals down or even more ghastly, animal abuse.

You know I wouldn't mind being the one that cares for very sick pets through the night. Our local vets do not provide 24 hour care and the only local vet hospital is two hours away and it's very pricey - before you're even admitted you have to pay $1200. I feel really bad for people who can't afford this and love their pets like we do. For some people, their pets are their life and I wouldn't mind caring for these pets if it means they just need 24 hour supervised care in order to get better.

Thank you for sharing this with me, Tara. Have a great evening!

Anne
 
Re: 6/4 Pixie 0.1 PMPS=115

Hi Anne,
I hope that Pixie will continue to gain weight and also keep his good numbers. Wellness varies from batch to batch with regard to how much liquid is in the can (I think all foods do). I always add water to all of Rusty's food. Wellness chicken and Wellness turkey are staples on our house. Good luck with an upcoming trial, and, as Julie says, you don't have to begin until you think Pixie is ready.

Neat that your son has finished vet school and that your daughter may decide on a vet tech program.

Have a fine evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/4 Pixie 0.1 PMPS=115

Anne, thank you for posting on Simon's condo and all the supportive words about what I am going through with my job and trying to figure out if I want to open my own place. Your words made me feel lots better!

Pixie looks really great. Funny, but Wellness actually makes Simon's numbers lots lower -- I wish he would eat it all the time. Just goes to show that all of our cats are different and react differently to brands of food.

Have a wonderful evening!
 
Hi Anne, Thanks for your encouraging words! You are doing a fabulous job with Pixie and here he is almost OTJ - super congrats! Also for your family - that is so neat! That would be neat if you started a 24 hour care center, with all your compassion I can read in your posts, it sounds like you would be great at something like this.

p.s. my two older sisters and I fought like cats and dogs when we were little; now we are all friends!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top