6/4 Jinx PMPS 188, +1 235, +2 233, +4 198, +5.5 216

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419

Congratulations on the reduction! :thumbup Jinx's first? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Isn't it fun to finally see green.

OK, Jinx, make this work. good advice yesterday on the meters. Th OT is a good meter, but the Relions are good too. I think a lot of members use the Relion because we test so much and the strips are some of the cheapest around. another place to look for the OT strips is Craig's List. People who get regular supplies from health coverage will sell older strips that they haven't used when they get a new supply.
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419

OK Jinx, don't make me out to be a liar. I said 3 was your lucky number. Let's see some movement today. ;-)
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213

Thanks, Ann. It was a tough choice between the Relion and the OT. Although, I do have a feeling I'll get a Relion at some point. The strips are more affordable and it also has gotten great reviews from members and did very well on Consumer Reports.

Cathy, I told Jinx you're counting on him doing well at 3.0u and he hasn't disappointed yet today. Will check again at +5-5.5 and will hopefully see him in the blue.
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213

Ann, I'll definitely look for the strips on Craig's List as well. Thank-you!
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213

That is the way to handle a decrease! :-D :-D Don't get too excited though, the first cycle after a decrease can still be influenced by an over full shed.

Another nice thing about the Relion is that you can go out and buy reasonably priced strips if you run out, if you are near a Walmart. Relion meters are made by Arkray and just rebranded for Walmart. You can buy their strips even cheaper online at ADW. The Relion Confirm and Mini take the same strips and are the same as the Arkray Glucocard 01. The Relion Ultima is the same as the Arkray Glucocard Vital. It takes a slightly larger drop of blood, but if you buy a 5pack of strips it's only $11 for 50!

If you order from ADW, please use the "SHOP" link on the top of the page. It doesn't cost you extra and FDMB gets a commission for every referral. It helps keep this board going.

If you are interested several members also like the Wave Sense meter. I just found out that they make the house brand meter for Target, renamed Up & Up. It would be another locally available meter and strips that are reasonably priced.
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213, +5.5 117

Very nice, Jinx. He's eating his regular LC afternoon meal now so I'll check again within the hour to make sure he's coming up.

Thanks for the info on the meters, Ann. I really appreciate it. Would you mind elaborating a bit on what an over full shed is? Does that mean animals have a reserve mechanism where they can store insulin?
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213, +5.5 117

It isn't cats that have the reserve, it is the way Lantus and Levemir work. Read these stickies about the "shed" or "depot". These insulins form a reserve that slowly re enters the bloodstream and give us the nice shallow curves that we aim for.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72181

Sheesh! I looked all over for Libby's post and she had just bumped it up to the top> :roll: ohmygod_smile :oops:
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213, +5.5 117

Hey Joe!!

Looking good Jinx!!!

Actually...I'd just pay attention to the second link Ann gave you that Libby just did. It was meant to replace the first one.

Not to rain the parade, but the insulin depot can actually affect up to six subsequent cycles. It doesn't it in all cats but it can. Generally speaking, it is probably more like 3-4 cycles. The insulin depot is one of the hardest concepts to
understand with Lantus and Levemir. Many vets don't get it. But it is why the insulins are longer duration than the other insulins. It is also why it is very important to consider it in dose increases and reductions. You typically wouldn't want to take back to back reductions because it is most likely the depot involved giving you extended low numbers.

Let's hope that Jinx is one that the effects of the higher dose only last a cycle or two.
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213, +5.5 117

Thanks, Marje. I hope they only last a couple cycles as well.

Was definitely surprised to see him at 99 now. He ate most but not all of his afternoon meal so I just fed him a little bit more of his regular LC. Will check again in an hour or so.
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213, +5.5 117, +6.5 99

Wow, Jinx is looking really good today, nice recovery from the bounce. Glad you have the meter after doing research and lots of good info from Ann on where to buy the strips, too. Gp Jinx! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213, +5.5 117, +6.5 99

Go Jinx!! I hope you get used to those nice numbers quickly. I'm impressed by how quickly he got over yesterday's low numbers. Now if only he could teach Neko a few tricks like that.
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213, +5.5 117, +6.5 99, +7.5 123

Been a crazy day with work and Jinx so I will go through the posts tonight to make sure I've thoroughly read what everyone has sent. I really appreciate hearing from all of you with the encouragement and info.

Ann, thank-you for the info on the shed/depot and the links you provided. I will read through them tonight.

Wendy, it's definitely been a good day for Jinx. It's great both he and Neko decided to go green around +6 today :-D Hopefully it will start to become more of a regular occurrence for the both of them!
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213, +5.5 117, +6.5 99, +7.5 123

Getting ready to shoot and I just measured a 188 PMPS. Should I handle this dose differently or still give the 3.0u?
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213, +5 117, +6 99, +7.5 123, PMPS

nice! Please post your +1 and +2 when you get them. I'm sure folks will be watching for them. :smile:
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213, +5 117, +6 99, +7.5 123, PMPS

Thanks, Libby. Will post +1 and 2 as soon as I take them. Seems typical for him to bounce after being low during the day but a 188 preshot is a first so I don't want to take any chances.
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213, +5 117... PMPS 188, +1 235

Is a +2 still advised or can I get away with a +3 instead?
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213, +5 117... PMPS 188, +1 235

You'll want to do a +2 because at +2 is when the insulin is starting to take effect.
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213, +5 117... PMPS 188, +1 235

I agree with Cathy, Joe. I'll be around.....sorry I missed your GREAT SHOOTING!!!
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213, +5 117... PMPS 188, +1 235

Cathy and Marje, will do... I'll check him at +2 and will post right after. Thanks!
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213, +5 117... PMPS 188, +1 235

Good because I've seen food spikes like this. He's probably headed up but it's smart to be sure. Thanks Joe.
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419, +4 213, +5 117... PMPS 188, +1 235

Whenever you're shooting a number that you haven't shot before, you want to get a +1 and a +2 to make sure Jinx is headed in the right direction.

Wait till you shoot a 58 nailbite_smile :lol:

Now I feel like an "old pro", but the first time I was a wreck!
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419.. +5 117... PMPS 188, +1 235, +2 233

Did you shoot the regular dose at a 58 pre-shot? I would have been a wreck as well.

So... his +2 is at 233. A +2 should be around the pre-shot but it's a little higher. So I'm assuming he's going up tonight but I'll plan on taking a +4 unless advised otherwise. Thanks again, everyone.
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419.. +5 117... PMPS 188, +1 235, +2 233

I think a +4 is fine.

:lol: I remember saying I'd never shoot anything below 150 and somewhere I got my BOS and got over that. Soot low to stay low....shoot anything over 50 once you have the data to do so.
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419.. +5 117... PMPS 188, +1 235, +2 233

Thanks, Marje. So, is the rule of thumb to shoot the normal dose unless under 50? But if the pre-shot is lower than usual like Jinx's was tonight, check at +1 and +2 to see where it's headed?
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419.. +5 117... PMPS 188, +1 235, +2 233

Joe and Jinx said:
Thanks, Marje. So, is the rule of thumb to shoot the normal dose unless under 50? But if the pre-shot is lower than usual like Jinx's was tonight, check at +1 and +2 to see where it's headed?


Yes, exactly.
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419.. +5 117... PMPS 188, +1 235, +2 233

It's generally recommended that you do not shoot under 50. I've shot Gracie a couple times on levemir but her onset is +7 so I have lots of time for her to come up. With lantus onset between +2 and +3, you don't want kitty sitting at 50 when he onsets. If you shoot a 50 then you would typically see a rise before onset but that is where the +1 data comes in so handy.

If you know he will get a food spike, you can generally feel more comfortable shooting 50 or above.

We like you to gradually learn to shoot low after you have collected data. I think any time you shoot low, even if you've done it ALOT, you should get a +1 and +2.
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419.. +5 117... PMPS 188, +1 235, +2 233

Thanks again, Marje. Hopefully he doesn't put me in that position anytime soon but I want to be ready for it just in case. Will shoot at +4 and hopefully he won't go too high tonight.
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419.. +5 117... PMPS 188, +1 235, +2 233

I may or may not be up by your +4 depending on Buca but you know what to do if numbers come down and the handling low numbers link is in my signature block.
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx AMPS 419.. +5 117... PMPS 188, +1 235, +2 233

Yep, I feel comfortable with everything. Thanks, Marje.
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx PMPS 188, +1 235, +2 233, +4 198

Younok then? I'm headed to bed but I can get up and check in if you need me to.
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx PMPS 188, +1 235, +2 233, +4 198

I'm fine Marje, thanks. I really appreciate the offer though. I'm hoping he doesn't go too low but if he does, I feel comfortable with how to handle it. Good night.
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx PMPS 188, +1 235, +2 233, +4 198

Ok..good luck. This is so great :-D All your patience and diligence has paid off!

Ni ni
 
Re: 6/4 Jinx PMPS 188, +1 235, +2 233, +4 198

I owe a lot to you and everyone else on here for all the help and advice you've given me. I know we still have a ways to go but it's great to see him doing so well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top