6/4 Jazzy (acro) AMPS 155, PMPS 107

Status
Not open for further replies.

Libby and Lucy

Member Since 2009
Happy Caturday!

Jazzy has been on a serious roll lately and I just wanted to brag about her numbers. :mrgreen: Check out her spreadsheet!

I've learned a lot about her patterns this week. For one thing, I have learned that even though she is acro, Jazzy responds to HC better than Lucy ever did! She had a reliable 30 point bump from 1 tbsp of Friskies w/gravy. One time she even got 70 points from 1 tbsp. I can't complain. Actually, scanning back through her spreadsheet, her usual bump from low carb is about 30 points, so I'm thinking the fact that she needed HC this time means that she was really, truly done with that dose. She is so much easier to steer than Lucy was. I'm spoiled!

The other thing I learned, though, is that Jazzy is not one of those cats who knows how to feed her own curve. Lucy used to get up and feed herself when she was getting low, but when Jazzy was in the 40s she was just snoozing as usual. That is one big reason I decided to play it safe with a 0.5 unit reduction instead of an 0.25 unit reduction, even though she hasn't held 0.5 unit reductions in the past. I'm not as comfortable having her surf low when I'm not home if I can't trust her to feed herself. A lot of our cats learn that "skill" over time, so I'm hoping she will catch on.

Please understand that I don't recommend taking 0.5 unit reductions for most cats! When your cat has acromegaly and your dose is 13 units, sometimes you need to make decisions that don't exactly match the protocol. So far it seems to be holding, but this could still be shed action (13 units makes a huge shed) so we'll see what happens in the next couple of days. I'm really thrilled, though!

I hope everybody has a great day! I'll be out until mid-afternoon but I hope I can hit lots of condos later.
 
Re: 6/4 Jazzy (acro) AMPS 155

libby, i really appreciate your condo and explanations of how you're managing jazzy. especially with 4 of us brand new with our cats diagnosis of acro, it helps SO much to understand.

jazzy is having a wonderful beginning to her caturday!

hugs! have a great day!
 
Re: 6/4 Jazzy (acro) AMPS 155

I'm happy to share!

The goal for acros is not necessarily to spend 24/7 in "healing numbers" (under 120) like a regular diabetic. Most acros already have a working pancreas, so there is no need for them to surf in numbers that will heal their pancreas. The goal is to find a numbers range that is comfortable for them and keep them there. You should be aiming to get them under renal threshhold, which for most cats seems to lie in the 230-250 range. When Jazzy is over 200, her litter box is a disaster and she is mean! She is really liking these low-mid 100s. She is talking and purring more, fighting with the other cats a little less, and I'm cleaning up after her a lot less. Now I just have to figure out how to KEEP these numbers forever. ;-)
 
Re: 6/4 Jazzy (acro) AMPS 155

Hi Libby!

Way to go Jazzy! I can see why your so spoiled in managing her diabetes. It's nice that you have her figured out. Sara is one that will feed herself when she is low. That sure is a plus. Hope Jazzie will learn that one of these days for you.

Have a nice weekend.

jan and sara
 
Re: 6/4 Jazzy (acro) AMPS 155

whoops - i just sent you a pm asking the very things that you've already answered here. can't tell you how much i appreciate hearing the out-loud thinking so i can understand the rationale behind things.
 
Re: 6/4 Jazzy (acro) AMPS 155

ps to all the new high dose mamas - if you spend a few minutes reading Jazzy's spreadsheet comments from the beginning, you will see some of my thought process as we went along. I read through those last night, and I can't believe how much I knew before I even knew I knew it! Now I am promising myself that I will write notes much more often.

I suggest that you do the same - if you learn something or see something or FEEL something, write it on your spreadsheet. You don't have to understand what you're seeing, just write it down. Two things will happen - one day all those random data points will all of a sudden turn into a pattern! And also, one day whatever you wrote down will be exactly the thing some other newbie will need to read and you'll be able to show it to them. Like it or not, everyone with an acro or IAA cat is a pioneer. :smile:

Now I'm really leaving, back in a few hours!
 
Re: 6/4 Jazzy (acro) AMPS 155

Thanks for sharing, Libby - Jazzy is truly lucky to have found you. I always learn from reading your SS....thanks for helping us along the way, too!
 
AMPS 155 (12.50u)
+7 ~ 143

PMPS 107 (12.50u)
+2 ~ 172

Looks like the reduction is holding. :mrgreen:

Usually she keeps climbing until almost +4 unless she is looking to earn another reduction. I thought I would get a +2 just in case that's what she is doing, but since she has a good rise I don't think she will drop to dose reduction levels tonight. Maybe I'll get some sleep tonight after all. I-)
 
i looked at jazzy's ss today. my favorite parts were when you forgot to shoot. :-D nice to know that i'm not the only person who spaces out now and then. thanks for sharing the fun parts!

seriously though, i did learn a lot reading the notes. makes me think i should put more in punkin's.
 
Hi Libby! I've been reading Jazzy's SS and trying to learn as I go along. Really good point about notations on the sheet, which I seldom do. Thanks for all the teaching and sharing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top