6/30 Tarragon AMPS 323 PMPS 405 +2 352 +4 358. PEN ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa & Tarragon

Member Since 2011
Good morning LL! ~O) ~O) ~O)

All 5 p's present. Tarragon showed up on the red floor yesterday for PMPS. Not sure what that was about, but I suspect that he got into Turnup's crunchies. I am starting to question my insulin as well. It has been 6 weeks for this vial. Hope you all have a wonderful Thursday! Today is my Friday, so YAY!!! Four day weekend to spend at home putting down flooring and swimming.



Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46580
 
Re: 6/30 Tarragon AMPS 323

Ah, questioning the insulin. When will some brilliant scientist come up with a way for us to test the insulin so we know for sure when it's no longer any good? I remember someone saying to me once, when I was questioning Trix's insulin, "when in doubt, throw it out"...On the other hand, he could just be recovering from the contraband. I know, that was a big help...in case you didn't notice in Trixie's condo, I'm a tad groggy today...

Have a great day, guys!
 
Re: 6/30 Tarragon AMPS 323

Tarragon, you come down from those upper levels, nothing interesting going on there.

It's a long weekend for me as well. Enjoy your time off!
 
Re: 6/30 Tarragon AMPS 323

C'mon Tarragon, you look much more handsome in "cooler" colours :smile:

Have a great day.
 
Re: 6/30 Tarragon AMPS 323

It sounds as if you'll have a good weekend. A new floor (that always looks nicer) and some swim time. Good balance of work and play. Tarragon, come down from there. All the really cool cats are on the lower floors.
 
Re: 6/30 Tarragon AMPS 323

I hope Tarragon comes down; maybe some of Turnup's kibble, as you mentioned. I use the vial, too, and thinking of replacing it. I'm going on three months! Sounds like a nice weekend, especially the swimming part. I miss having a pool at the complex. Next move I'll look for a place with a pool. Have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 6/30 Tarragon AMPS 323

I like the swimming part, not so much the putting down flooring part! The only way to possibly tell if it's the insulin is to open a new one, but then of course you have to start the clock on the new one! (and even then it can be inconclusive). I made that mistake and wasted a cartridge.

Melissa, after watching Tarragon with his puzzle box I made one for Rusty. He was quite intrigued yesterday, but so far today hasn't played with it (but he hasn't played with his other toys yet, either).

Enjoy your 4-day weekend. I didn't think you were in Canada.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/30 Tarragon AMPS 323

I hope that Tarragon comes down for you, also. I, too, have used the vial, and had to throw it out 1 month before the expiration date. Sometimes, the insulin in the vial will peter out before the expiration date, and sometimes it'll last a bit logner than the expiration date (although, I haven't come across the latter before).

Wishing for you to have great #s. :) I think you'll like the Evo 95%. :) I'm liking the fact that she loves it. :) hehehe
 
Re: 6/30 Tarragon AMPS 323

Tarragon, you come down this minute!!! Ok maybe later?? Eating bad stuff again?? Be a good baby & dont upset your bean!--Hope to see some nice blue in your future today-OK? Tarragon ?

BTW I use the solo star lantus pens, and I have had the last one last for 41 days!!! I have used the vials, cartridges , and pens and the Pens Win by a landslide, with ease of use & last the longest--
Have a beautiful Fursday--Hugs & lubs from us!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/30 Tarragon AMPS 323

C'mon on down from that floor Tarragon....you look better in Blues and greens. I hate trying to figure out if the insulin has pooped out or if its just Zoe, being Zoe! I think the insulin should turn color or something obvious when its done....make one thing about FD easy. :mrgreen: Enjoy your weekend....
 
Re: 6/30 Tarragon AMPS 323

Grrr pet peeve is when you don't know if your insulin has gone bad or not.

Sending happy vibes to Tarragon. Come on down sweetie!
 
Re: 6/30 Tarragon AMPS 323

We are having similar questions about whether our insulin is good...not way to tell that we know of. Anyway, let's both loose the stinky pinkies!
 
Re: 6/30 Tarragon AMPS 323

morning melissa! suddenly i feel perky about punkin's big fat doses - because we are about to use up the end of a vial. voila - a good point. i'm going to get my money's worth from it! wahoo!

good luck figuring it out!
 
Re: 6/30 Tarragon AMPS 323

Tarragon?!? Crunchies?!? Really?! Sheesh Tarragon, didn't you know those things aren't good for you?

Sounds like you have yourself a lovely weekend planned, I'm jealous of the pool time.
 
Ok. Time for new insulin. I have always used a vial and am switching to a pen. Do I just take off the cap and put the syringe through the end?
 
Yup...you draw the insulin with your regular syringes from the pen the same way you do from the vial.

We're just finishing up our first pen...the one thing I've noticed is that I do seem to have a much bigger problem with air bubbles in the syringe with the pen than I did with the vial. It could be my imagination, or maybe I wasn't observant enough when drawing the doses before, but nowadays - with our first pen winding down - it seems like it is taking me a LOT longer to draw a good dose. I often have to redraw because there's a big ole bubble in there...

Still, I'm sticking with the pen...way more cost effective, even if it takes longer to draw a bubble-free dose.
 
There is definitely a big $ difference. When my vet taught me to draw insulin she said to just push the extra back into the vial. Everything I read says don't do that. What does everyone else do?
 
Our vet taught us the same thing...push the extra back into the vial. To be honest, we did do that for the first month or so because we initially didn't know better, but I kept reading that doing so was a big no-no, so we stopped. I have no idea if it made a difference or not, but it really made no difference if we didn't shoot the insulin back into the vial, becaue no matter what we were never going to get through all of it anyway. As far as we were concerned...better safe than sorry.

I believe it's an even bigger no-no to shoot the insulin back into the pen. By the time we got our first pen, we were well-trained to not shoot anything back; when we have to fine-tune a dose (which is, of course, with every draw), we just shoot the extra insulin into the sink.
 
That is what I have been doing with this vial. When I first started I put it back in the vial but the vial had to be replaced after about 6 weeks. I thought that might be why but, lo and behold, we are at 6 weeks again and I think it needs replaced again.
 
As for shooting back into the vile, you can do that with humilin n & perhaps other insulins,
BUT NOT WITH Lantus!!--When you draw into the syringe, there is a lubricant inside pen, so when you shoot excess insulin back into the vial, it contaminates it....Thus, the cat's numbers go up, and you need a new vial or pen....I like the pen as much easier to hold, lasts longer than vials(IMHO) and you can get about 36 days out of it--I get 5 pens for about $110 with shipping from Canada..
Yes the BUBBLES :dizcat They always drive me insane--Now I draw the insulin in, tap the vial so bubbles go into the direct center of the syringe & I twist the plunger slightly as I expel the bubble--
It mostly works, but I HATE THE BUBBLES TOO!!!! ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
 
I push in the syringe's plunger forcefully to get out all the air and hold it pushed in when I insert the syringe into the cartridge/pen/vial. Then I draw up more insulin than I need and twist the plunger slowly to expel the extra into a paper towel and get to my dose. The trick is in holding the plunger pushed in as you insert the syringe into the pen. It's hard to explain, but easy to do. And it really cuts down on bubbles.

Ella & Rusty

p.s. I use Monoject, short needle, 31 gauge syringes with 1/2-unit markings. Nice flat plungers; big numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top