Re: 6/30 Samwise AMPS 66 NS +1 71 +4 56
Hi Sue, just stopping by to say hi! It sounds like testing is really tough for you right now - maybe just stay with a dose on the lower side, and a no-shoot that's a little higher, until you are feeling better and things are calmer?
I don't know a lot about Lantus, but I'm pretty sure that if they get hypo numbers they can stay there for HOURS. It's not like PZI where generally you know the insulin will start wearing off about 1/2 way through the cycle, so lower numbers after the first few hours aren't quite so risky. I'd be really worried even if you are getting nice numbers right now, because there's the possibility he might drop lower at any time, right? And if he did get low numbers then you need to test every 15 minutes until you can get him past the danger zone, and if testing is difficult, that is going to be a real challenge!!!
I would play it on the safe side, and not worry too much if his numbers go a little higher. If you could have him seeing blues say, instead of greens, I think that would be perfect. Even if people do shoot on lower PSs here and stuff, remember that doesn't mean you HAVE to do that. It's ok to have different goals. With everything going on at your house right now, I would make my goal to keep him in safe numbers, rather than trying to keep him in perfect non-diabetic numbers. I think there is just too much risk with that - it can be a tough challenge even without being in and out of the hospital and when you CAN use both hands! If it were me, I would be going for just blue numbers, and save the greens for when you know you can do a lot of testing to be sure it is safe. Hypo can come on so suddenly, just doesn't seem worth the risk to me.
Hope you don't mind my chiming in with my 2c!