6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50 +3.5/48 +4/64

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bucasmom

Member Since 2012
Ok I hope I'm not getting annoying on here lol

Buca will have a higher number one pre shot, and a much lower number by the next... I've seen this now with yesterday morning's amps and this evening's PMPS. Should I shoot this still? Why isn't the change less drastic by now?

Yesterday morning I skipped because it was getting to be too late to have it 12 hours between shots. I can still get away with it if I shoot in the next hour and a half or so right now... Just concerned that his numbers will keep dropping too low if I do give him the 1u lantus. I have all the info printed off for low numbers and the stickies for tight regulation but still thought I'd better post to make sure... his numbers are all over the place and I'm still learning what they are telling me.


I was out of town today so I didn't get to test any other numbers except am and pm ps. :-D
 
Re: 6/4 Today's AMPS was 360, PMPS 189... safe to shoot?

We generally consider a 150 pre-shot as a number to watch when you're still new. If you want, you can wait 20 min. or so and re-test to see if numbers are either flat or rising.

Personally, I would shoot. Remember, it can take up to 2 hours for Lantus onset to begin and you're going to be feeding. It does look like Buca has an early onset. So, as long as you feel comfortable shooting, have strips, high carb food, and can stay awake to monitor, you're good to go.
 
Re: 6/4 Today's AMPS was 360, PMPS 189... safe to shoot?

Sienne and Gabby said:
We generally consider a 150 pre-shot as a number to watch when you're still new. If you want, you can wait 20 min. or so and re-test to see if numbers are either flat or rising.

Personally, I would shoot. Remember, it can take up to 2 hours for Lantus onset to begin and you're going to be feeding. It does look like Buca has an early onset. So, as long as you feel comfortable shooting, have strips, high carb food, and can stay awake to monitor, you're good to go.

That's the thing... I won't be up to monitor as DH and I have to work in the morning.... I will only be up probably for the next 3 maybe 4 hours or so... still shoot?
 
Re: 6/4 Today's AMPS was 360, PMPS 189... safe to shoot?

Most of us don't stay up all night. It's a risk you may need to consider, though. At least the way I look at it, it's no different than if you had a sick child. You wouldn't tell the child to fend for herself.

Some people here will sleep-test if they need to. In other words, they set an alarm, test, and if all is good, go back to sleep.

If you always skip a shot whenever there's a possibility of a low number, you will lose momentum.
 
Re: 6/4 Today's AMPS was 360, PMPS 189... safe to shoot?

Sienne and Gabby said:
Most of us don't stay up all night. It's a risk you may need to consider, though. At least the way I look at it, it's no different than if you had a sick child. You wouldn't tell the child to fend for herself.

Some people here will sleep-test if they need to. In other words, they set an alarm, test, and if all is good, go back to sleep.

If you always skip a shot whenever there's a possibility of a low number, you will lose momentum.

You're right :) He's gone up to 202, basically the same, but I shot. I'll monitor him tonight to make sure he is okay :-D Thanks!

Should I test every hour or couple of hours?
 
Re: 6/4 Today's AMPS was 360, PMPS 189... safe to shoot?

Did you take a +2 reading? That will usually give you an idea where Bucas is heading.
 
Re: 6/4 Today's AMPS was 360, PMPS 189... safe to shoot?

Buca seems to have an early onset. I'd get a +2. If it's markedly lower than your pre-shot, get a +3.

Also, the 202 is your PMPS. (The 189 would be your +12.) Remember to update your subject line, especially if you're not sure what to do. Marje is usually around later than I am -- she's on Pacific time.
 
Re: 6/4 Today's AMPS was 360, PMPS 189... safe to shoot?

Sienne and Gabby said:
Buca seems to have an early onset. I'd get a +2. If it's markedly lower than your pre-shot, get a +3.

Also, the 202 is your PMPS. (The 189 would be your +12.) Remember to update your subject line, especially if you're not sure what to do. Marje is usually around later than I am -- she's on Pacific time.

Just rechecked and it was actually 207. I just did a +1 and it was 194. I shot at 8pm and it is now 9pm
 
Re: 6/4 AMPS was 360, +12 189, PMPS 207. Shot. Now monitori

Pls update your subject line so that ppl can see your figures. Use the edit function key for editing.
 
6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1 194

tortie58 said:
Pls update your subject line so that ppl can see your figures. Use the edit function key for editing.

Should be edited :-D Should I post every + that I do? I'm also updating my spreadsheet. +2 will be in 20 mins.
 
Re: 6/4 AMPS was 360, +12 189, PMPS 207, +1 194

What I would suggest is to add Buca's name to your subject line and delete the AM cycle info. Your subject line would then read:

6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1 194​

You can then post your evening cycle numbers as you get them. Nice job shooting!!
 
Re: 6/4 AMPS was 360, +12 189, PMPS 207, +1 194

Sienne and Gabby said:
What I would suggest is to add Buca's name to your subject line and delete the AM cycle info. Your subject line would then read:

6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1 194​

You can then post your evening cycle numbers as you get them. Nice job shooting!!

Gotcha ;-) Should be displaying properly now. ... +2 is 90! Are we still ok? nailbite_smile
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1 194, +2 90

Hi! I'm stepping in now so Sienne can go to bed. Did you retest that +2? That's a pretty big drop. If you didn't please retest before you do anything else. If you did, then please feed Buca two good tsp of low carb food and we'll see if it slows him down. Retest in 30 mins. I'll be here. :-D
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1 194, +2 90

I didn't double check it... but just tested him again and he's 63. He seems fine, not acting funny or anything. He's eating now. I'll test again in 30 mins.
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1 194, +2 90

Well 63 is still a very normal number so I wouldn't expect him to act strange but he's coming down really fast. What % carbs are you feeding him, Heather? If it's really low, you might consider giving him a 10% or something like that to try and get him to slow down. It's just a wee bit early for all this drama.

I'm really glad you got the +1 and +2. Now you can see firsthand that if the +2 is much lower than the PS, you will likely have an active cycle early.

I'll be staying up to check in on you. See you in 30 unless you have questions.
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63

I don't have the % on the labels for those ingredients... it's fancy feast pate right now which in canada is the same as classics. 11% protein, 5% fat, 1.5% fibre. I do have leftover dry kibble he was eating before he was diagnosed. Hills W/D. If I water that down a bit will it get into his system faster? I also have corn syrup on hand too just in case.
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63

No...don't give dry. It takes a long time to bring up the BG and then keeps it up for a long time. Letx see what his +3 is but you want to be sure and give him the 2 tsp each time. Hopefully he'll slow down here shortly.

ETA: we usually suggest that you get a wide variety of % carb foods and then label the top with a marker as to how many carbs are in it.
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63

Marjorie and Gracie said:
No...don't give dry. It takes a long time to bring up the BG and then keeps it up for a long time. Letx see what his +3 is but you want to be sure and give him the 2 tsp each time. Hopefully he'll slow down here shortly.

ETA: we usually suggest that you get a wide variety of % carb foods and then label the top with a marker as to how many carbs are in it.

How do I know the % carbs if it isn't listed on the label? I can use janet and binky's charts but aren't the ingredients different compared to Canada?
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Do you have any FF grilled varieties with gravy?

No I don't have any of that.

I can see if there is any at the 24hr convenience store... they sometimes have cat food. Should I?
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50

Unless it is required to list the as fed values on the label in Canada, you won't know without calling the company. But any of the FF with gravy are higher in carbs.
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Unless it is required to list the as fed values on the label in Canada, you won't know without calling the company. But any of the FF with gravy are higher in carbs.

Should I see if there is any at the convenience store do you think?
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50

Do you have maple syrup, Karo or honey or any kind of syrup at home?
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50

tortie58 said:
Do you have maple syrup, Karo or honey or any kind of syrup at home?

Yes I have honey, maple syrup, and corn syrup
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50

If you can. I would rather he get gravy over karo or syrup although we may have to resort to that. Can someone go for you?
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50

Marjorie and Gracie said:
If you can. I would rather he get gravy over karo or syrup although we may have to resort to that. Can someone go for you?

Yes DH is going to go... if they don't have that fancy feast gravy ones will any other wet food do that has gluten ingredients?
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50

Since you dont have any gravy kind of canned food in house, you can bring Buca up a bit by using a FEW drops of syrup or honey mix with a tsp of her canned food to feed her. The sweet will boost up her bg a bit.
Do it slow on the syrup, Test in 20min & do again if she's still in the 50's range. You need to do at least two times to make sure she is on the raise.
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50

We've cross posted Marjorie! You can take over from here?
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50

tortie58 said:
Since you dont have any gravy kind of canned food in house, you can bring Buca up a bit by using a FEW drops of syrup or honey mix with a tsp of her canned food to feed her. The sweet will boost up her bg a bit.
Do it slow on the syrup, Test in 20min & do again if she's still in the 50's range. You need to do at least two times to make sure she is on the raise.

*He ;-)

DH went to see if they have it at the store...
Should I do the sweet stuff instead right away ?
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50

Helen...yes..I've got her...thank you :-D

Heather...usually anything with gravy would be higher...maybe some Friskies even? If his next test is a lot lower and you don't have gravy, we will add a drop of syrup or honey. I'm waiting for your test. Is he doing ok?

Don't forget to have DH get you some chocolate and wine :-D
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Helen...yes..I've got her...thank you :-D

Heather...usually anything with gravy would be higher...maybe some Friskies even? If his next test is a lot lower and you don't have gravy, we will add a drop of syrup or honey. I'm waiting for your test. Is he doing ok?

Don't forget to have DH get you some chocolate and wine :-D

Haha yes that would be nice ;)

he's still doin fine. Sitting in the kitchen. I think he's catching on that I keep putting food in his bowl so he doesn't want to wander too far away lol ... whenever I talk to him he chirps at me. I couldn't wait so I did a test at the 20min mark and it was 48.6. Going to test again at the 30 min mark soon.

DH found friskies turkey and cheese dinner in gravy
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50

Good....and you might have gotten him slowed down. Just post when you get the number ok?
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Good....and you might have gotten him slowed down. Just post when you get the number ok?

Still exactly 48.6
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50 +3.5/48.6

Should I not have shot the full 1u? Or is this just something I can expect to happen while he's getting used to the Lantus? DH thought not to shoot, but I didn't want to skip and not be consistent.
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50 +3.5/48.6

I gave him a couple of tsp of the gravy food. I'll test again in 20 mins.
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50 +3.5/48.6

You did fine in shooting the 1u. But with that 48, he earned a dose reduction. We'll talk about that in a minute.

Just a couple tsp of gravy....no food. I'll be here :-D
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50 +3.5/48.6

Marjorie and Gracie said:
You did fine in shooting the 1u. But with that 48, he earned a dose reduction. We'll talk about that in a minute.

Just a couple tsp of gravy....no food. I'll be here :-D

It's mostly gravy anyway so I made sure he had more of that... it's shredded. Looks like worms. Sick. Lol
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50 +3.5/48.6

He probably loved it. You can round the BG up for the subject line and your SS or else it will take up too much room. So 48 is fine. :-D
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50 +3.5/48 +4

Should I give him more gravy or regular wet food or let him settle a bit?
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50 +3.5/48 +4

64 is right. GOOD JOB :-D if he's hungry, he can have a tsp of his regular food. Be sure and note on his SS what you gave him and how much so you'll have that for the future. How about another test in 30? I'll be back..I have to test and feed Gracie.

Nice work!
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50 +3.5/48 +4

Marjorie and Gracie said:
64 is right. GOOD JOB :-D if he's hungry, he can have a tsp of his regular food. Be sure and note on his SS what you gave him and how much so you'll have that for the future. How about another test in 30? I'll be back..I have to test and feed Gracie.

Nice work!

We would be lost without you and Tortie!! Thank you for helping us through this :smile:

Ok we'll regroup in 30
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50 +3.5/48 +4

You're welcome! I'll stay up with you until we get a couple of solid rising numbers.

Just a few important things to touch on:
  • If he is over 300 at AMPS, if you want, you can shoot through the bounce with the 1u dose and then take the reduction to .75u in the evening tomorrow
OR
  • if he is below 300 at AMPS, shoot the new dose of .75u

Be sure you read the link for Handling Low Numbers in my signature block just in case he comes back down later in the cycle when the carbs wear off and I am I-) I-) I-)

Also be sure and read the other link there for Dealing with Low preshots. It's always good to print these out and have them handy for quick reference.
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50 +3.5/48 +4

Heather

Please be sure you put the 48 on your SS. To do that, go to the +3 column and type in "50; 48 @ 3.5"

Thank you!
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50 +3.5/48 +4

Will do... think I've updated it properly now...

+4.5/90

Should I continue every hour now or two?
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50 +3.5/48 +4

sweet! a reduction! :-D I'll be able to test a bit during the day tomorrow when I take breaks at work.

AM shot at 8, break to test at 10, lunch 12, break to test at 3, test when I get home at 5 then the usual +11, 12 and pmps.
 
Re: 6/4 Buca PMPS 207, +1/194 +2/90 +2.5/63 +3/50 +3.5/48 +4

Yes...you can go to every hour. You need two rising numbers which are not influenced by food before you can sleep without getting up to test. Since he mostly had LC, he should not turn around on you but he's a cat. Of course, if you test in a hour and he's at 250, I'd call it a night. Then in the morning, reduce or shoot through a bounce over 300.

Really nice job tonight, Heather! You got alot of good info.

How comfortable are you now with his numbers? If you are worried or stressed, I can sleep for an hour and then get up to check on you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top