6/4 Jack: 227@amps, increased back to 10u

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Very Active Member
I hated to do it this morning, Jack showed some promise with the 9.5 units, but after 7 days and no green, we increased to the 227. Life continues to be insane, I'm having trouble juggling everything that needs tending to; I'm only on the board now since a work meeting was canceled. Not much to report, Jack is Jack, Otis and William are hanging in, and the rest of the herd plod on with their own issues. I managed to roll my ankle and am hobbling around, going to get an ankle brace today and praying the anti-inflammatories work- I seriously don't have time for the doctor.

Hoping all are well, and kitties are behaving! :bighug: :bighug:

Last post:https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-28-jack-154-amps-172-1.290531/
 
I hated to do it this morning, Jack showed some promise with the 9.5 units, but after 7 days and no green, we increased to the 227. Life continues to be insane, I'm having trouble juggling everything that needs tending to; I'm only on the board now since a work meeting was canceled. Not much to report, Jack is Jack, Otis and William are hanging in, and the rest of the herd plod on with their own issues. I managed to roll my ankle and am hobbling around, going to get an ankle brace today and praying the anti-inflammatories work- I seriously don't have time for the doctor.

Hoping all are well, and kitties are behaving! :bighug: :bighug:

Last post:https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-28-jack-154-amps-172-1.290531/
Dang, Christine, that's so much happening! I hope your ankle heals quickly. I'm also sending some "cancel more meetings" vibes. :bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry for the household chaos. And to add an injury to that insult. :bighug:
Jack's Cushing's test and IGF-1 retest now. Would I really be seeing BG numbers in the 50-100 range if he had one of those conditions? At this point, I'm looking at maybe not doing the tests for a few months and putting aside any extra cash to prepare for Otis' last vet appt :( and Gypsy's bloodwork. Thoughts??
Absolutely a Cushings and/or acro kitty could be seeing greens with those conditions, and even at much lower doses. Neko got her first reduction (below 50) at her highest dose of 8.75 units, and that was before she had treatment. We've seen a Cushings kitty max out around 3.5 units (can't remember exactly, somewhere less than 4). Also seen acros on lower doses. Might want to take a look at Shooter's SS as a current example.
 
HI Christine, I hope you can heal your ankle so you can take care of your herd. Sorry to hear you got hurt. Never fun. Please take care of yourself.
You are doing such a great job managing everyone's needs. It's a huge job.
Sending you lots of hugs for support :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh, I am so sorry, Christine, about your ankle! I've had my share of sprains and strains but ankles and shoulders are the worst!
My ankles have been twisted around so many times that the ligaments are pretty much like old underwear. :rolleyes:
I use PhysFlex braces - they are inexpensive and efficient support - you can get them at Amazon.
Hope Jack will work the dose - he's done well with 10U before. He can do it again!
Hope you get to relax a bit :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sending healing vibes for that ankle, Christine. I hope it improves quickly. :bighug:

Although you had to increase Jack's dose, at least the clowder seems to be rolling along without any major issues at the moment. Got my fingers crossed that Jack springs back and works that new dose properly!
 
Sorry for the household chaos. And to add an injury to that insult. :bighug:

Absolutely a Cushings and/or acro kitty could be seeing greens with those conditions, and even at much lower doses. Neko got her first reduction (below 50) at her highest dose of 8.75 units, and that was before she had treatment. We've seen a Cushings kitty max out around 3.5 units (can't remember exactly, somewhere less than 4). Also seen acros on lower doses. Might want to take a look at Shooter's SS as a current example.
Thanks for this input, I really appreciate it. I just need to save some $ to get the tests :-(
 
Back
Top