6/4 Felix AMPS 362

Stephanie Luedke

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone! This is my first post so bear with me. I haven’t started a spreadsheet yet but will ASAP.
Our little boy, Felix, has been on 1.5 units of Lantau for the last 2 weeks or so. He had been regularly in the mid 200s-mid 300s so we bumped up his dose ever so slightly to 1.75 units and then on Monday he had some low readings (low 60s at +6) and then had a rebound (into the upper 400s around shot time). He’s had hypo episodes before (low numbers but no symptoms) and usually after adjusting his insulin dose and after the initial rebound his numbers continue to stay high (300s-400s) for several days and then slowly start to come down again. Well this time he got the following readings;
Monday
AMPS 328 and then gave 1.75 units
+6 = 70
+7 = 68
+10 = 355
PMPS 408, gave 1.5 units
+6=293

Tuesday
AMPS 358, gave 1.5 units
+6=299
+10=230
PMPS 193, didn’t shoot at all
+6=330

wednesday
AMPS 346, gave 1.5 units
+6=220
+10=176
PMPS 200, didn’t shoot at all
+6=340

Thursday AMPS 346, gave 1.5 units
+5=250

thoughts on dosing? Should I not shoot if he’s 250 or below at PMPS time as my vet directed?
 
Hi Stephanie, I answered you over on the main health page. If you could get the Signature set up and then put your SS into the signature, that would make it easier for us to see it
Getting the signature set up to tell us all about Felix would be very helpful as we know nothing about his history.. has he had ketones or other illnesses, what and when you are feeding him, when was he diagnosed, weight, any other medications. All this makes a difference as to how we help you.
So at the moment you are using a freestyle libre. Are you going to start to home test yourself after the libre expires?

It looks like Felix is bouncing from the low numbers which is perfectly normal in a newly diagnosed cat. Bouncing can happen when the cat drops too fast, too low or lower than he is used to. Then he dumps regulatory hormones and stored glucose into his body and the BG shoots up.
I think it would be safe to shoot if the BG is 200 or above. If it is lower, stall don’t feed and ask for help. You can start lowering your preshot number as you get data. On the Lantus forum we say to shoot if it is above 150 if you are new, but if you are more comfortable to start at 200 that is ok and then work your way down.
 
Back
Top