? 6/4/2020 - Gideon's BG = 84 @7pm

Shiloh567

Member Since 2020
I am obviously not going to give Gideon his Lantus. Now he ate good this morning, but it has been warm today, and the cats have all been laying around. Could not eating his usually amount have effected his BG by that amount? I was going to increase his Lantus tomorrow, but I guess that won't be happening. Should I give him a higher carb food or just his regular food then retest in 30 minutes?
 
Since you are skipping just feed his usual food. But if you might shoot don’t feed at all.

It likely is just he’s starting to like this dose. That’s why we suggested waiting a few more cycles as opposed to increasing sooner. He might bounce and go high tonight. The count starts over before thinking of an increase if you skip.
 
Last edited:
So, I could have still gave the insulin if I was not going to feed? This is confusing, since wouldn't giving the insulin without feeding bring his BG even lower. I will test him at 9p and again at 10p. I might get up at 2AM to test too. He ate pretty good right after I tested him. So, by skipping this dose, am I taking two steps backward? Thank you.
 
If you wanted to see if he was going back up you would stall, not feed, and recheck re heck in 20 minutes. If going up you could shoot if comfortable with the bg number. You could even have waited another 20-30 minutes without feeding to see where he was. Often the insulin would have worn off and the bg would be rising. If not rising you would feed and not shoot. The only catch in installing is that the next shot would be 12 hours later. So your timing would be off a little. You can make up tge time difference by shooting 15 minutes early each cycle or 30 minutes every 24 hours.

Read the yellow sticky on handling low numbers. I printed it and kept it handy.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/
 
After reading the low numbers yellow sticky, I should have given the insulin, but maybe waited a bit. Now tonight my precious boy will get very high. Then will the depot fill again, or did it fill and I missed my chance at keeping him low?
I really feel I did the wrong thing by holding the insulin. At 9PM is was 125. I will test him at 10p, but for sure he will be 200. By morning he may be in the black. Did I miss the opportunity to shoot low? If the insulin dose is kept at 1 unit BID, will the shoot low opportunity ever come again? Oh, how I wish I had given the insulin. Thanks for your help.
 
First take a deep breath. The depot will fill again but it will likely take another 6-8 cycles. It takes time to figure this all about. It doesn’t help that cats aren’t predictable. I missed my first chance to shoot a green number too. Don’t worry. . It will happen again. Being so new to insulin it was probably best you didn’t shoot because it could have been a long night with lots of testing. Better a day or night too high than too low and a hypo.
 
OK. Going to bed. He is 154. Not sure if it is even worth getting up to test, since he will be high. Have a good night.
 
Next time you are nervous about shooting the full dose, a partial dose is also an option, and he won't be quite so high as a result. Eventually, as you get comfortable with shooting lower and lower numbers, you will be able to confidently shoot these nice green numbers. Shooting green usually results in a nice flat cycle. That's what Lantus is great at doing. Of course, only shoot lower if you can monitor.
 
I'm going to give a bit of the overall picture so you have some idea of the direction you need to go.

The basic theme with Lantus is, "Shoot low to stay low." For those of us who are experienced with Lantus and have accumulated a fair amount of data on how Lantus effects our cat, we will typically shoot any pre-shot number larger than 50. I'm sure that sounds terrifying! Be assured, none of us wake up and feel comfortable a few weeks into our cat's diabetes journey shooting that low. What I encourage caregivers to do is to mentally decide what the lowest number is you feel comfortable shooting. With TR, the "post and ask for help" number is 150. So, you could, if you feel comfortable, shoot any number above 150 and ask for input if you get a number below 150. If you've shot around 150, then what would the next lowest number be that you would feel comfortable shooting? You work your way down to shooting low numbers.

All of that said, you must have supplies on hand to shoot low. Make sure you have a stock of strips and HC food if needed and that you can be around to monitor.
 
This is good info. I think if Gideon is above 80, I would feel comfortable shooting, and then testing frequently. I do have honey, and a high carb can of food on hand. Also, I make sure I have at least 1 unopened canister of strips on hand.
Thank you all.
 
Back
Top