6/4-5 -Bella AMPS/20.8. PMPS/15, +3.5/8.9

Excellent I’ll pick up a kit- and test tomorrow afternoon evening. Maybe the new vet won’t need bloodwork if I’m doing BG checks and keystone checks.
The only biscuits I have a the RC renal… are they ok?
You certainly don’t need to check the BGs or the ketones with a blood draw. That’s an unnecessary expense.
Your SS and the urine ketones tests are fine to keep a track of things
It is only if you need to check the kidney values and other blood values.
If the renal dry food you have is k/d it is 38% carbs.
Wet food is obviously much better but there is a hills diabetic or dietetic dry food which is 17% carbs so still much too high but better than 38% .
If kidneys are an issue, it would be better looking at low phosphorus wet foods…we can tell you more about that later.

Also thinking about it- we did a urine analysis test but I thought that was about her kidneys- I’m not sure if I got sent those results.
The ketone test looked as if it was part of the blood test. It is found in the urine and the blood.
 
If Bella like dry food, you could look at trying the freeze dried foods that Ziwi Leak has. They are low carb and cats who like dry foods seem to like them …you can buy them at places like petbarn, pet circle and other pet stores.
 
Oh crap! I’ve scrolled back- I wasn’t meant to put her food out till later? Sorry I put food out already and she at a good amount of biscuits.
 
Ok I’ll check them out tomorrow.

Bella has had some dry biscuits.

+2/13.5

I’d get a +4 and if it has not dropped I would call it a night, but leave some food out for her.
In the morning, post and ask about the dose. I may be around or @Wendy&Neko, @tiffmaxee will hopefully be around.
Until we find out if ketones are still around or not I would leave out some dry so you know she will eat when you are not there during the day.
Sleep well.
Oh crap! I’ve scrolled back- I wasn’t meant to put her food out till later? Sorry I put food out already and she at a good amount of biscuits.
That’s ok, don’t worry. The most important things are she is eating and getting insulin. Also make sure there is plenty of water for her to drink. :)
 
I’d get a +4 and if it has not dropped I would call it a night, but leave some food out for her.
In the morning, post and ask about the dose. I may be around or @Wendy&Neko, @tiffmaxee will hopefully be around.
Until we find out if ketones are still around or not I would leave out some dry so you know she will eat when you are not there during the day.
Sleep well.

That’s ok, don’t worry. The most important things are she is eating and getting insulin. Also make sure there is plenty of water for her to drink. :)

Thank you so very much!
 
@TaraAllington I'm not sure you really need to go back to the HC biscuits. Seems like Bella was willing to eat every time you offered it to her yesterday (although using a little "magic dust" once in awhile).

As long as she'll eat about 150% of her normal amount of calories, if you can get those calories from canned or raw, it will be much better for Bella.

As we talked about regarding the .25 and .75 doses...since you don't have syringes with half unit marks, that's the reason we were sticking with the 0.5u changes. If you're going to continue with the .75 dose, use one of your used syringes, decide where you think .75 is and use some colored fluid and draw up to that point. Then when you have to actually draw up insulin, you can compare it to your "template" syringe and hopefully get a consistent amount.

We may want to consider dosing with calipers, but you had enough to deal with yesterday without adding even more for you to deal with/think about.
 
Morning all…. I’m just going to continue this here.
AMPS/20.8-RC renal biscuits eaten last night, bowl didn’t look like she grazed over night but did eat somewhat before we went to bed.

  • Notes to keep in mind- I’m going to work today.
  • I would like to give her insulin at 7.15am and 7pm to move her back to her normal schedule.
  • I will pick up a keystone kit on my way home from work.
  • Going to go feed her some wet food and will put dry food up for now.

@Chris & China (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Looks like that bounce finally showed up!

Since she's so high, why don't you go to 1.0 unit and hold it for a few cycles so we can see how she does. Since you have to work today and you're still new to all this, how about giving 1U. As high as she's starting and by draining the depot a little last night, I think she'd be OK.

I will pick up a keystone kit on my way home from work.

Just terminology...it's ketones (pronounced keytones) You want urine ketone test strips.
 
@Chris & China (GA) i suggested feeding some RC dry temporarily so we could give more than 0.5 U last night until we know if Bella still has any ketones lingering. If there are no ketones, we can reduce the dry and that will probably drop the BGs again and the dose will probably need reducing. I just wasn’t comfortable dropping to 0.5U without knowing the ketone situation.
In hindsight (which is the wonderful thing!) we could have given 1U last night.
 
@Chris & China (GA) i suggested feeding some RC dry temporarily so we could give more than 0.5 U last night until we know if Bella still has any ketones lingering. If there are no ketones, we can reduce the dry and that will probably drop the BGs again and the dose will probably need reducing. I just wasn’t comfortable dropping to 0.5U without knowing the ketone situation.
In hindsight (which is the wonderful thing!) we could have given 1U last night.

Yeah, we really need to get that darn crystal ball back from the repair shop!!

I'm looking forward to her getting home and hopefully getting a ketone test in. I don't get the feeling it's a problem now due to the fact that she's eating so well and not acting like a sick cat (like we know they will if they're high), but we also know how fast they can go from zero to 4-7 days in an ER too.
 
Yeah, we really need to get that darn crystal ball back from the repair shop!!

I'm looking forward to her getting home and hopefully getting a ketone test in. I don't get the feeling it's a problem now due to the fact that she's eating so well and not acting like a sick cat (like we know they will if they're high), but we also know how fast they can go from zero to 4-7 days in an ER too.
Yes I feel that the ketones have probably faded into the background, but i like to see those negative test strips:p
 
Very glad to see negative ketones.
I would keep testing daily if you can and pop the result into the remarks column of the SS please.
You can ease back on the RC biscuits again now that there are no ketones, but I would try and ensure Bella is eating up to one and a half times as much as she normally would can. 2 main meals and lots of little snacks.
So with ketones in the recent history we need to
  • Not skip any doses of insulin..
  • Feed as much food as she will eat
  • Test daily for ketones
  • Make sure there is plenty of water for her to drink.
I can’t sepses what dose you gave this morning in the SS.
Can you post the PMPS and we can decide what dose to go forward with please?

edit are you at work full time or do you work from home at all?
 
I gave her 1U this morning as suggested by Chris. I’m a school teacher - so I unable to work from home.

I will continue to test ketones of an afternoon or when possible in the evening.

will do PMPS Soon
 
Yes I can see better thanks. I had to use a magnifying glass but it was not blurry this time.
I thought I saw ketones mentioned in the first one and I was right. She did have ketones at diagnosis, so that puts a slightly different slant on thing.
With ketones in the picture you want to be feeding as much food as you possible can. And we don't want to be skipping any doses of insulin. It is food and insulin which will keep the ketones at bay.
I would definitely pick up some ketostix from a pharmacy tomorrow and test daily until we see how she is going with ketones. If you can put the result of the ketones test into the SS that would be great please.


Because of the history of ketones, I would like to see what the PMPS is before committing to a dose, if you don't mind.
Sorry Bron what is the SS? Is that the subject section. Just double checking this abbreviation so I can be less of a hinderance!
 
Can you update the SS please?
Has she had much to eat during the cycle so far?
Try and get her to eat some food and test again in 1 hour.
 
Ketones look 0
Very glad to see negative ketones.

@TaraAllington ....did you read the result at exactly 15 seconds after dipping into fresh urine? The strip in the picture looks more like 0.8 (+++ ketones) which is moderate to high ketones.
upload_2023-6-5_14-15-10.png


If it took you a few minutes before you took the picture, that could be why it's so dark too. The longer it sits, the darker it gets which is why they tell you to compare at 15 seconds (and you should also be using a good light source. Sunlight is best but we all know it's not around all the time)

Please start a new thread today. We're not supposed to go over 50 comments at the max and this one's got over 80.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-5_14-14-2.png
    upload_2023-6-5_14-14-2.png
    325 KB · Views: 81
  • upload_2023-6-5_14-15-10.png
    upload_2023-6-5_14-15-10.png
    326.7 KB · Views: 181
Back
Top