6/4 Junior amps 312, no food, no shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

kay&junior

Member Since 2011
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72032

He was doing so well with the Forti Flora, and this morning it just stopped, he woke me up like normal, meowed his way upstairs to the kitchen, I made his breakfast, got his shot ready, turned, and he was jsut sitting there looking at me, tried to finger feed a little, tried another flavor, his favorite, turkey, still nothing but a couple of licks,,,neither of us are home today, I am trying to get out of work, very hard when I tell them it is because of my kitty...

I hope I did the right thing by not giving a shot this morning, no food , no shot, right?
I told him we would finger feed tonight, or as soon as I can get home...

ketones still negative, still doing the 5 p's too.

never got any of the Amocicillin in him, wondering if maybe I should try the clindamycin, but his teeth look ok to me...

any suggestions please????
 
There's always a risk when not shooting as a result of your cat not eating of ketones developing. If the food issues are a result of infection, you have a potential situation where ketones can occur. Please do what you can to test for ketones.

I don't know how much FortiFlora you're using, but you can use a packet a day (or even more but I might worry about constipation) without a problem. Maybe a bit more would help. Have you tried baby food as an enticement?

If you are looking for a new vet, please get kidney values checked. Sometimes renal issues (renal disease or an infection) can cause a cat to not want to eat. I saw your note about saving up for a dental. It's also possible that Junior is off his food if his mouth hurts. If that's the case, see if baby food works. Since it's such a fine puree, it shouldn't bother his teeth. (It's what I will give Gabby after extractions.) You want baby food that is meat and broth only -- no veggies. Also, it's a temporary measure since it's not nutritionally complete for a cat.
 
Kay.... Can you also get a different low carb food that he doesn't typically eat and purée it. If he'll let you, you can syringe feed him. I agree with Sienne that he needs to have insulin so however you can get him to eat.

Some other members have found that if the kitty is not eating due to teeth/gum issues, just purée his regular food, warm it, and see if he will lick it off the plate...have you tried Parmesan cheese as an enticer?


Sending Junior healing vines.
 
Ketones as of yesterday were still negative, no urine test this am.

Never got the baby food because he was eating, will get some on the way home, and just a sprinkle of Forti Flora, maybe I wasn't using enough, I was spreading a packet out over a day.

Just got word I can leave after lunch break is over, will get some baby food, and use a F.F., and check in with the ?? new vet.

will find out if they can do blood work from the leg, not neck, Junior totally freaked at that.

thanks for your quick response, I very much appreciate it. just a little nervous, that's all.
 
Hello Kay, I don't think we've met yet. We're sorry to hear Junior is having issues eating. I can't offer any advice, but sending lots of well wishes and scritches your way. I hope this issue doesn't keep continuing.

Reagan, Munchkin, & Pebs
 
Hi,
I don't think we have met, but thanks for all the good wishes coming our way!

hoping for better news to come.
 
FWIW, my vet has never taken blood from the neck. I know it's common for some vets. My vet has a feline specialty practice and unless there is some hugely compelling reason, the vet techs always get blood from my guys leg.

I do keep a jar or two of baby food in the house just in case. Gerber stage 2 or Beechnut is fine. The Gerber is a bit higher in carbs (but I think it smells better).
 
I just spoke with the tech at the ? new office, and they do blood from the leg, unless medically necessary to do the neck.

and the vet will review my paperwork with me before bringing Junior to her, yesm a female diabetic kitty doctor, I hope this works.

I have to fax over notes this afternoon, as she is working out of town, but has availability tomorrow...fingers crossed.
 
DH callled me, Junior ate some lunch, about a big tablespoon, told him I would be home right after work, as I didn't get out early as thought, and we will have a feeding session so he gets his shot, now my question is, I skipped his shot this morning because of not eating, do I still give 2 u tonight?
 
I would do what you can to get the insulin in him. Even if you need to feed HC, it's better to have his numbers in a better place than to skip shots.

Desi will probably never forget my saying to her that when Tawny was so sick that I didn't care if she gave Tawny a hot fudge sundae, she had to get the insulin in her to manage the DKA. While Junior isn't sick with DKA, the principle still holds and you don't want to risk DKA by not shooting.
 
Thanks Sienne,

Junior also thanks you.

He will eat tonight, and get a shot.

update tomorrow, unless at new vet.

I am praying he eats tonight, please please, please.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top