6/4 Gumung Amps 89 pmps 58

Looks like he’ll be getting a reduction tomorrow due to 7 days in greens on this dose? Although he may decide to earn one tonight either way!
 
Looks like he’ll be getting a reduction tomorrow due to 7 days in greens on this dose? Although he may decide to earn one tonight either way!

Yes! I thought so too. With being pmps less than 60s, it was a surprise! I will have to stay up a bit tonight until his number get into safe zone (my safe zone? to sleep :oops:)
 
I both drove with Neko from Vancouver to Fort Collins Colorado and back, and flew down with her. The drive was 3 days each way. I originally thought it would be a nightmare, as Neko made noises on the 10 minutes trip to the vet. I gave her Rescue Remedy for Pets and sprayed her carrier with Feliway. Once she realized she wasn't going to the vet (little did she know!), she calmed down. After that one long trip, we were able to take her on other trips with us, car and ferry rides. All times staying in pet friendly hotels. Her last trip she was taking quite a few medications as well as insulin, and I had to give fluids too. That time I also had to give her PMPS dinner and shot while in the ferry line up on the way there, and on the ferry itself on the way back. Cats can surprise you. Some practice trips before hand might help. Neko was better with the carrier door open so she could get out, but she mostly stayed in there during the car trip.

The flight was more interesting. Next time I wouldn't plan a trip that was so close to the US Thanksgiving. :banghead: I used the Kitty Holster for that trip, and it acted a bit like a Thundershirt and she was quite calm on that trip. Plus it was easy to put on and stayed on until I wanted it off.

What dose you give a cat depends on several things. If flying and not able to monitor as closely, I might give a smaller dose. Though I didn't - I knew I'd be a place I could test by nadir time so gave full dose. Car trips also depends on whether you think he will eat in the car (good thing to try before hand). Neko would only eat if we stopped, so when we had food or stopped for gas. I didn't want to do tests while DH was driving, so we stopped for those anyway. On the way back from Colorado, where she had SRT, she was on a bit of a roll down dose, so I gave her a bit of a reduction to help keep her safe. Going through Wyoming, all the road stops were closed! And we arrived late to one of my planned test spots in Washington due to traffic jam from a fire (some idiot tossed a cigarette onto the dry median). In other words, plan for things to not work exactly as you want them to.
 
I both drove with Neko from Vancouver to Fort Collins Colorado and back, and flew down with her. The drive was 3 days each way. I originally thought it would be a nightmare, as Neko made noises on the 10 minutes trip to the vet. I gave her Rescue Remedy for Pets and sprayed her carrier with Feliway. Once she realized she wasn't going to the vet (little did she know!), she calmed down. After that one long trip, we were able to take her on other trips with us, car and ferry rides. All times staying in pet friendly hotels. Her last trip she was taking quite a few medications as well as insulin, and I had to give fluids too. That time I also had to give her PMPS dinner and shot while in the ferry line up on the way there, and on the ferry itself on the way back. Cats can surprise you. Some practice trips before hand might help. Neko was better with the carrier door open so she could get out, but she mostly stayed in there during the car trip.

The flight was more interesting. Next time I wouldn't plan a trip that was so close to the US Thanksgiving. :banghead: I used the Kitty Holster for that trip, and it acted a bit like a Thundershirt and she was quite calm on that trip. Plus it was easy to put on and stayed on until I wanted it off.

What dose you give a cat depends on several things. If flying and not able to monitor as closely, I might give a smaller dose. Though I didn't - I knew I'd be a place I could test by nadir time so gave full dose. Car trips also depends on whether you think he will eat in the car (good thing to try before hand). Neko would only eat if we stopped, so when we had food or stopped for gas. I didn't want to do tests while DH was driving, so we stopped for those anyway. On the way back from Colorado, where she had SRT, she was on a bit of a roll down dose, so I gave her a bit of a reduction to help keep her safe. Going through Wyoming, all the road stops were closed! And we arrived late to one of my planned test spots in Washington due to traffic jam from a fire (some idiot tossed a cigarette onto the dry median). In other words, plan for things to not work exactly as you want them to.

Wow. What a trip! 3 hours by yourself taking care of Neko? :eek: I am sure Neko enjoyed those time with you!

Our family thought about moving to FL before Gumung was diagnosed with diabetes. We once thought moving would be easier, but now with carrying insulin in cold temp, feeding the cat and inject insulin as well as all those tests, it was so overwhelming. After reading what you have done with Neko, I feel encouraged enough to try out all the tests to prepare the trip.
With 17 hour driving to Florida, I was planning to stay in the car with my two cat and let other family members get sleep in hotels. Never thought about looking for pet friendly hotels until I saw your reply! Will definitely look into it. But also thinking while they were getting used to car environments, if we go into pet friendly hotels, wouldn’t that be another horrifying experience for them? :(

I really wish I could discuss on this trip plan with my two cats :cat:

I am not generally worrying about the tests or his litter cleaning up, which I can handle it easy. (I worry a lot :smuggrin:)
I worry about if there is another episode when Gumung didn’t eat and his number was going down a lot. That would make me freaked out.

If he goes down to .50 in next few weeks, do you suggest possibly skip few times? And if it is, do you think that might cause a lot of ups and downs in his number later on(when he get back to regular dose, and doesn’t work effectively?)
 
Congrats on the reduction to 1U :)
When do you make the road trip to FL?

Thank you Bhooma! Yay finally 1U !!
I will have to go to FL few times to look for house to rent or buy, and moving to FL in late July. Very tight schedule.
But as long as he eats well in car I can’t not be happier.
He’s been to Vet quite a few times, and whenever he’s in the car, he gets very quite as if he’s in shock and in denial mood.
Never let him out from the bag, so I do have to try several times if he does well out of bag. aAlso never been on harness, when Gumung and, Other cat Danchu was young, I tried on harness, they just lay flat and didn’t want to move. :facepalm:

Reading all those experiences Wendy had, I better get to start with harness and get them used to it.
 
if we go into pet friendly hotels, wouldn’t that be another horrifying experience for them?
Neko was quite happy to be out of the car and into a hotel! More room to roam and quieter. Plus beds to sleep on. Home is where their people are. I've taken a few other cats on vacation, which involved a few hours ride followed by staying at cottages or other people's places. One liked it so much she hopped out of the car and ran down the path to the door, after she got to know the place. I do suggest stuffing pillows behind the headboards on the bed, or other hard to move furniture that cats can hide behind.

If you are worried, you can always skip insulin during the day or do a half dose. Pretend it was a fur shot.
 
Neko was quite happy to be out of the car and into a hotel! More room to roam and quieter. Plus beds to sleep on. Home is where their people are. I've taken a few other cats on vacation, which involved a few hours ride followed by staying at cottages or other people's places. One liked it so much she hopped out of the car and ran down the path to the door, after she got to know the place. I do suggest stuffing pillows behind the headboards on the bed, or other hard to move furniture that cats can hide behind.

If you are worried, you can always skip insulin during the day or do a half dose. Pretend it was a fur shot.

Ok, that’s relief seeing that I could skip or make a half dose. Traveling seemed impossible but from your advice, I will try to plan ahead and prepare for the worst case scenarios. Prepare is better than nothing right? :smuggrin:
Thank you Wendy!
 
Back
Top