6/4 Lulu AMPS-108,+4-59,+9.5-121,PMPS-92,+1-90,+3-119

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lori & Lulu

Member Since 2015
Good morning kitty lovers,

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-3-lulu-amps-117-4-56-5-15-77-pmps-97-2-72-4-70.138906/

Hope everyone is having a great day. It`s beautiful and sunny out right now, and I`m going out for a walk in a short while to look for snakes -- I have been challenged to hold a snake, as one of the guys in our walking group thinks all women are afraid of snakes. I`ll show him! btw, these are harmless little garter snakes.
I`m going to be asking for dosing suggestions later, I am planning to go hiking in the mountains tomorrow and Saturday, but will be returning home each evening. Lulu has been showing such low numbers, I`m not sure whether or not I should give 1u and load up otto, or shave it down a bit.
Have a fabulous day everyone. Hopefully, all kittehs have recovered from that wild party:)
 
Looking for snakes on purpose!!! I look for them (the kind that rattle) when I walk the dog in the desert, but it's not with any hopes of finding them! I guess I wish you good luck on your quest.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Thanks Marilyn. We don`t have the kind that rattle here in the city, but we do have badlands outside the city where rattlesnakes can be found. I don`t go looking for them, unless I`m hiking in the area, then I look out for them in order to avoid.
 
Lori

You should come to Manitoba for garter snakes. Just outside Winnipeg is Narcisse which is famous for their garter snakes...giant balls of tens of thousands of them every spring when they come out of their dens and mate. I had a gas there a few years ago. I held snakes for other people to take pictures of because they were too scared. :cool:

I hope Lulu behaves herself today and just does a nice even coasting with no surprises.
 
Won't catch me within a Mike of a snake. I don't care how harmless they are. Good for you to be getting away for more than 6 hours. I need to take lessons or I guess I should say Max does.
 
Mary Ann - I lived in southern Manitoba before moving to Calgary in 83, and have seen the snakes, quite the sight. There`s a hibernaculum in the park we went to, it`s all fenced in to protect them during hibernation, but they`re active now. However, we didn`t see any today, because I was with a noisy group and any living critter would have hidden itself from us. I`m going to take a bike ride down that way some early morning and hope to see some, I like to get up very early in the a.m. and bike on many of Calgary`s paths before the throngs come out, see lots of life then.

Elise - I`m the same way about mice. My GA Puddin was quite the mouser, one evening I was watching TV with the lights off, saw her playing with a toy. Turned out the toy was moving:eek:, so up the stairs I ran, closed my bedroom door, and put a towel under the crack of the door. I didn`t need Puddin presenting me with a gift on my pillow that night. I found the critter dead the next morning, and could write a comedy sketch on how I got rid of it.

I really want to go hiking this weekend, but hate leaving Lulu, especially now that her numbers are frequently green. It`s my turn to drive, so I`m committed to going. Will probably have to shoot low, I`ll put a ? in for suggestions later.

Enjoy your day, ladies, thanks for your comments!
 
For the life of me, I cannot understand why Lulu jumped into the blues at +9 and now at PMPS is back in the green :confused:
 
Looks like Lulu did a little bit of a double-dip tonight - something some kitties do some of the time! You are starting to see some very nice consistent blues and greens...I hope she gives you a lovely, snake-free surf tonight!!
 
Thanks, Amy, I`m really happy about the blues and greens, when I got back from vacation a few days ago, her first test was pink. Once we got back to her usual dosage, she`s been doing really well. I hope someday she goes into remission like your TrixieCat did! I guess we all hope for that...:)
 
Do you have the 5 compartment feeder? I'm thinking you do. If so, I think I might load up Otto and have it open +2, +4, +5 and +6 - something like that.

I think I'd probably load up Otto, but if you're not comfortable with that, it's perfectly ok to reduce her dose for a couple of days. I think if I chose to reduce, I'd reduce to 0.75u in the morning (I was going to say tonight but i see you've already shot), and then hold it there until Saturday night. I think it's better to just give the reduced shot for several sequential shots instead of 0.75u, 1.0u, 0.75u starting Friday morning.
 
aw... you didn't find any snakes....
they only bother me if they bite.
the creepy thing I learned about last year was a tarantula hawk. Marje's dh found one in their driveway killing a tarantula.
these bugs that lay eggs in you are icky.

Great that the numbers are getting so much better!
 
Thanks, Julie. I saw your message on my other posting, and will take the suggestion about combining everything into one posting. Wasn't sure beforehand. I am going to load up Otto, and will give her a dosage depending on her AMPS. If it's already green, I'll go with .75u til Saturday night. But if it's higher I'll go with her regular 1u. Does that make sense?
 
aw... you didn't find any snakes....
they only bother me if they bite.
the creepy thing I learned about last year was a tarantula hawk. Marje's dh found one in their driveway killing a tarantula.
these bugs that lay eggs in you are icky.

Great that the numbers are getting so much better!
Ewwww about the bugs that lay eggs in you. I met a tarantula when I was in South America (December 2013) and was wanting to pick her up. Thought I'd ask our hiking guide first if she was poisonous. He said yes, so I changed my mind:eek: We don't have tarantulas here in the Great White North and I was very curious :) but not THAT curious.
I have reached the age where I'm willing to try anything once, as long as it's not illegal or completely without question life threatening.:p
 
Do you watch out to avoid ticks? One of my children has lyme disease and it is not a pretty picture. You definitely want to avoid getting bitten.
 
Looks like Lulu did one of the infamous Lantus "double dips"...where you get a number higher than nadir but lower than the last one...China used to do it all the time

Lulu....if you want to join the synchronized swim team, we're having practice tonight...come on over..we're shooting for a 72! ~ China
 
Do you watch out to avoid ticks? One of my children has lyme disease and it is not a pretty picture. You definitely want to avoid getting bitten.
You bet. I carry a tick removal device in my first aid kit. I do a lot of hiking in the Canadian Rockies so ensure I carry appropriate first aid equipment and bear repellant (which I`ve never had to use, making noise is the best deterrent).
I`m so sorry to learn that your child has lyme disease, it can be pretty serious. Thank you for sharing that, it`ll be at the forefront of my mind to be vigilant about ticks while hiking this weekend.
 
Hmmm, PM shot might have been a fur shot, she`s going up at +3. Think it`s safe for me to head to bed. Goodnight all.
 
Ewwwww! To so many things in this condo, that I don't even know which creeps me out the most. I can't bear snakes. I can't even look at them on TV or I have nightmares.

I don't know about a fur shot, , but Lulu sure had some beautiful cycles today.
 
I'm okay with bugs, mice and snakes but a tarantula, I can barely type the word, they totally freak me out, can't watch or look at them on TV, if I saw a live one I think I would die on the spot. Luckily none here in France, unless pets. Whatever induces people to keep a t........a as a pet for heaven's sake!

Julie, Sorry to hear about your child with Lyme disease, not nice at all.

Nice safe surf Lulu while your bean gets some rest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top