6/4 Hunter AMPS 216, +2 316, +4.5 252, +8 270, +11 280

Brittanv

Member Since 2021
Previous post from 4/20: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-20-hunter-amps-256-2-249-4-276-6-410-10-376.246398/

We've continued increasing Hunter's Lantus but... I'm not convinced that insulin is doing anything? I do have quite a few gaps in data but he's still in purple/yellow despite a 2u increase. He spikes if he eats carbs. I'm wondering if the insulin isn't doing anything but instead its just the low carb diet change keeping him in the 200s/300s. Unfortunately Hunter was started on Lantus at the same time we changed his diet (before I knew better) and I didn't find this forum or start performing curves until a few weeks later.

My main question is- should I slowly taper him off Lantus and see if his numbers stay the same? I'm still so lost, and I'm upset that I didn't do enough research before just doing what the vet said and starting him out on 2 units of Lantus and the same time as a diet change.

Hunter's spreadsheet

Thanks everyone.
 
Hi there Brittany,

We can't see your spreadsheet. You might need to adjust the permissions settings to allow to to view?

Also, would you please fill out your signature? I see from your previous post you're feeding low carb wet food but it would be good to put that there so we don't have to go back through old threads. Once we can see your spreadsheet we can try to offer up some help.

Here's the info we need for the signature:

Make sure your signature is up-to-date.
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback. There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
We need permission to see your spreadsheet. You don’t want to stop insulin though. You will end up having to go up a lot in dose. We can tell more when we see your spreadsheet. Please also add a signature. You can look At Katherine’s and mine to see what to add.
 
Back
Top