6/4/10 Nay dose question

Status
Not open for further replies.
yesterday

Yesterday morning Nay started a dose decrease to 0.50 but for the nighttime shot there was a miscommunication and he got 0.75. Our lowest # of the night was 43 and he never had any hypo symptoms. Despite a buffet of foods mixed with Karo and several Temptations treats his BG was up and down all night. AMPS = 61 so no shot. Last ate 3 hrs before AMPS.

Time to look for caffeine! ~O)
 
Re: 6/4/10 Nay AMPS 61 no shot

Looks like Nay is responding to the food change really well. We may have a record setter here. Thanks for putting your blog link in your sig. it's fun to see where you've been.
 
Re: 6/4/10 Nay AMPS 61 no shot

Ann & Tess said:
Looks like Nay is responding to the food change really well. We may have a record setter here.

LOL, does he get a medal? :lol:

Ann & Tess said:
Thanks for putting your blog link in your sig. it's fun to see where you've been.

You're welcome, we love for people to read the blog! We have Google Ads on it and we hope it might produce an income some day. We're in a Walmart parking lot right now but we need to get on the road pretty soon.
 
Re: 6/4/10 Nay AMPS 61 no shot

There is a mantra in LL, "Shoot low to stay low." I think you have to weigh your options when you get a low PS number. I'll be very surprised if Nay's numbers aren't high at PMPS. If you weren't comfortable giving a shot on this number (and I completely understand if this is the case), I think the least best option was to skip the shot. There are two other alternatives. You could have given a reduced dose or what we term a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose. Or, you could have stalled for 15 min and retested to see if Nay's numbers were rising without feeding. You re-test every 15 - 30 min until numbers are at a point where you feel comfortable shooting. You shot an 86 the other day and had a great surf.
 
Re: 6/4/10 Nay AMPS 61 no shot

Ohhh, I didn't realize you weren't a member of the Microdose Club yet.
Yup, you gotta drop down to 0.25U, then 2 drops, then 1 drop, then sniffing the cartridge, etc. :razz:
 
Re: 6/4/10 Nay AMPS 61 no shot

Hello!

In addition to what others have said, I would like to add that you should be consistent in your dosing and not dose hop.

On June 2; PMPS + 4 = 50 => dosecrease for next dose right?
On June 3; AMPS shot 0.5 ! Yay!!!
Then June 3; PMPS 0.75... hum? confused_cat 110 is a normal number and Nay had just graduated to the new dose.
This AM... skipped shot... now the shed is totally confused!

So... back on the wagon you go... let's get Nay back on route to Niagara Falls if we can!
 
Re: 6/4/10 Nay AMPS 61 no shot

As I said in my original post, the 0.75 was an error. He should have received 0.50 but humans forget things and make mistakes. This morning I did not shoot because he was at 61. Since all of the hypo links indicate that hypo is encountered at BG < 60 I am not about to give insulin to a cat that is one point over hypoglycemia.

In fact I found this page on the FDMB website http://www.felinediabetes.com/dummies.htm
"Normalization" is the term used when the control is perfect and the BG stays in the normal range around the clock (normal BG for the average cat is 70 - 120 mg/dL -- yours might be higher or lower). Normalization is rarely attempted, because it means the cat is on the edge of hypoglycemia several hours a day, so what we do is "regulation" -- holding the BG most of the time at levels which minimize harm to the cat. Your aim will be to keep the blood glucose above 100 all the time, and below 200 as much as possible.

+11 was 80 after zero insulin this morning. I MAY shoot 0.25 tonight. Maybe less; haven't slept in 4 days now....
 
unfortunately there is a lot of information on this site that is out of date, or is good information but not necessarily applicable to the way we use the slower acting insulins these days. In general, Lantus is safe to shoot at lower numbers if you are following the tight regulation protocol (meaning that you have worked up/down to your dose safely) and if you have the data to do so. It doesn't mean that everyone should shoot 61 all the time, but it does mean that some of us do when we are properly prepared. Usually what we do when faced with a number we're not sure about shooting is to stall for 15-30 minutes, test again to see if the number is dropping or rising. Repeat until you get a number you're comfortable shooting. That number varies for each person.

Our goal in the Lantus forum, for most of us, is to keep the cat in normal numbers for as many hours of the day as possible. Since Lantus is so flat, that means we end up shooting low numbers. Would I have shot the 61? Probably not, since you haven't shot that before. But an hour later he might have been in the 80's, and you have shot that before. Make sense?

just saw your PMPS - awesome! Nay is doing great with the food change.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
Our goal in the Lantus forum, for most of us, is to keep the cat in normal numbers for as many hours of the day as possible.

OK I understand most of what you have said. But what IS a normal range?
 
Traveling Cats said:
OK I understand most of what you have said. But what IS a normal range?

It's usually stated as 60-120, but each cat is different (and each meter is different too).

For tonight, I would probably go with a reduced dose, maybe 0.25. His shed is emptying, he's racing to the Falls, but to make a strong remission it's usually best to try to keep them on insulin for as long as they will let us. I don't think that will be very much longer in this case. (anti-jinx!).

Be back, have to test my kitty but I'll check back in shortly.
 
Traveling Cats said:
We're going to get through this.

Yes you are!!! There are two times when the whole diabetes thing sucks the big one. One is your first month on the juice- you're getting used to shooting, a schedule, etc. The other is when your kitty starts racing towards the finish line. You're one of the lucky ones who gets to deal with both at the same time!

I know it can feel sometimes like you're defending your actions, but honestly, everyone is just looking out for your kitties best interest- I swear!!! Lantus land is a big happy family. Promise!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top