6/4 Billie PMPS 212 +2 163

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Well hello there, sunny AMPS 225! I'll take it! :smile: I'm curious to see where she goes with that.

Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119752

I hope everyone has a great day!!

Edited to add: I just noticed that food values for Merrick and Tiki Cat have been updated on Dr. Lisa's chart as of 5/31! http://www.catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf The newer Merrick pate varieties are all 5% carb or less with Chicken Pate at 2%, so that's awesome! The Turducken that used to be 9% is actually 6%.

I have been feeding Turducken at pre-shot times thinking that the slightly elevated carb content might slow some of Billie's wild drops, so I guess I should keep experimenting with some other options closer to 10%.

Anyway, this was a helpful find for me, and hopefully it will be useful for anyone else feeding Merrick or Tiki Cat!
 
Re: 6/4 Billie AMPS 225 +2 286 +3 192 +4 247 - weird numbers

Hello everyone! I am totally confused by Billie's numbers today. This is our 8th cycle since the dose increase to 1.25.

AMPS 225
+2 286
+3 192
+4 247

We definitely didn't have a fur shot. I am totally confident that the insulin went in, and I have been smelling her fur after every shot just in case. Maybe this is just a weird cycle, but I'm wondering if maybe our Lantus is getting weak and we need a new pen? I dropped it a couple weeks ago as some of you may remember, and it ended up with a bunch of tiny bubbles in it that have turned into one big bubble. It clearly has been working since then, but could it be getting weaker? If these numbers make sense to anyone, please let me know! :smile: Thank you.
 
Re: 6/4 Billie AMPS 225 +2 286 +3 192 +4 247 - weird numbers

Hi Deanna.

I'm not an advice giver, but looking at Billie's spreadsheet, these numbers are not that weird. I see several similar patterns over the past few weeks. It looks to me like Billie nadirs early a lot of the time. Do you feed anywhere in mid-cycle? That could explain some of the rising numbers after +3. I won't speculate any more - that is all this is. I'll leave it to the experts. Not sure what to tell you about the insulin either.

I guess all I'm really good for is moral support! :lol: Have a great day, Deanna!
 
Re: 6/4 Billie AMPS 225 +2 286 +3 192 +4 247 - weird numbers

Hi Deanna and Billie,

I have to agree with Tricia that it looks like Billie does nadir early - anywhere between +3 and +5 and then begins to rise until PMPS. Could this morning's +2 be a food spike, even though, typically, Billie doesn't get these? Not sure.

Thank you for visiting Pixie's condo and sharing the information about Dr. Lisa's food chart. The first thing I did was compare the Merrick and Wellness carb values, which are 2% and 6% respectively. Although, both are considered LC, there is a definite difference when feeding them to Pixie. The higher carb Wellness acts like a MC diet suggesting that Pixie is carb sensitive. I'm so grateful for these charts, including the ones that Ann and John have on Tess' ss.

Good luck Deanna, getting Billie to surf in a lower range of numbers - those pinks can be nasty when you haven't seen them in a while. Take care, guys!

Anne
 
Re: 6/4 Billie AMPS 225 +2 286 +3 192 +4 247 - weird numbers

I would have probably rechecked the +3....when they drop almost 100 points in an hour, you have to wonder if the strip might have been bad or the sample was off (or a million other things that can go wrong)

If you throw that test out, you've got a flat yellow so far today...and a lot of times flat yellow cycles are followed by active ones, so tonight or tomorrow might be much different.

I'd hold the dose at least for tonight's cycle...that'd be cycle 9 on the 1.25, (Maybe even hold it through tomorrow AM) and if you still aren't seeing better nadirs, up to 1.5 you go!

Come on Billie...Work that juice!!

Your insulin is most likely just fine...it looks like it's not even a month old yet, and as long as it's clear with no "floaties" (air bubbles aren't "floaties), it's most likely just fine! My pen has air bubbles in it too and is much older than 1 month, and you can see it's working fine for China. Billie just may need more juice

Also..192 and 247 are within the 20% variance so are basically the same number...again, a flat yellow cycle

192+20%=230
247-20%=197
 
Re: 6/4 Billie AMPS 225 +2 286 +3 192 +4 247 - weird numbers

Thanks Tricia!! Moral support is always lovely!

Billie usually eats at preshots, +2s, and again somewhere between +5 and +9 - I usually leave food out and she comes and goes as she pleases through those hours. I have been trying to spread out her preshot meals a bit and have been encouraging her to eat a bit at +1. Sometimes she does, and sometimes not so much. It does seem like she nadirs early.
 
Re: 6/4 Billie AMPS 225 +2 286 +3 192 +4 247 - weird numbers

Thank you Chris!!! I didn't think to re-check the +3 because Billie has so many crazy drops, but that would have been good to do. I was mostly confused by the higher number at +2. I have never seen that happen with her, so that's what threw me off. We'll see! You're probably right - she may just need more juice. I'll ask again before increasing but can do that tomorrow morning or tomorrow night depending on what happens between now and then. Thank you thank you!
 
Re: 6/4 Billie AMPS 225 +2 286 +3 192 +4 247 +7 220 ??

We are still in flat yellow territory. I have a question about flat yellows. I have heard and read a lot of posts where people have said that flat yellows can precede a big move or an active cycle. I'm wondering why that is. It reminds me of the way everything gets very still and the wind stops blowing right before a big storm hits.
 
Re: 6/4 Billie AMPS 225 +2 286 +3 192 +4 247 +7 220 ??

You know I've never gotten a really good explanation of that either! I have seen it happen enough times to know it does though!

Maybe we'll both learn something!

I totally agree on your example though....Living in the midwest, we always watch for the "calm before the storm"! :lol:
 
Re: 6/4 Billie AMPS 225 +2 286 +3 192 +4 247 +7 220 PMPS 212

Anne, thank you for your comment earlier today!! I think I was posting at the same time, and somehow missed it until just now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top