6/4-5 -Bella AMPS/20.8. PMPS/15, +3.5/8.9

Tara and Bella

Member Since 2023
Morning all! Update from Australia! Yesterdays thread
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ulin-increase-bg-28-11-9.278195/#post-3076972

This morning I tested @6.50AMPS/9.2-166 and the waited @7.10AMPS/9.3-167, fed FF seafood pate and gave her 1.5U this morning! I have a game plan to test at +2.

Notes:
  • I have completely weaned her off the RC renal food- she isn’t happy not having biscuits but is still eating with a lot of prompting/not sure how she will go when I’m at work.
  • I also have 200 syringes that don’t have 1/2 measures… I was not aware of everything at the stage of purchasing because my vet told me she would go up in units.
  • Bella’s spreadsheet https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/122kuqwMWNe78vVA1q6HDRl8qTvU4MGP5mBBl-aQoGXI/edit
Big thank you to everyone for your support, especially @Chris & China (GA) and @Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
Really hits home how bad that biscuit food is, doesn't it?

If you know she loves it, what you might want to do is take a handful and crush it into as small as possible (like dust if you can) A spice grinder or coffee grinder work well (but have to remember to wash it before using it again...LOL) You can also put some in a plastic bag and use a rolling pin. Anything that works!

Then, if she's not happy with her canned food that meal, you could sprinkle a little of "magic dust" on top and see if that will get her to eat her canned. The amount of carbs in this case is minimal.
 
At +2 prompted her to east but she just turned her nose to it. So I’ve added a small amount of canned tuna to it and she is eating it.

That's a pretty big drop for so early in the cycle. Tuna is zero carb. Can you try to get her to eat a spoon or two of her canned food?

I'd also test again at +3
 
Glad to see her coming up.....now no more food and test again at +3.5 and if she's still doing good then, test again at +4.5...if she's still doing good then, you can relax for awhile

@Wendy&Neko since she just decreased to 1.5 and hasn't dropped below 2.8, should she continue with the 1.5U?

I've given her some links where I'm hoping she can get some syringes with half unit marks and/or find a pharmacist that's willing to order them since the place in the UK that used to deliver to Australia no longer does.
 
+3.5/4.8- gave her 10 RC renal biscuits.
+4/2.8- giving her some RC WET food with gravy- she licked it and a few drops of maple syrup
 
At this point, I would stick with 1.5 units as she didn't go below 50 (2.8). A lot of this action is from the 2.0 unit dose.

Since she dropped to 2.2 and Tara has to work tomorrow, what would you suggest for tonight's shot and tomorrow morning?

She has also been very hard to get up and stay up. She's had multiple feedings with either kibble, HC food and/or syrup and she comes up a little and then drops back down.
 
Last edited:
Has she ever tested positive for ketones? If the answer is no, I'd be tempted to either skip tonight, or do a half dose (0.5 or 0.75 units), to help drain the depot. Then go to 1.0 units tomorrow, given that you don't have syringes with half unit markings and you've done a big change to her diet. Alternatively you could do 1.0 units tonight, and skip tomorrow so you know she'll be safe. I can't really suggest which to do at this point, since PMPS is still a long way away and it's closing in on bed time for me. Tagging @Bron and Sheba (GA) who might be able to keep an eye on your PMPS.
 
Has she ever tested positive for ketones? If the answer is no, I'd be tempted to either skip tonight, or do a half dose (0.5 or 0.75 units), to help drain the depot. Then go to 1.0 units tomorrow, given that you don't have syringes with half unit markings and you've done a big change to her diet. Alternatively you could do 1.0 units tonight, and skip tomorrow so you know she'll be safe. I can't really suggest which to do at this point, since PMPS is still a long way away and it's closing in on bed time for me. Tagging @Bron and Sheba (GA) who might be able to keep an eye on your PMPS.

We were thinking there may be a giant bounce by PMPS, so if over 16.7, give 1U and get at least a "before bed" test. If under 16.7, give 0.5. For tomorrow morning, same rules. Only give 1U if over 300, give 0.5 if under

We'd love your opinion @Wendy&Neko[/US

You too @Bron and Sheba (GA) if you're around. Tara is in Australia too!
 
Last edited:
Has she ever tested positive for ketones? If the answer is no, I'd be tempted to either skip tonight, or do a half dose (0.5 or 0.75 units), to help drain the depot. Then go to 1.0 units tomorrow, given that you don't have syringes with half unit markings and you've done a big change to her diet. Alternatively you could do 1.0 units tonight, and skip tomorrow so you know she'll be safe. I can't really suggest which to do at this point, since PMPS is still a long way away and it's closing in on bed time for me. Tagging @Bron and Sheba (GA) who might be able to keep an eye on your PMPS.

not sure on ketones? Would I see that in bloodwork or is that a urine test?
 
not sure on ketones? Would I see that in bloodwork or is that a urine test?

both but if they did a complete blood profile and/or a urinalysis, your vet would have said something (I'd hope) Ketones are produced when the body starts to burn fat in an attempt to get the glucose into the cells but without insulin, the glucose every cell needs can't get in. When fat is burned and forms ketones, if they go past a low level, it can be an emergency that could hospitalize her for several days and cost several thousand dollars.

Nice, easy to understand explanation HERE
 
've given her some links where I'm hoping she can get some syringes with half unit marks and/or find a pharmacist that's willing to order them since the place in the UK that used to deliver to Australia no longer does.
I've been trying to get a supplier to order some in for Australian caregivers with no luck so far.
We used to be able to get them from a UK supplier who would ship out but that all went pear shaped during covid.
Then I had an idea that amazon would ship here with the 1/2 unit syringes....I need to check that again...Ill put it on my 'to do 'list.
 
Last edited:
upload_2023-6-4_17-36-7.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-4_17-36-7.png
    upload_2023-6-4_17-36-7.png
    136.1 KB · Views: 228
Are you able to repost the lab results. I cant read them, even with a magnifying glass, Thanks
If you can get another test in sometime between now and PMPS so we have a heads up as to where Bella is heading, it would be good
 
Yes I can see better thanks. I had to use a magnifying glass but it was not blurry this time.
I thought I saw ketones mentioned in the first one and I was right. She did have ketones at diagnosis, so that puts a slightly different slant on thing.
With ketones in the picture you want to be feeding as much food as you possible can. And we don't want to be skipping any doses of insulin. It is food and insulin which will keep the ketones at bay.
I would definitely pick up some ketostix from a pharmacy tomorrow and test daily until we see how she is going with ketones. If you can put the result of the ketones test into the SS that would be great please.

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
we have a plan… How does this sound....IF she is over 16.7, give 1U but if she's under 16.7, go with 0.5 and then same rules tomorrow
Because of the history of ketones, I would like to see what the PMPS is before committing to a dose, if you don't mind.
 
Yes I can see better thanks. I had to use a magnifying glass but it was not blurry this time.
I thought I saw ketones mentioned in the first one and I was right. She did have ketones at diagnosis, so that puts a slightly different slant on thing.
With ketones in the picture you want to be feeding as much food as you possible can. And we don't want to be skipping any doses of insulin. It is food and insulin which will keep the ketones at bay.
I would definitely pick up some ketostix from a pharmacy tomorrow and test daily until we see how she is going with ketones. If you can put the result of the ketones test into the SS that would be great please.


Because of the history of ketones, I would like to see what the PMPS is before committing to a dose, if you don't mind.
Wow, I can’t believe the vet didn’t say anything or make any considerations. I have actually made an appointment with a new vet on Wednesday as Bella has a very complex recent history.

I haven’t been able to test yet sorry- I’m going to aim for 7pm.
 
Yes I can stay up as long as I can tonight - 11.30pm is probably my limit so I can function at work tomorrow
Ok. Do you think you could draw up 0.75 U. It is half way between 0.5 and 1 U.
You have to be in a good light and have a magnifying glass if possible. If not a mag.glass it is still doable, I did it for years.

My thoughts are:
Because of a history of ketones …and we don’t know what is happening with ketones at the moment….your vet may have done Bella a favour by getting her to eat the high carb food and giving her a bigger dose of insulin…
Give 0.75 U tonight and see how that goes. I would not stop the dry food until we know if there are ketones or not still present.
So you can add some dry when you go to sleep
Then in the morning, depending what happened over night, you can give the same dose, or if she drops lower, then you can reduce the dose to 0.5 U. Amd I would leave dry food out for her when you go to work. we can revisit the dose and the food once we know if there are still any ketones present. I think they have probably gone…but they can reappear so we need to proceed carefully.
What do you think of this plan ? You need to be comfortable with it .
 
.75U given - very very carefully drawn!
Great plan, Bella will be happy to get her biscuits back in the meantime. Hopefully on Wednesday we will get new bloodwork to figure it all out and I’ll pick up the key tones kit’s tomorrow.
Can I leave wet food out too?
 
.75U given - very very carefully drawn!
Great plan, Bella will be happy to get her biscuits back in the meantime. Hopefully on Wednesday we will get new bloodwork to figure it all out and I’ll pick up the key tones kit’s tomorrow.
Can I leave wet food out too?
Yes, it’s important she eats well. The only time we don’t want her to eat is the 2 hours preshot.
You are doing a really great job looking after her!
You don’t need blood work to keep an eye on ketones…just a urine test is fine. ..make sure you read the result exactly 15 seconds after you dip the strip into the urine against the colours on the side of the bottle. Lo fed the 15 seconds and the colour starts to change.
I’ll look out for any BG tests you post:)
I’d get a couple of early tests in just in case she drops so that we can feed her some higher carb food if needed.
 
Yes, it’s important she eats well. The only time we don’t want her to eat is the 2 hours preshot.
You are doing a really great job looking after her!
You don’t need blood work to keep an eye on ketones…just a urine test is fine. ..make sure you read the result exactly 15 seconds after you dip the strip into the urine against the colours on the side of the bottle. Lo fed the 15 seconds and the colour starts to change.
I’ll look out for any BG tests you post:)
I’d get a couple of early tests in just in case she drops so that we can feed her some higher carb food if needed.

that’s great because I had been struggling as she loves to graze all day prior to diabetes.
Excellent I’ll pick up a kit- and test tomorrow afternoon evening. Maybe the new vet won’t need bloodwork if I’m doing BG checks and keystone checks.
The only biscuits I have a the RC renal… are they ok?
 
Also thinking about it- we did a urine analysis test but I thought that was about her kidneys- I’m not sure if I got sent those results.
 
Back
Top