6/4 Champ +11 160, PMPS 205, +3 82, +4.25 61, +5 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Champ has gotten into the habit of turning his nose up at mealtime. I put down his food, he waits for me to pick him up and place him in front of it, and then he tries to bury it. I then pick a hunk up with my fingers and put it in front of his face and he proceeds to eat it. I can safely say that if my cat expects to be hand fed every day, he may go hungry!! But probably not because if he doesn't eat, I can't shoot. Hmmmm, I think he's figure this out himself :lol: Dang, why do cats have to be so smart?!! :lol: :lol:

Champ hasn't had this low an AMPS for a few days so I hope that means he'll have a nice green day. It would be so awesome to have him do that on a SaturDAY instead of any night!! For now, I think I'll head back to bed for a bit and then maybe go to my WW meeting if I can get my butt back out of bed. :-D

I ordered test strips from someone on ebay this past Thursday, making sure it was someone on the west coast so it would be quick shipping. I finally got them yesterday...after I've already had to purchase more strips from Walmart because I ran out. Their excuse for me not getting them sooner is that they were away for the holiday. Uh, excuse me, don't have an auction ending right before a holiday if you can't get it in the mail before you leave. Besides, they should have had it in the mail that Friday. Oh well. And I had to buy a new backup meter because I didn't want to ask for my original backup meter back from my neighbor. One thing I learned though...I like my backup meter much better. The meter I use full time is the Accu-Chek Aviva and my backup is a Relion Confirm. The Relion meter uses much less blood so I don't have to re-poke Champ's poor ear when I don't get enough blood. The Aviva seems to need a lot and the Relion just the tiniest bit. Also, while buying the Aviva strips on ebay is relatively cheap (about $16 for a box of 50), if you have to get them in town in an emergency, they're $56 for a box of 50 at Walmart. The Relion strips are cheaper at Walmart than the Aviva ones at $33 for a box of 50, but I found that Sam's Club sells the Relion strips for $16 for a box of 50. So as soon as I use up all the Aviva strips, I'm going to start using the Relion. And the Relion's numbers are lower than the Aviva by 10-15 points. This means that the two dose decreases that Champ earned this past week wouldn't have happened if I had been using the Aviva meter. Because of this, I'm tempted to give him his dose decreases if he falls below 55 using the Aviva meter, but only if his current decreases prove to be successful.

I hope everyone has a super Saturday!!! :-D
 
Re: 6/4 Champ AMPS 227

Nice PS number for Champ!! Maybe green later today? hope so!

Interesting about the Relion meter - I use the Accu Chek Aviva.....the strips are so darned expensive - I go between ebay and Amazon for them - I just bought 200 strips for $15/box off of eBay...should be here today or Monday, we shall see. I may look into the relion meter though - I used to have one, but gave it way last year and can't ask for it back :roll: Thanks for the info on it, Patty!
 
Re: 6/4 Champ AMPS 227

Get the Aviva Strips on amazon.com--I pay like $20-23 for a pkg of 50-& buy 4 at a time..
Go on the main amazon pg. & type in accu check aviva mail order strips & they come up--OK?
I love aviva & think it's evry accurate--That's why it's accu check :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Nice low yellow today--Have a great Caturday!! Hugs from us!
 
Re: 6/4 Champ AMPS 227

Just stopping by to say Good Morning. Someone said the Accu-Chek is closer in range to the Alpha Trak, but not sure if that's correct. I order from American Diabetes Wholesale. A lot of the Beans here like the Relion confirm. I have the Relion Micro and it sips a small drop and the numbers are much lower than the one I use. I hope you and Champ have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 6/4 Champ AMPS 227

Ann - I bet the Aviva is closer to the AlphaTrak because the numbers are so much higher than the Relion.

Roni - I've never tried Amazon for strips. Twice I've bought off ebay, both times $100 for 300 strips which is about $16/box of 5. Not a bad price, but you have to count on the people you buy them from to get them in the mail in a decent amount of time, unless of course you don't wait to order strips at the last minute like I do :roll:

Good morning, Julie. I'm off to visit Punkin's (and others) condo!!

Sherry - Who knew that the strips would be the most expensive part of FD? The last time I bought 300 strips, they lasted about a month. I seriously need to go to Testaholics Anonymous! ;-)
 
Re: 6/4 Champ AMPS 227, +2 122

I remember hand feeding Curry when we first started this. It was EVO canned and I didn't realize that she wasn't too fond of the food until I gave her FF and boy she laps it up. We were on the FF for months and then I switched to Merrick before grain. But I still use the FF for the snacks in the afternoon. It has a lovely liver taste that she seems to enjoy. I'll use chicken dust and parmasean cheese now to entice her to eat the Merrick. Things we do for furbabies.....they are lucky to have such crazy, loving beans.


Champ.....Just eat the fud sweetie. And don't be so picky.

Finicky_Cat.jpg
 
Re: 6/4 Champ AMPS 227, +2 122, +3 74, +3.5 43, +4 58 Dosing

Since Champ has gotten below 50 today, I know he's earned an automatic reduction (and this is using the Aviva meter which is 10-15 points higher than the Relion I used earlier this week). However, is it a good idea to have three reductions in such a short period of time? Basically, he's been earning a reduction every four cycles. Any dosing experts with an opinion, or anyone else, let me know!! Thanks.
 
Re: 6/4 Champ AMPS 227, +2 122, +3 74, +3.5 43, +4 58 Dosing

This is the third cycle since your last reduction so there shouldn't be too much shed carry over still in effect. This is a low 40 as well, not just barely squeaking in there. Once a cat hits that breakthrough dose they will often start coming down in a hurry. I'm not one of the experts, but I think Champ earned the reduction again. This will at least give you a bump.
 
Re: 6/4 Champ AMPS 227, +3 74, +3.5 43, +4 58, +4.5 56 - Dos

Thanks Ann! To be honest, I can't believe this is happening!! I don't even want to talk about it for fear of the jinx! So antijinx antijinx antijinx
 
Re: 6/4 Champ AMPS 227, +3.5 43, +4 58, +5 62, +5.5 63 - Dos

I'm really loving this surf. I've had to give very little in the way of carbs, too!
 
Re: 6/4 Champ AMPS 227, +3.5 43, +4 58, +5 62, +6 70 - Dosin

Any dosing experts out there?!! I still have a question about dosing. My previous post:

Since Champ has gotten below 50 today, I know he's earned an automatic reduction (and this is using the Aviva meter which is 10-15 points higher than the Relion I used earlier this week). However, is it a good idea to have three reductions in such a short period of time? Basically, he's been earning a reduction every four cycles. Any dosing experts with an opinion, or anyone else, let me know!! Thanks.

Thanks bunches!! :-D
 
Re: 6/4 Champ AMPS 227, +3.5 43, +4 58, +5 62, +6 70 - Dosin

Patty, if it ain't broke, don't fix it.

What I mean is this....don't change the target number for reductions based on the meter. The protocol is written for all human glucometers, the numbers don't change unless you are using a pet meter. If the protocol is working, use it as written. If it stops working, THEN you might need to tweak it....but until that happens, follow the protocol. Likewise with the reductions....as long as they are holding, reduce by 0.25u every time he earns a reduction unless he earns another reduction on the first cycle of a new reduction because of shed action (does that makes sense?), or the reduction fails. Some cats go down the ladder fast, some slower....you have to follow their lead.

Looking good! :mrgreen: Nice curve management today, too. :-D

A quick note about the Relion Confirm test strips....I use that meter, and I buy my strips at Walmart. I pay $20/50 strips or $36/100 strips. If you are being charged $33/50 strips, you might want to check with the manager about the correct pricing.... :shock:
 
Re: 6/4 Champ AMPS 227, +3.5 43, +4 58, +5 62, +6 70, +8 100

Thanks for getting back to me Laurie!! Okay...reduction it is!!!
 
Re: 6/4 Champ AMPS 227, +3.5 43, +4 58, +5 62, +6 70, +8 100

LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!

its great to see champ doing well and hitting some fantastic numbers!!!
 
Re: 6/4 Champ AMPS 227, +3.5 43, +4 58, +5 62, +6 70, +8 100

you sound like me - I was always nervous about taking reductions. ;-) I agree with Laurie, though. What you are doing is working, so keep it up. If it stops working, then we can come up with a different plan. Looks good!
 
Re: 6/4 Champ AMPS 227, +3.5 43, +4 58, +6 70, +8 100, +11 1

Gorgeous day for Champ - congrats on the decrease!!!
 
Re: 6/4 Champ AMPS 227, +3.5 43, +4 58, +6 70, +8 100, +11 1

What a great day for Champ! You've gotten great input so congrats on the reduction.
 
Re: 6/4 Champ AMPS 227, +3.5 43, +4 58, +6 70, +8 100, +11 1

What a wonderful Saturday for you and Champ! Yay! I hope the decrease goes smoothly
 
Re: 6/4 Champ AMPS 227, +3.5 43, +4 58, +6 70, +8 100, +11 1

what a great day for Champ - so very nice. Congrats on the reduction!

And Champ - eat your fuds. You and Mannie would get along just fine. he likes to be served too.
 
Re: 6/4 Champ +11 160, PMPS 205

Tons of congratulations on the decreases Patty! You must be so very, very, very happy. It is so great to see the progress that Champ has made due to your love and persistence. Champ gets the dose decrease, but you're the bean who earned it for him. :smile: Awesome job.
 
Re: 6/4 Champ +11 160, PMPS 205, +2 147, +82

Thanks!!! I wish I could take credit for this, but I think Champ just decided to get serious about it. It all just seems surreal. It's really hard not to start hoping, but I'm scared I'm going to be disappointed! I'll just keep doing the one foot in front of the other routine and see what happens! :-D
 
Re: 6/4 Champ +11 160, PMPS 205, +2 147, +82

Congrats on the reduction!!! Champ is looking superb!!!

The Aviva seems to need a lot and the Relion just the tiniest bit. Also, while buying the Aviva strips on ebay is relatively cheap (about $16 for a box of 50), if you have to get them in town in an emergency, they're $56 for a box of 50 at Walmart. The Relion strips are cheaper at Walmart than the Aviva ones at $33 for a box of 50, but I found that Sam's Club sells the Relion strips for $16 for a box of 50. So as soon as I use up all the Aviva strips, I'm going to start using the Relion. And the Relion's numbers are lower than the Aviva by 10-15 points. This means that the two dose decreases that Champ earned this past week wouldn't have happened if I had been using the Aviva meter. Because of this, I'm tempted to give him his dose decreases if he falls below 55 using the Aviva meter, but only if his current decreases prove to be successful.

I thought they said there would be no math in LL???? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/4 Champ +11 160, PMPS 205, +2 147, +82

HAHAHAHAHA :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Marje, you slay me!!! Can you tell I had some free time on my hands and no one to talk to here at home???
 
Re: 6/4 Champ +11 160, PMPS 205, +2 147, +82

Yes, Patty, I can tell :lol: :lol: ;-) ;-)

And he's back to green.....looks like a bit of a full shed!! Guess who gave me a 36 at +2? :shock: :shock:
 
Re: 6/4 Champ +11 160, PMPS 205, +2 147, +3 82, +3.75 65

Hey Champ! After Party in the Green Lagoon! See you there! -- Tess
 
Re: 6/4 Champ +11 160, PMPS 205, +2 147, +3 82, +3.75 65

Marje, I saw that!!!! She is probably the most unpredictable cat I've ever seen!!! Life is never boring with her, I'm sure!!! You can never go anywhere, but it's never boring!! :lol:

Julie, Champ defnitely seems to be on a mission. I just wish I knew what it was!!! :lol:
 
Re: 6/4 Champ +11 160, PMPS 205, +2 147, +3 82, +3.75 65

Hey Tess!!!! That sounds like a plan!!!! I gotta get outta here! The pokefest has begun and I've had enough!!
 
Re: 6/4 Champ +11 160, PMPS 205, +2 147, +3 82, +4.25 61

Love that picture!!! :lol: :lol: Totally fits in with my family of pilots :-D
 
Re: 6/4 Champ +11 160, PMPS 205, +2 147, +3 82, +4.25 61

I know!!! How loowwww will Champ go??

9e2a5015-a087-4208-8b52-9d09804f2de6.jpg


I'm going to bed and my much better half is going to do a little more testing. See you tomorrow in LL. Hope you get some rest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top