6/4 Esse AMPS=147 PMPS=310 Eeyore AMPS=481 PMPS=357

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele and Esse

Very Active Member
Daily Digest:
Esse AMPS=147. Fed Friskies Turkey and Gibs, shot s3.
+2=206
+5.5=259
PMPS=310. Evo for dinner, shot 3
**************
Eeyore AMPS=481 Fed Friskies Turkey and Gibs, shot 1.25
+2=461
+5.5=404
PMPS=357. Evo for dinner, shot 1.25. Vet tomorrow for recheck.
**************

Morning, all.

Eeyore made it to greens last night after being in the mid4s at PMPS...so I'm keeping the 1.25 for at least a few more cycles (I think). Unfortunately, he broke high rather than low. So I'm still in the battle of the Vs. It will come right, but I'm considering reducing again if I don't see some leveling out today/tomorrow. Other than that, he's being his wonderful self...

I did something totally unusual with Esse last night; she was in the 60s at PMPS, so I only gave her 0.75 units. At +2, she'd come up to the 150s, so I gave her 1.5U, for a total of 2.25U. I have never split the dose before, but seeing as she's in the 140s this morning, I think it was the right decision. We'll see how she does throughout the day.

Happy Furday to everyone!

Best-
Michele

PS: Newbies, please DO NOT follow my lead on dosing. Eeyore is in the middle of an experiment, and splitting Esse's dose last night is NOT a recommended thing (except in certain circumstances). Please, please, please understand that this is NOT the normal treatment paradigm. Thanks.
 
Re: 6/4 Esse AMPS=147 Eeyore AMPS=481

Interesting experiment with Esse, and Eeyore is still being dramatic, huh? That boy needs to learn that U shaped curves are better than the V's. Or I suppose I should talk to Mr. Liver, right?
 
Re: 6/4 Esse AMPS=147 Eeyore AMPS=481

CD and BigMac said:
Interesting experiment with Esse, and Eeyore is still being dramatic, huh? That boy needs to learn that U shaped curves are better than the V's. Or I suppose I should talk to Mr. Liver, right?
Esse's experiment came from me being too big a chickenS to shoot the whole dose at 67...and then monitoring to see when she'd top 150. I figured if she topped 150 before I went to bed, then I could safely give some more insulin, and try to abort the bounce. Seeing as she was at a nice 147 this morning, I think perhaps it worked? I don't know yet, but I'm ever hopeful...we will know in a day or so if this managed to keep the bounce from happening, and although I don't recommend this at all...maybe I was able to keep her low enough for more healing rather than trying to correct a bounce.

As for the Big Ball of Grey Fuzzlove, yes, he's still being dramatic. He will learn - we did have a whole 20hours there in the pinks, no ups or downs, so maybe he learned something there. As I've said, right now, I'm not too worried about getting blues/greens for him...I just want to flatten the V and reduce the drama. I just want him to get more flat...know what I mean? After he learns how to be flat (or at least moreso), I'll worry about the color. But for now, flat is where it's at! (Oh, Hello, Mr. Eeyore? Can you please read this and tell Mr. Liver the message?? Thanks)

We'll see how it goes today...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 6/4 Esse AMPS=147 Eeyore AMPS=481

Well, so the splitting dose to avoid a bounce didn't work. She's at 259 @ 5.5, the highest she's been at nadir in about 10 days...I still don't blame myself for not shooting 3u at 67...just not something I could do. She'll clear this fairly fast, though, I think.

Unlike Eeyore. Bless his heart. He's staying up in the 4's for now...still, there is a slow decline - which is what I want!!! - so perhaps he'll gradually come down over the next few cycles. He did find green last night, so I think this is clearly a rebound. From how low, I don't know - I'm going to try to stay up later tonight and see where he goes by pmps+5; if he does what he did yesterday - in the 4s at PMPS and then into the greens by +4 (+/- 80 points an hour), then I may consider reducing the dose to a flat 1 unit. He's a strange one, is Eeyore...

I will say this: I never gave him time to adjust to a new diet...just threw him onto insulin immediately. I'm beginning to wonder if changing the diet did most of the trick? As it stands, he's healthy now (at least as far as I can see); not the skinny, sparsely covered in coarse hair, lethargic cat he was when he came here...

Well. We will see over the next few cycles how he does...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 6/4 Esse AMPS=147 Eeyore AMPS=481

Looks like Esse bounced to 310, and is now in the process of droppng again - PM +2=253. Ditto to Eeyore...now at 217 from a dinner number of 357.

Vets for Eeyore tomorrow, and I've got some questions about things for her...will update all in the afternoon (late).

Best-
Michele
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top