6/30 Samwise AMPS 66 NS +1 71 +4 56 +12 296 +14.5 55

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
AMPS 66 NO SHOT
+1 71 .5u Right below the line.

+4 56 :mrgreen: Sam came in at lunch so I got a number. He ate twice once right before the test then right after had some lunchmeat and a couple of high carb treats.

PMPS 296 .75u

+14.5 55 :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/30 Samwise AMPS 66 NS +1 71

PLEASE get a +1 and +2. I just do not know how to get through to you that you are going to harm your cat by not testing.

I can't tell from your SS when you're shooting, you're sliding doses like with PZI -- Lantus is entirely different.
 
Re: 6/30 Samwise AMPS 66 NS +1 71

I mentioned this a few days ago on a post to Sue, Libby disagreed and said with no data it was appropriate. I questioned this in my mind.
It is hard for PZI ex-patriots. Sue, dose adjusting is definetly based on nadar's. I do know how hard it is for you to get mid cycle's. This insulin is so different than what we did before. And a hypo here is not like a hypo on PZI....it is much longer and harder to bring up.
I'm not nagging you darlin', I know you are doing what you think you can....but I told you Lantus can't be done without more testing.
HUGS,
Love you and Sammy,
Lori
 
Re: 6/30 Samwise AMPS 66 NS +1 71

Sue, Lori and Sienne are right. You do need to put more tests onto your SS so that the experts can help you with adjusting Sam's dose correctly. Lantus is an entirely different insulin compared to PZI or ProZinc (Blackie was on ProZinc before switching to Lantus). Please believe me when I say that the ladies on here will not steer you wrong. I've been a member on here since last year, and they have been, and still are extremely helpful.

They've helped me (and still are), and they can help you, too. :) Trust them, please.
 
Re: 6/30 Samwise AMPS 66 NS +1 71

Oh, I do. It's just I hated to leave him at home with no insulin since the last time I did no shot he bounced really high. I do hope he's okay, he ate again after I gave the shot this morning. With no one at home, (I'll be there at lunch) I can test him then. I am trying to get more data but it's a pain with me gone and Sam so scared of other people. He hides and won't come in and I can't run him to ground with crutches and I can't carry him either. I noticed other people shoot on low numbers and I've read the stickies. I think I'll pass shooting if I'm leaving him though. Like this morning. :YMSIGH: I am just not myself.
 
Re: 6/30 Samwise AMPS 66 NS +1 71

Hi, Sue

I'm glad to hear that you'll be able to get a spot check in for the experts to see what's going on. It took me a while to get the hang of Lantus, so I know where you're coming from. We all do. Just hang in there. :) The experts will help you get things right with Sam. :)

Wishing you to make a full and speedy recovery. :) I hope that you start feeling better soon.
 
Re: 6/30 Samwise AMPS 66 NS +1 71 +4 56

awww, sue. sometimes things just suck. and it's ok to say so. you and dh have been thru so much lately, and i know you work so many hours away from home, 2 jobs right?
do what you can sue, it's hard to keep going sometimes but let god give you the strength to do more.
love,
lori
and tomtom
 
Re: 6/30 Samwise AMPS 66 NS +1 71 +4 56

Hi Sue, just stopping by to say hi! It sounds like testing is really tough for you right now - maybe just stay with a dose on the lower side, and a no-shoot that's a little higher, until you are feeling better and things are calmer?

I don't know a lot about Lantus, but I'm pretty sure that if they get hypo numbers they can stay there for HOURS. It's not like PZI where generally you know the insulin will start wearing off about 1/2 way through the cycle, so lower numbers after the first few hours aren't quite so risky. I'd be really worried even if you are getting nice numbers right now, because there's the possibility he might drop lower at any time, right? And if he did get low numbers then you need to test every 15 minutes until you can get him past the danger zone, and if testing is difficult, that is going to be a real challenge!!!

I would play it on the safe side, and not worry too much if his numbers go a little higher. If you could have him seeing blues say, instead of greens, I think that would be perfect. Even if people do shoot on lower PSs here and stuff, remember that doesn't mean you HAVE to do that. It's ok to have different goals. With everything going on at your house right now, I would make my goal to keep him in safe numbers, rather than trying to keep him in perfect non-diabetic numbers. I think there is just too much risk with that - it can be a tough challenge even without being in and out of the hospital and when you CAN use both hands! If it were me, I would be going for just blue numbers, and save the greens for when you know you can do a lot of testing to be sure it is safe. Hypo can come on so suddenly, just doesn't seem worth the risk to me.

Hope you don't mind my chiming in with my 2c!
 
Re: 6/30 Samwise AMPS 66 NS +1 71 +4 56

We do shoot low numbers. There is a very big "HOWEVER..." You must be data ready to do so. At this point, you are not data ready. You don't know when Lantus onset or nadir fall nor do you know Lantus' duration in your cat. Most of the new members here are terrified to shoot low. If you do shoot low, you MUST get a +1 and +2 and there may be a lot of additional testing. (Please read the Data Ready sticky.) I'll shoot low numbers. I also have 2 years of data and I test aggressively. You should not do what I do because you do not have the kind of data I do.

If you shot 0.5u at the 71, the 71 is your AMPS (it's not your +1). That means the 56 is your +3. I haven't a clue how low Samwise went this afternoon. This scares me.

This evening, I'm also guessing that you did not shoot 12 hours from the time you actually shot this morning. That means you shot at +11. An early shot acts like a dose increase. If you've not yet shot, please make sure you shoot 12 hours from your morning shot time. (You can begin moving the shot time back by 15 min. at each shot.) If you did shoot, please test, a lot.

If you are not sure what to do, post. People will help. You do, however, need to read what we're telling you and at least acknowledge that you understand the risks if you are going to follow your own drummer. I think Joanna made a very good suggestion -- if you are limited due to being on crutches, needing to go to work and/or be at the hospital, then reduce Samwise's dose until you can be around to monitor on a more regular basis.
 
Re: 6/30 Samwise AMPS 66 NS +1 71 +4 56

i think joanne's got a good idea. as long as you really aren't able to do much testing, maybe drop back so sam stays higher. it's better for him to be high for days than too low for a minute. i think everyone feels for you - it's clear you've got an awful situation. finding the balance between what you realistically can do right now and keeping your precious sam safe - i'm going to throw out some options for you. i'm not an expert but you are clearly in a pickle and need a less than perfect solution just to keep your sanity.

so - these aren't perfect, but will any of them work?

can you keep sam inside for the time being until your husband comes home? that way he would be more available to test when you need him. use a rubbermaid under the bed or storage box for a litter box if you haven't got one.

can you shut him into one room at night so you can set an alarm and test him at night? we have shut our cats in rooms for at least 20 years during the night, including when they were going out during the days. they hate it at first, but they get used to it and they survive.

what do you think of dropping his dose to .25u and just sticking with it? that's not perfect - he still could go too low, but at least it would reduce the chances.

what do you think of switching back to your old insulin for the time being until more testing is an option? what i understand of other kinds of insulin, the preshot number determines how much you shoot and i think (but definitely don't know) that the need for inbetween tests is less important. i don't know that, though, so if i'm wrong on it, please ignore me!

just some ideas - maybe one of them will be helpful. hang in there - this will pass! we just want sam to be alive when your husband gets home! i know you do too.
 
I think I will cut back on the dose and let Sammy stay in the higher numbers. That way I won't have to worry about him going so low. That is a good idea! So, this evening he will get a lower dose. .5?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top